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APPROVAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT (Ed.Code#94909(a)(2) 

UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC.  is a private for profit corporation established in 
the state of California and was granted approval to operate under section 94802 subdivision (b) 
from the  Bureau for Private Post Secondary Education.  The Bureau’s approval means that the 
institution and its operations comply with minimum standards established under the law for 
occupational instruction by private post secondary institutions and does not imply any 
endorsement or recommendation by the State or by the Bureau.  Institutions approved by the 
Bureau must be re-approved every three years and are subject to continuing review.  Approved 
courses for UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. are: Cosmetology - 1600 Clock 
Hours; Manicurist - 400 Clock Hours; Instructor Training - 600 Clock Hours. 

Instruction is on campus with an occupancy level accommodating approximately 35 students at 
each campus: (Ed.Code#94909(a)(4) 

Vermont Campus – 8619 S. Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90044, (323) 750-5750 

Leimert Campus – 3419 W. 43rd Pl., Los Angeles, CA 90008, (323) 298-0045

 Our school currently has the following government sponsored programs to provide grants or to 
pay for portions of tuition and fees: FEDERAL PELL GRANT and FEDERAL 
SUPPLEMENTAL EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY GRANT. 

NOTE:  THIS INSTITUTION IS APPROVED TO PARTICIPATE IN THE FEDERAL 
STUDENT LOAN PROGRAM, BUT HAS CHOSED NOT TO DO SO. 

The CALIFORNIA STATE BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY is the 
department or agency which sets minimum standards for our program of studies in accordance 
with Education Code Section 94316.12:. 

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment 
agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be 
provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement. Ed. Code #949909(a)(3)(B) 

A student of any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for 
Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 toll-free or by completing a complaint 
form which can be obtained on the bureau’s internet web site www.bppe.ca.gov. Ed. Code#949099(a) 

GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE 

It is the policy of this institution to handle grievances in the following manner: 
1. 	 Complete the grievance form and list all grievances: 
2. 	 Deliver the form to one of the Directors:
   Vermont:  Kenneth J. Williams 

Leimert     Loretta C. Williams 
3. 	 The Director will then evaluate the grievance and schedule an appointment with the 

complainant within 5 days of receipt of the grievance. If the grievance is an emergency, it 
will be addressed within 24 hours of receipt. 

4. 	 If the complainant is unable to deliver the forms , they may mail them to: 
JOHN C. WILLIAMS, President/CEO
 
Universal College of Beauty, Inc. 


   8619 S. Vermont Ave. 

   Los Angeles, CA 90044
 

(323) 750-5750 
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5. 	 All grievances, regardless of the nature will be reviewed by JOHN C. WILLIAMS 
6. 	 If there is a grievance that cannot be resolved with Universal College of Beauty, Inc., the 

complainant may call the Bureau toll free or complete a complaint form, which can be 
obtained on the bureau’s internet web site: (Ed.Code #94909(a)(3)(C) 

BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION 
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400 
Sacramento, CA 95833 
P: (800 370-7589 Fax: (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov 

The complainant may pursue the complaint further with NACCAS, only after they have exhausted the 
school’s internal complaint policy.  This grievance can be sent to: NACCAS, 4401 Ford Ave., Suite 1300, 
Alexandria, VA 22302 

Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily 
answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 
2535Capitol Oaks Drive, Sacramento, CA 95833, www.bppe.ca.gov. toll free telephone number 
(888)370-7589 or by fax (916 263-1897(Ed. Code#94909 (a) (3) (A) 

ACCREDITATION 
Our institutions are accredited by the: 

NATIONAL ACCREDITING COMMISSION OF CAREER ARTS & SCIENCES, 

4401 Ford Avenue, Suite 1300,
 

Alexandria, VA 22302
 
(703) 600-7600, fax: (703) 379-2200
 

website:.www.naccas.org. 

NACCAS is an agency recognized by the United States Department of Education for 
Cosmetology Accreditation.  As an accredited institution, qualified students may apply for and 
receive financial assistance for tuition and other costs. 

APPROVAL 
Our institutions are approved to train veteran's and other eligible persons by the: 

CALIFORNIA STATE APPROVING AGENCY FOR VETERAN'S EDUCATION 

(CSAAVE)
 

42263 50th St., West, Box 402
 
Quartz Hill, CA 93536 


(661) 722-6790 fax: (661) 943-5156
 
website: www.csaave.gov
 

LICENSING AGENCY 

CALIFORNIA BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY
 
2420 Del Paso Road, Suite 100
 

Sacramento, CA 95834
 
(916) 575-7100 Office  


www.barbercosmo.ca.gov
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 ALL INFORMATION IN THE CONTENTS OF THIS SCHOOL CATALOG IS 
CURRENT AND CORRECT AND IS CERTIFIED AS TRUE BY: 

JOHN C. WILLIAMS, President/CEO 

This school does not have any pending petition in bankruptcy, is not operating as a debtor 
in possession, has not filed a petition within the preceding five years, nor has had a petition 
in bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five years that resulted in reorganization 
under Chapter 11U.S.C. Sec. 1101 et.seq. (Ed.Code#94909(a)(12) 

INSTITUTION BUSINESS HOURS: 
All Campuses – General Business hours:  9:00am – 4:00 pm 
ADMISSIONS 
Applicants for admission may secure information regarding admission, Tuesday through Friday, 
from 10:00 a.m. to 4:p.m. by the contacting the following persons: 

Vermont Campus Kenneth Williams (323)750-5750
  Leimert Campus  Loretta Williams (323)298-0045 

FINANCIAL AID 
Applicants for admission may secure information regarding financial aid Tuesday through Friday, 
from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. by contacting the following persons: 

Vermont Campus  Myesha Dickson   (323) 750-5750
 Leimert Campus  Myesha Dickson   (323) 298-0045 

HOUSING: 5CCR#71810(b) 
This institution does not have dormitory facilities.  Housing is located near the facility. A one 
bedroom apartment typically rents for $800 to $1100 per month. However, the institution does 
not offer housing nor does it assist students with locating housing. 

PLACEMENT ASSISTANCE (Ed.Code#94909 (a) (13) 
Available Wednesday AND Thursday from 10:00 a.m. to Noon.  The student can contact one of 
the following School Directors: 

Vermont Campus Kenneth J. Williams (323750-5750 
Leimert Campus Kenneth J. Williams (323) 298-0045 

PLACEMENT: This institution does not guarantee placement to any student. However, limited 
job placement assistance is provided to graduates at no additional costs. Upon graduation, the 
student’s name is recorded in a placement register for the follow-up process.  Institution records 
State Board Pass/Fail results. Students that failed are encouraged to return to our school for 
assistance and guidance for subsequent attempts to pass the exam. Placement assistance if provide 
and students are referred for interviews, results are recorded in the placement register. The school 
may show prospective students this register and state or federal agencies if requested. 
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WELCOME FROM THE PRESIDENT 


Dear Student: 

Welcome to the UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. and thank you for selecting us 
to assist you in obtaining your Cosmetology training.  You are now entering into a field that will 
provide you with the opportunity for a successful future in the beauty industry.  

At UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. we offer you the basic Cosmetology, 
Manicurist and Instructor Training coupled with hands on experience to assist you in passing the 
Barbering and Cosmetology examination.  We place emphasis on how to become successful in 
the beauty industry and how to make your chosen career personally and financially rewarding.  
You will practice Beauty Shop management; learn business concepts and psychology of personal 
success. 

It is a pleasure to have you join us at UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC., OUR 
GOAL is to help you discover your ability to transform your life and other’s lives through 
training. The degree of your success will depend upon the time and effort you are willing to 
apply during the entire course of your training. Our professional and committed Instructors are 
dedicated to helping you achieve your dream. 

Best wishes from our staff as you embark upon your new career in Cosmetology. 

Sincerely,
 
JOHN C. WILLIAMS, President/CEO
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HISTORY OF UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. 

On, March 22, 1930, Mrs. Hazel D. Williams founded the HENRIETTA BEAUTY SCHOOL in 
Los Angeles, CA. Mrs. Williams had applied for admission to numerous Cosmetology schools in 
the Los Angeles area but was denied admission because of racial discrimination.  She and her 
spouse, John C. Williams, Sr., decided to open their own school and named it HENRIETTA 
BEAUTY SCHOOL, after a friend, Henrietta Kent who had given them financial assistance.  The 
HENRIETTA BEAUTY SCHOOL was the first school west of the Rocky Mountains to develop 
a course of study specifically designed to meet the hair care needs of African-Americans.  Many 
of the minority Cosmetologists in Los Angeles graduated from the HENRIETTA BEAUTY 
SCHOOL. 

In 1956, Mrs. Williams and her spouse, John C. Williams decided to retire. Prior to the closure of 
Henrietta’s Beauty School, their  son John, Jr. a graduate of Henrietta’s and his spouse Joneal,  
also a graduate of Henrietta Beauty School, continued Mama Williams’ legacy by opening up 
their own school at Vermont and Manchester. They renamed it UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF 
BEAUTY, this school became the main campus for all of the other branches. The demand by the 
community for quality Cosmetology education prompted John and Joneal to open UNIVERSAL 
COLLEGE OF BEAUTY,INC., Campus #2 (Leimert) at Vernon and Crenshaw in August, 
1985. In 1988, Mrs. Hazel Williams passed. However, in the spirit of continuing the family 
tradition, John’s son, Kenneth Williams, joined the family business as Director of the Vermont 
Campus. 

Joneal Williams was a native of Charlotte, NC and it had been her dream to open a Cosmetology 
School in her home town to serve the educational needs of her community.  Her dream was 
realized in October, 1988 with the opening of UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, 
Campus #3 (Charlotte, NC) which was dedicated to the memory of Mrs. Hazel Williams. 

The family Cosmetology schools continued to grow and thrive graduating many Cosmetologists. 
Unfortunately, on February 7, 1993, John’s spouse, Joneal and their son “Chip” were tragically 
killed in an automobile accident in Charlotte.  The family was devastated, but in the Williams 
family tradition of surviving adversity, and to keep Mrs. Hazel Williams and now Joneal’s 
dreams alive, Kenneth’s spouse, Belinda Williams joined the family business as the Director of 
the Leimert Campus.  The schools continued to graduate successful Cosmetologists.         

In, August, 1997,another family dream was realized with the opening of UNIVERSAL 
COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. Campus #4 in Compton, CA. by John C. Williams. 
Subsequently, in November 1998, Loretta C. Williams, spouse of John C. Williams, joined the 
family business as Chief Administrative Officer and later became School Director of the 
Compton Campus. The Charlotte, NC campus was closed May, 2005. 

Following 15 years of service to students and residents of Compton, the Compton campus closed 
permanently on June 30, 2012. This campus is not accredited by NACCAS. 

On March 22, 2014 UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC., will celebrate 84 years of 
service to the community. 

“What you do speaks so loud, I can’t hear what you say” Mrs. Hazel D. Williams 
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  EDUCATIONAL OBJECTIVES/MISSION STATEMENT 

Our primary objective at UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. is to offer training that 
prepares the successful student to acquire the knowledge and skills necessary to pass the 
Cosmetology/Barbering and Manicurists examinations.  In the process, our secondary objective is 
to maximize the personal growth and development of each student to discover his/her potential to 
become a future Cosmetology entrepreneur and teacher. 

Our prime vocational objective is to train and produce graduates sufficiently knowledgeable to 
seek and find employment within the beauty industry.  The successful student should be able to 
function effectively in one of the many specialty areas such as: Hair Stylist, Hair Colorist, 
Manicurist, Make-up Artist or as Beauty Salon Manager, Beauty Salon Owner, Cosmetology 
Instructor, Supervisor or School Owner. 

The daily training operations of the UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. Los Angeles 
campuses are directed by qualified Directors, KENNETH J. WILLIAMS and LORETTA 
WILLIAMS. They bring many years of managerial, administrative and practical experience 
within the beauty industry and they believe in continuing their education to keep abreast of the 
vast changes in our industry. 

The resultant education program and the teaching and training at UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF 
BEAUTY, INC. represent the spectrum of Cosmetology knowledge and experience of our 
President, Directors and Staff. We present a challenging teaching and learning environment 
designed to maximize the student’s preparation and opportunity for success in one of today’s 
most exciting and rewarding fields - the beauty industry. 

The unique and exceptionally talented qualities of UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. 
faculty are exhibited daily in the classroom and on the clinic floor.  Our staff supplements our 
training program on a regular basis through seminars and classes in Cosmetology, Manicuring 
and Skin Care. These sessions are held with successful, sometimes world renowned guest artists, 
lecturers, motivational trainers and sometimes graduates of our school.  These exciting activities 
are conducted in an environment that is characterized by: 
 Spacious, well-lighted facilities, remodeled as needed to meet our school needs. 
 Salon-type equipment especially designed to enhance student training 
 An educational philosophy that demands student’s adherence to exemplary professional 

conduct and standards 
 An instructional methodology that provides continued individualized instruction during 

the complete tenure of student training 
 An extensive library with books, periodicals, DVD’s and supplemental materials 

to enhance student’s knowledge 
 A computer lab with samples of the State Board exam to further enhance their 

ability to pass the exam. 
Student’s gain skill and confidence from training on quality equipment in comfortable 
surroundings.  The strict observance of high professional standards enhances their future 
opportunities for higher paying vocational employment.  The constant utilization of these 
qualities helps student’s develop skills to their fullest capacities.  UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF 
BEAUTY, INC. welcomes all persons interested in a beauty career. 
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 ADMISSIONS REQUIREMENTS 
(Ed.Code #94909(a)(8)(A),5CCR#71770(b) and(5CCR#71770(b)(1) through (3) 
The school is accepting applicants for admission as regular students once one of the following 
criteria has been met: 
A) All prospective students must provide a copy of his/her U.S. High School Diploma or its 

equivalent (GED) or its equivalent. For students that have immigrated to the United States, 
the services of independent academic evaluators are needed to determine academic readiness 
to be considered for enrollment. Self certification of a high school diploma or its equivalent is 
not allowed by our accrediting agency (NACCAS) 

B) 	 All students must pass an admissions test - the Scholastic Level Exam, (SLE) with a 
minimum score of 18 or higher as stated in the test publisher’s guidelines. Currently, our 
school is using the WONDERLIC TEST that is approved by the Department of Education. 

C) 	 ATB STUDENTS – (Effective 7/1/2012)  
ATB (students without a HS diploma or a GED) are no longer eligible for Title IV 
funds. 

D) 	 Instructor training applicants must have a High School diploma or its equivalent in addition 
to a valid Cosmetology license. 

 NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND 
CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION Ed.Code#94909(a)(15), 
5CCR#71770(b) 
The transferability of credits you earn at an institution from which you are transferring is at the 
complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the degree 
diploma or certificate you earn in Cosmetology, Manicuring or Instructor Training is also at the 
complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. It the credits, or degree 
diploma, or certificate that you earn at this institution are not accepted at the institution to which 
you seek to transfer you may be required to repeat some or all of your course work at that 
institution. For this reason you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will 
meet your educational goals. This may include contacting this institution to which you may seek 
to transfer after attending your former institution to determine if your credits or degree, diploma 
or certificate will transfer. Appropriate credit will be granted for prior training or experience in 
Cosmetology, Manicuring and Instructor Training upon review and verification by college 
officials of its validity under the Cosmetology Act and the rules and regulations of the Barbering 
and Cosmetology Program. This institution will accept transfer hours as follows:
 1/4th (one-fourth) or 400 of Cosmetology hours 


1/4th (one-fourth) or 100 of Manicuring hours

 1/4th (one-fourth) or 150 of Instructor Training hours
 
Students with more than these transfer hours will be required to furnish a written recommendation 
from their previous school and 2 personal recommendations.   

Students – Veterans Administration (VA) Benefits; 
Students wishing to enroll at Universal and utilize the VA benefits for which they may be eligible 
must submit unofficial transcripts for All prior training even though they may not be transferring 
any hours into the Universal program 

This institution does not have an articulation or transfer agreement with any other college. 

Our school does not recruit any student currently attending another school of Cosmetology. 
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RE-ENTRY POLICY  
All former UCB students who withdraw may re-enter into the program of Cosmetology at the 

discretion of the School Director. The college maintains files on withdrawn students for five (5) 

years only. 


STATEMENT OF NON-DISCRIMINATION
 
Universal College of Beauty, Inc. does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, 

handicap, financial status, age, and ethnic origin, area of origin or residence in its admissions, 

instruction or graduation policies. 


 FACILITIES 
The Vermont Campus is a two story building that measure 5300 square feet.  The Leimert 
Campus is also a two story building measuring 5600 square feet.  All of our buildings are 
spacious, air-conditioned, modern facilities with many benefits for our staff and students. Our 
schools simulate salon conditions to help our students “learn by doing”, with modern equipment 
and a variety of supplies that help enhance the student’s product knowledge.  A student lounge or 
break area is provided for student use with facilities for eating and taking breaks.  Each student is 
assigned a locker in which to keep their uniforms, tools, products, and other personal items.  Our 
students are taught to manage the reception desk by logging in patrons, answering the telephone 
and operating the cash register. They are then assigned on a daily basis to actually practice this 
task. They learn how to do inventory control and assist in operating the school’s supply system.  
Our objective is to help the student to become “salon ready”. 

All of our schools maintain a library which includes periodicals, videos, DVD's, handouts, web-
based resources and other resource materials a student may need to enhance their knowledge.  A 
check out system is utilized. Our school has a Computer Lab for all of our students to practice 
taking sample State Board exams and for our instructors to access supplemental educational 
resources. 

FOR HANDICAPPED STUDENTS 
Access for handicapped students to the institution’s facilities is not available at the college.  This 
institution does not offer special facilities or programs for the handicapped. 

FRESHMAN CLASS ENROLLMENT 
The freshman curriculum for each of the courses requires a specific number of hours of classroom 
lectures, demonstration, and student practice. Upon completion of these hours, student is allowed 
to advance to the clinic floor. SEE CURRICULUMS STARTING ON PAGE 30.  The 
freshman class teaches the student from the very beginning and introduces the basics for those 
areas that the student will need to know to pass Barbering/Cosmetology Program examinations.  
From this initial introduction, the student will learn all fundamentals that are the basics for the 
student’s future and career. The hours spent in the freshman class varies according to student's 
progress. UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. considers the freshman classes to be the 
foundation of the student’s future in Cosmetology. 

CALENDAR/HOLIDAYS 

The college is closed on Sundays, Mondays and the following holidays: New Year’s Day, 

Martin Luther King Jr.’s Birthday, Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Labor Day, 

Thanksgiving day and the Friday and Saturday after Thanksgiving, Christmas Day and the 

next business day after Christmas.
 

10
 



 

 
 

  
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 
 
  

  

 

 

 

A “special “holiday may be declared for emergencies by the Administration for special reasons.  
Holy Days of all religious beliefs are respected and allowed. 

CLASS SCHEDULE FOR 2013-14 
Classes for Cosmetology, Manicurist and Instructor Training courses begin each Tuesday of each 
week. (Subject to change depending on the schedule of the school). 

ORIENTATION CLASS 
Orientation classes for students are held each Tuesday of each week prior to starting any new 
class. (Subject to change depending on the schedule of the school). All new students, transfers 
and re-enrolled students are required to attend prior to starting classes. 

COURSES OF STUDY 
The course of study for students enrolled in a Cosmetology course shall consist of sixteen 
hundred (1600) clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices 
constituting the art of Cosmetology; for Manicuring four hundred clock hours (400); and 
Instructor Training six hundred clock hours (600). Education Goals: The Cosmetology 
course of study is designed to prepare students for the state licensing examination and for 
profitable employment as a Cosmetologist (D.O.T. #332.271-010, CIP #12.0401; 
Manicurist(D.O.T. #331.674-010, CIP # 12.0410 and Instructor Training (D.O.T. #075.127­
010, CIP #12.0413. 

HEALTH AND PHYSICAL CONSIDERATIONS 
Generally the professional in the beauty field must be in good physical health for he/she will be 
working in direct contact with patrons.  This related field of study requires a great deal of 
standing, walking, pushing, bending and stretching for extended periods of time. A person must 
consider his/her physical limitations in terms of making a career choice that involves extensive 
physical demands. We promote the acceptance of students with physical limitations if these 
students (their parents or physician) believe they can fulfill the training demands. 

DRUG ABUSE PREVENTION PROGRAM 
The following information is available for all UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. 
staff, students and Instructors: Anyone seeking information, counseling, or assistance regarding  
Drug Abuse Prevention contact the following: 

Los Angeles Drug and Alcohol Treatment Center 
California-drug-treatment-ceenter.com 


2202 South Figueroa Street, 

Los Angeles, CA (213) 344-8804
 

ATTENDANCE STATUS/POLICY (Ed.Code#94909(a)(8)(D) 
Attendance must be maintained at an average of 70% of the scheduled attendance if the student is 
expected to complete the course of study within the 1.5 times of the period of time stated in the 
enrollment agreement. An absence may be excused by calling-in the same day prior to the 
beginning of class or with appropriate documentation. Students are required to make-up the  
lessons, and exams missed due to absenteeism. Excessive tardiness and or absenteeism will be 
reviewed by the Director to determine possible corrective action. 

Absence of three (3) days or more without notification will be considered cause for suspension. 
Any student absent more than the twenty –one (21) consecutive days without notifying Instructor 
or Director will be withdrawn. 
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Full time students are required to be enrolled and attend a minimum of 30 hours per week. Half 
time enrollment requires a minimum of 15 hours per week. Part time enrollment requires that 
students attend a minimum of 19 hours per week. 

STUDENT CLOCK HOUR POLICY 
The Barbering/Cosmetology Program will only recognize time clock punched hours of 
attendance. As a result of this requirement this school can only give credit to students who record 
their attendance by using the time clock to punch in and out at the start and end of their class day 
and lunch period.  Students are given up to seven (7) minutes to clock in and receive credit for the 
quarter (1/4) hour.  This seven minute applies to starting the class day.  Once theory classes have 
begun no one will be allowed to enter the theory class room. 

At the completion of the week, a new time card is prepared from the current weekly time card.  
The daily hours and operations earned are transferred to the cumulative column. At the end of the 
week the cumulative figures are then entered into the final column and on the next week’s time 
card the final totals are transferred to the prior column of the next week’s time card.  The time 
card must be signed by the student and the Instructor daily. STUDENT’S MUST PUNCH 
THEIR OWN TIME CARDS!!! 

Time cards reflect the student’s daily record of hours and operations.  It is important the all of a 
student’s hours and operations are recorded properly and accurately.  The attendance personnel 
must be able to read the time cards so that the hours are correctly transferred to the roster. 

The time cards are the property of the college and must remain at the college at all times.  After a 
student clocks in, they are required to maintain applied effort.  Personal grooming, leaving the 
building and reading material not related to Cosmetology, Manicuring or Instructor Training is 
not tolerated, if this occurs the student will be asked to stop such activity or to punch out for the 
remainder of the day. Continued activities of this nature could result in a student’s termination. 

The following is a guideline for the Instructor to issue credits: 

1. 	 Each theory must be initialed in the proper category.  If that category is complete, the 
Instructor may issue credit in a comparative category. 

2. 	 The portion of the time card reflecting hours are in Theory hours earned and any classes the 
Instructor has demonstrated. 

3. 	 The portion of the time reflecting operations are to be applied efforts of the students as they
       manually perform practical subjects. 
4. 	 Some practical operations may take longer to perform according to the student’s pace and 

ability. 
NOTE: The following time frame is given by the State board for each operation: 

Shampoo/set = 1 ½ hours; Scalp treatment = ½ to 1 hours; Permanent wave = 2 to 2 ½ 
hours; Facial =1 ½ to 2 hours; Manicure = ½ hour and Hair cut = ½ to 1 hour. 
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LEAVE OF ABSENCE POLICY: (Ed.Code#94909(a)(8)(E) 
Occasionally, students may experience extended personal, medical or other problems that make it 
difficult to attend class. During the leave of absence, the student is not considered withdrawn and 
no refund calculation is required if: 
 The institution has a formal policy regarding leaves of absences 
 The student followed the institution’s policy in requesting the leaves of absences 
 The institution approved the request in accordance with the institution’s policy 

LOA must be requested in writing by the student and must be approved by the School Director.   
A LOA request form must include the start and end date of the leave of absence. Leaves of 
absence may be granted for up to 180 days.   Do not request a Leave of Absence unless you 
absolutely need to be off school for a period of more than 20 days but less than 60 days. 

(For Financial aid recipients leaves are limited to a total of 180 days within a 12 month period, 
these 12 months initiate from the first day the student goes on the first leave)..  Student’s on 
LOA’s will not be assessed any additional charges of tuition and will  retain all credit for clock 
hours and work projects completed and will be returned to the academic progress status they held 
prior to the start of the leave of absence. The LOA extends the contract period and maximum 
time from the same number of days taken in the LOA. Student’s who fail to return from a LOA 
will be considered dismissed as of the last class day of attendance. 

The refund calculation will be based on the date the school determined the student withdrew. All 
refunds due will be issued to the student or appropriate agencies and paid within 30 days of the 
date the school determined the student withdrew.  

TUITION AND FEES POLICIES: 
Institutional charges for the tuition charges are posted to the student tuition account on the basis 
of payment period by payment period. However, registration fee, books and supplies for the 
entire course will be assessed and posted in the students tuition account with the first payment 
period. Subsequent charges will be posted as needed. 

Tuition and Fee Schedule: 
The tuition and fees are recorded on the enrollment agreement at the time a student 
registers/enrolls in the course.
 Tuition, Books, Kit and Other Fees: (Ed.Code #94909(a)(9) 
COURSE  *TUITION *REG. 

FEE 
BOOKS KIT STRF OTHER 

FEES 
TOTAL WEEKS 

Cosmetology $16,000.00 $150.00 $300.00 $570.00 $8.50 $0.00 $17,028.50 50-75 
Manicurist $2,000 $150.00 $100.00 $250.00 $2.50 $0.00 $2,502.50 14-21 
Instructor 
Training 

$3,900.00 $150.00 $500.00  N/A $2.50 $0.00 $4,552.50 20-30 

	 (Asterisk) = Refundable - Fee waivers are available to all students from time to time 
who enroll during specified time frames. 

Once used, kits are not refundable due to sanitary considerations. * Above kit prices include sales 
tax. 
THE COLLEGE RESERVES THE RIGHT TO CHANGE THE TUITION AND FEES 
AND MAKE CURRICULUM CHANGES WITHOUT PRIOR NOTICE WHEN 
NECESSARY.  ANY CHANGE WILL NOT AFFECT STUDENT’S CURRENTLY 
ATTENDING SCHOOL. 

13
 



 

  

 

 

   

 
 

 

 
 

    
     

              
         

                    
                   

  

               
              

              
              

                              
                                            

               

    
                 

       
   
                 

                   
    

 
 

 

  

     
 

 

 
 

Textbooks will be issued at the beginning of the freshman class.  After approximately six (6) 
weeks of freshman training, each student will be issued a complete kit of equipment with a 
carrying case.  The kit contains the equipment necessary for satisfactory completion of the 
course. Students are expected to maintain the kit by replacing lost or broken articles.  THE 
COLLEGE IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR A STUDENT’S EQUIPMENT, EITHER LOST OR 
STOLEN. Students must learn to be responsible for the tools of their trade. 

CREDIT SLIP POLICY: 
The school recognizes that students are unable to financially pay the balance of their 
tuition. Therefore, students can voluntarily agree to utilize the value of the patron credit 
slips to reduce the balance on tuition.  If this is not their choice, they will pay the tuition 
balance indicated in the enrollment agreement. 

Institutional Charges by Payment Period & Estimated Payments) Ed.Code#94909(a)(9) 
Cosmetology 

1st 2ndPayment period  3rd 4th   Totals 
Tuition 4500   4500   3500   3500   16,000.00 
Fees (Non-refundable) 150 0 0 0 150.00 
Supplies (Non-refundable) 870 0 0 0 870.00 
Other charges (Non-refundable) 0 0 0 0 0 0 
*STRF (Non-refundable) 8.50 0 0 0 8.50 
    5528.50 4500 3500 3500 17,028.50 
*(Ed.Code#94909(a)(14), (5CCR#76215(a) & (5CCR#76215(b) 
Instructor Training 
Payment period  1st  2nd Totals 
Tuition 1950 1950 3900.00 
Fees (Non-refundable) 150 0 150.00 
Supplies (Non-refundable) 500 0 500.00 
Other charges (Non-refundable) 0 0 0 
STRF 2.50   2.50 

2602.50 1950 4552.00 
Manicuring 
Payment period  1st  2nd Totals 
Tuition 1000 1000  2000.00 
Fees (Non-refundable) 150 0  150.00 
Supplies (Non-refundable) 250 0  250.00 
Other charges (Non-refundable) 0 0 0 
STRF 1 1 

1401 1000  2401.00 

EXTRA INSTRUCTION CHARGES (rev. 2/1/10) 
Students are expected to complete their training within the time frame allowed as specified in the 
Enrollment Agreement.  However, if the student reaches the expected graduation date stated on 
his/her contract and needs additional time to complete the hours and/or operations, this institution 
will extend a courtesy period of additional training limited to three weeks without assessing 
additional charges. Thereafter, overtime tuition charges will be assessed and an addendum 
to the enrollment will be for the remaining hours as follows: 
Cosmetology - $10.00 Manicurist - $5.00 Instructor Training - $6.50 

NOTE: Length of time in course depends on number of hour's student contracts for on a monthly 
basis as specified in the Enrollment Agreement. 
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METHOD OF PAYMENT 
Students are expected to contribute from their own family resources toward the students cost of 
attendance. Payment plans are available from this institution. Federal student financial is 
available to those that qualify to cover educational expenses. Financial aid may be in the form of 
grants (mo repayment required) and student loans (THIS INSTITUTION CHOOSES NOT TO 
PARTICIPATE IN THE STUDENT LOAN PROGRAM). It is the policy of this institution to 
request from the student whenever possible, to contribute toward their school charges by making 
monthly or weekly installments in accordance to their means. All estimates of available funds  
from financial aid will be first used to cover institutional charges; if funds remain available, they 
will be disbursed directly to the student. For information on the aid programs, please contact the 
financial aid office. The entire education expenses need to be included in planning the student’s 
ability to meet those expenses. All school charges must be paid in full before graduation. 

BRUSH-UP 
Students requiring preparation for the State Board exam will be billed at the course hourly rates, 
depending on which license they are applying for and a registration fee of $150.00. Students must 
furnish their own equipment. 
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SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS (SAP)    

This policy is established and maintained for ALL students (Title, non Title IV recipients and 
students under VA benefits) enrolled in NACCAS approved school, attending the school, 
within a course, and within the same attendance schedule. Information regarding SAP guidelines 
is provided to students during their Orientation, prior to signing an enrollment agreement as 
follows: 
1. 	  Maintain a cumulative academic average of “C” (70%) or better on all tests, work projects 

(operations) and other required course work. Students are assigned academic learning and a 
minimum number of practical experiences. Academic learning is evaluated after each unit of 
study. Practical assignments are evaluated as completed and counted towards course 
completion only when rated satisfactory or better. 

2. 	  Maintain a cumulative average attendance level of at least (2/3) (67%) of the scheduled 
hours indicated on their enrollment contract. The attendance percentage is determined  by 
dividing the total hours accrued by the total number of hours scheduled.  For example, a 
student scheduled to complete 30 hours per week would have to maintain  an average weekly 
attendance of at least 20 hours per week (2/3 x 30 = 20).  At the end of each evaluation 
period, the school will determine if the student has maintained at least 67% cumulative 
attendance since the beginning of the course which indicates that, given the same attendance 
rate, the student will graduate within the maximum time frame allowed 

3. 	 This standard shall apply to all students except those students on an approved Leave of          
absence . An LOA will extend the contract period and maximum time frame by same number 
of days taken in the LOA. 

4. 	 Students will receive a hard copy of their SAP determination (academic and attendance 
progress) at the time of each evaluation. 

MAXIMUM TIME FRAME: 
The maximum time (which does not exceed 150% of the course length) allowed for students to 
complete each course at satisfactory academic progress is: 

COURSE  WEEKS SCHED. HRS/. 
Cosmetology ( Full time, 35 hours / week)  1600 hours 50 1750 
Manicuring (Full time, 35 hours / week)      400 hours 14 490 
Instructor Training (Full time, 35 hours / week)  600 hours 20 700 
Instructor Training (Part time, 20 hours /week)  600 hours 45 900 

EVALUATION PERIODS: Evaluations are conducted at the end of each period and will 
determine if the student has met the minimum requirements for SAP. The frequency of 
evaluations ensures that students have had at least one evaluation by midpoint in the course. All 
students are evaluated for SAP as follows: 

Cosmetology 450, 900, 1250 clocked (actual) hours 
Manicuring 100, 200,300 clocked (actual ) hours 
Instructor Trainees 300, 300  clocked (actual) hours 

*Transfer students: Midpoint of the contracted hours or the established evaluation periods, 
whichever comes first. 

ACADEMIC PROGRESS EVALUATIONS: 
The qualitative element used to determine academic progress is a system of grades as determined 
by assigned academic learning. Students are assigned academic learning and a minimum number 
of practical operations. Academic learning is evaluated after each course is completed. Practical 
skills are evaluated according to procedures set forth in practical skills criteria as adopted by the 
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school and may be used toward course completion if satisfactory or better. If unsatisfactory, the 
skill will not be counted and will be repeated. 

GRADING SYSTEM 
Students must maintain a “C” (70%) average to maintain satisfactory academic status.   

Numerical grades are considered according to the following scale: 
90%-100% A…Excellent 
80%-89% B…Above Average 
70%-79%  C…Average 
60%-69%  D…Unsatisfactory (Below Average) 
50%-59% F….Fail 

DETERMINATION OF PROGRESS STATUS: 
Students meeting the minimum requirements for academic and attendance at the evaluation point 
are considered to be making satisfactory academic progress until the next scheduled evaluations 
Students deemed not maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress may have their Title IV 
funding interrupted, unless the student is on warning or has prevailed upon appeal resulting in a 
status of probation. 

WARNING:
 (Ed.Code#94909(a)(8)(C) 
Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic are placed on 
warning and considered to be making satisfactory academic progress while during the warning 
period. The student will be advised in writing on the actions required to attain satisfactory 
academic progress by the next evaluation. If at the end of the warning period, the student has still  
not met both the attendance and academic requirements, he/she may be placed on probation and, 
if applicable, students will be deemed ineligible to receive Title IV funds. 

PROBATION: 
Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress after the 
warning period will be placed on probation under the following circumstances: 
 The institution determined that satisfactory academic standards can be met by the end of 

the subsequent evaluation period; or 
	 The institution develops an academic plan for the student, that , if followed will ensure 

that the student is able to meet the institution's SAP requirements by a specific point 
within the maximum timeframe established for the individual student. 

	 The student appeals at the beginning of the probationary period 
	 The student will be advised in writing of the actions required to attain satisfactory 

academic progress by the next evaluation. If at the end of the probationary period, the 
student has not met both the attendance and academic requirements required for SAP or 
by the academic plan, he/she will be determined as NOT making satisfactory academic 
progress and, if applicable, students will not be deemed eligible to receive Title IV 
funds. 

RE-ESTABLISHMENT OF SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS: 
Students may re-establish SAP and Title IV aid, as applicable, by meeting minimum attendance 
and academic requirements by the end of the warning or probationary period. 
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INTERUPTIONS, COURSE INCOMPLETES, WITHDRAWALS: 
If enrollment is temporarily interrupted for a Leave of Absence, the student will return to school 
in the same progress status as prior to the LOA. Hours elapsed during a leave of absence will 
extend the student's contract period and maximum time frame by the same number of days taken 
in the LOA and will not be included in the student's cumulative attendance percentage 
calculation. Students who withdraw prior to completion of the course and wish to re-enroll will 
return in the same SAP status as at the time of withdrawal. 

APPEAL PROCEDURES  (SAP): 
Student’s who wish to appeal the decision that they are not making Satisfactory Academic 
Progress must submit a written request to the institution’s Director.  The letter should be received 
within ten (10) days of the non-satisfactory determination and must describe any circumstances 
such as the death of a relative, an injury or illness of the student, or other allowable special 
circumstances. Please note that simply not making SAP is not a valid excuse for an appeal. 
The letter must also include, with supporting documents, reasons why the determination should 
be reversed and changes that have occurred with the student's situation that would allow them to 
achieve SAP by the next evaluation point. Appeal documents will be reviewed, a decision given 
to the student within 10 calendar days. The appeal documents and written decision will be 
retained in the student's file. If the student prevails upon appeal, the SAP progress determination 
will be reversed and SFA will be re-instated. 

TRANFER HOURS (SAP): With regard to Satisfactory Academic Progress, a student’s transfer 
hours will be counted as both attempted and earned hours for the purpose of determining when 
the allowable maximum time frame has been exhausted. SAP evaluation periods are based on 
actual contracted hours at the institution. 

DISCLOSURE OF EDUCATION RECORDS: (5CCR#71810 (b)(1)-(15) 
Universal College of Beauty, Inc. complies with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act. 
(FERPA). This act protects the privacy of education and establishes a student’s and/or 
parent/guardian of a minor’s right to inspect and review their educational record, under the 
supervision of a staff member. Students or their parent/guardian, if the student is a dependent 
minor, may have access to their own files by contacting staff for an appointment. The school may 
require advance notice of up to 48 hours and an appointment for review of these files Students, or 
their parent/guardian if the student is a dependent minor, may not remove these records from the 
campus. 

 No information regarding a student will be released without the prior written consent of the 
student or if the student is a dependent minor, their parent/guardian, unless Universal is required 
to do so by law, a government agency or Universal’s accrediting agency. Educational records are 
defined as files, materials, and documents that contain information directly related to the 
student’s period of enrollment that are maintained by the institution. This institution will keep 
these records for five years from the last day of attendance. After this period all records EXCEPT 
the official transcript are destroyed.  The students are not entitled to inspect the financial records 
of their parents. Written consent from the student and/or parents is required before educational 
records may be disclosed to any party with the exception of accrediting commission or 
governmental agencies authorized by law. 

Schools may disclose, without consent, “directory” information such as student’s name, address, 
telephone number, date and place of birth, honors and awards, dates of attendance. However, 
schools must tell parents and eligible students about directory information and allow parents and 
eligible students a reasonable amount of time to request that the school not disclose directory 
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information about them. Schools must notify parents and eligible students annually of their rights 
under FERPA. The actual means of notification (special letter, inclusion in a PTA bulletin, 
student handbook, bulletin board information, student body meetings or newspaper article) is left 
to the discretion of each school. 

The school must keep a record of each request for access and each disclosure of personally 
identifiable student information. The record must identify the parties who requested the 
information and their legitimate interest in the information. This record must be maintained in the 
student’s file as long as the educational records themselves are kept. 

CAREER ADVISING /PERSONAL ATTENTION /PROFESSIONAL REFERRALS 
Students are advised individually, as often as necessary, but at least on a quarterly basis to review 
the student’s progress and adjustment.  Successful Salon Owners and Stylists are scheduled into 
the school regularly to give demonstrations and discuss career goals, etc. with the students.  
Students may request additional advising sessions at any time.  Students are given personal 
attention assistance at every stage of training from the first day of enrollment to the day of 
graduation. At predetermined intervals, measuring instruments are utilized to evaluate the rate 
and quality of the student and remedial assignments are made when required.  Particular attention 
is given to preparation for the Barbering/ Cosmetology examination. However, this school does 
not provide housing for its students.  

During orientation, drug abuse information is given. However, if at some point, professional 
assistance  is indicated, staff will make the appropriate referral. 

ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE 
This institution does not offer English as a Second Language (ESL) course. All prospective 
students that are accepted for enrollment must be proficient in the English Language. 
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GENERAL SCHOOL RULES AND REGULATIONS – (rev. 6/2013) 

The following are UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. rules and regulations that ALL 
of our students are expected to follow, however, each campus might have more specific rules and 
regulations that will be given to each student during orientation. 
1. 	 School hours at the campuses are as follows: 

Vermont campus - Tuesday - Saturday - 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
 
Leimert campus – Tuesday – Saturday – 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
 

2. 	 Time cards must be legible and STUDENTS MUST PUNCH THEIR OWN TIME 
CARDS. 

3. 	 In case of illness or emergency on any day, the student must call in to the school Leimert 
(323) 298-0045 - Vermont (323) 750-5750, to report his/her absence before 9:00 a.m. that 
morning. 

4. 	 Students are required to be in class for roll call promptly between 9:00 and 9:15 a.m. in a 
clean prescribed uniform. No hats allowed and head scarves must be approved by the 
Director. 

5. 	 Any student appearing in school with their hair not set and neat will clocked out. Personal 
grooming is allowed ONLY for students who have attended school 30 hours in the previous 
week. 

6. 	 TARDY POLICY: 
Vermont campus - A student who is tardy (after 9:16 a.m.) can clock in and do independent 
study until theory class ends. 
Leimert campus – Any student who is tardy (9:16 a.m.) cannot clock in until theory class is 
over and they may not attend theory class.  
Vermont & Leimert campuses:    Student’s who are habitually tardy five (5) times in one 
month, will be advised and if the tardiness continues may be suspended, placed on probation 
or one day of attendance (6 hours) will be deducted from student’s clock hours. 

7. 	  Student’s will take lunch between 11:30 a.m. and 2:00 p.m.( the exact time and length of 
lunch period will be determined by the School Director) and must cleared by the Instructor.  
If a student has not had lunch by 2:00 p.m. - this should be reported to the Instructor.  The 
taking of a lunch period is each student’s responsibility and must be staggered. 

8. 	 A student must use the time clock to punch “IN” when entering and “Out” when leaving.  
Students failing to do so will only receive credit for hours indicated by the time clock.  

9. 	 No student is allowed to clock out during college hours without permission from the 
instructor. 

10. 	NO STUDENT MAY CLOCK IN OR OUT FOR ANOTHER STUDENT. This rule is 
strictly  enforced and may be grounds for disciplinary action. 
Smoking is not allowed in the building and no gum chewing is allowed in the Clinic area at 
any time. 

11. 	STUDENTS CAN NOT REFUSE TO GIVE SERVICE TO A PATRON, UNLESS 

EXCUSED BY AN INSTRUCTOR.  FAILURE TO PERFORM THIS SERVICE, 

WITHOUT OFFICIAL EXCUSE MAY BE GROUNDS FOR SUSPENSION.
 

12. 	No visitors are permitted in the classrooms or student lounges unless approved by the 

Director or Instructor. 


13. 	College business telephones may not be used for personal calls.  However, incoming calls 
regarding 

AN EMERGENCY CALL, for students will be allowed.  The used of cell phones, iPods or 
any other listening device is governed according to the rules and regulations of each campus 

14. 	Rigid adherence to the rules and regulations of sanitation, disinfecting and personal hygiene 
is required at all times. 
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15. Student’s must keep their work stations, in class or on the clinic floor, clean and sanitary at 

all times 

16. A minimum of ½ hour of sanitation must be completed by the student daily.  All kits must be     
in a sanitized condition at the end of the day. 
17. All students serving the public must be courteous and pleasant. If difficulty arises with a 

patron, the student is to call an Instructor. 


18. No student may leave a patron while doing a perm or hair coloring service, except in an 
      emergency and is excused by an Instructor 
19. Students are not allowed to give services or materials other than what is called for the on  
      service ticket. Students violating this rule will be disciplined accordingly 
20. 	Students will pay in advance for supplies for personal services such as permanents, tints, 

bleaches, etc. Personal service will not be allowed on Fridays or Saturdays. Personal service 
must be authorized by the Director or an Instructor. 

21. Students are responsible for the return of college materials or equipment loaned to   
       them. Students must  not borrow equipment from each other.  Each student is solely
       responsible for their personal belongings and materials. 
22. Students must not gather or congregate around the Receptionist desk, in the offices visit with    
      a student who is working on a patron. 
23. Students are required to attend school TUESDAY THROUGH SATURDAY unless 

the day is  designated as a Holiday as indicated on Page  of this catalog. However, attendance 
on SATURDAY’S is MANDATORY. The college reserves the right to discontinue a student 
if this rule is violated.  A student may be required to produce documentation for absences. 

24. Students have access to advising from members of the college on personal or other problems, 
including referral for professional assistance, if necessary.  The school maintains a record of 
student referrals. The college positively reserves the right to suspend or expel a student who 
gossips, uses vulgar language, fights on school grounds, makes threats toward staff, or causes 
any other kind of discord. 

25. The college will not tolerate the use of alcohol or drugs at any time. No student will be
      admitted to class who is apparently under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If this occurs the 
      student will be Automatically Expelled. 
26. Students must keep a record of hours and services for each day as required on the student 
      daily record of applied effort. Weekly time cards will be audited by the college. Cosmetology
       credit will be given for applied effort only if the student is continuously engaged in training
        and study of the branch of Cosmetology for which a student is enrolled. 
26. 	All students will be expected to maintain an average of “C”( 70%) in theory and in  

all practical subjects. Probationary status will result in case of failure to do so. 
27. 	Only products furnished by the college may be used unless otherwise approved by the 
       Supervisor.. Products brought in by the students to use, must be approved by the college 
28. Instructors will show student’s the parking areas 
29. Students must comply with all instructions, directions, orders, etc. given by 

personnel relative to school activities. Insubordination will not be tolerated and will be 
subject to disciplinary action. 

30. 	Students must comply with college policy and State rules and regulations 
31. In case of absences, all assignments, tests and homework may be made up. Any 
deviation from the policy must be in writing from the office and signed by a member of the    
administrative staff. 
32. 	Notify office immediately of any name, address or telephone change. 
33. STUDENTS ARE REQUIRED TO BRING THEIR TEXTBOOKS ANDSUPPLIES TO   
        SCHOOL EACH DAY 
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34. Absence of THREE days or more without notification will be considered cause for 
suspension. Any student absent more than twenty-one (21) days without notifying the   
Instructor or School Director will be considered for termination. 

35. 	 Time slips must remain in the school at all times - removal of these slips will be  
 grounds for suspension. 

These rules are designed to form excellent work habits and attendance, and to aid in the student’s 
completing the course as soon as possible so that they may become employed as a Cosmetologist, 
Manicurist or Instructor. 
VIOLATION OF SCHOOL RULES MAY RESULT IN SUSPENSION OR 
TERMINATION 
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 SCHOLARSHIPS 
UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. does not award any institutional scholarship 
incentives. 

COLLECTION OF TUITION: (Ed. Code 94899.5(b) 
Students are required to pay tuition on a quarterly basis.  At the time of enrollment, student is 
required to make an advance payment that shall not exceed one term or four months (quarterly). 
However, once the student has completed 50% of the program, the institution may require full 
payment. As an alternative, a student has the option to pay the institution in full for tuition and 
fees, including funds received through institutional loans, after the student has been accepted and 
enrolled and the date of the first class session is disclosed on the enrollment agreement.  
Ed.Code #94899.5(e) 

STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND (STRF):
 
(Ed.Code#94909(a) (14), (5CCR#76215(a) & (5CCR76215 (b) 

The State of California created the STRF to relieve or mitigate economic losses suffered by
 
students in educational programs who are California residents, or are enrolled in a residency
 
program attending certain schools regulated by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. 

You must pay the state imposed STFR if any of the following applies to you:
 

1.	 You are student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in 
a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed 
student loans, or personal loans, and 

2.	 Your total charges are not paid by any third-party such an employed, government 
program or other payer unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party. 

You are not eligible from protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF 
assessment if either of the following applies: 

1.	 You are not a California resident, or not enrolled in a residency program, or 
2.	 Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or 

other payer, and you do not have a separate agreement to repay the third party. 
You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident or are enrolled in a residency 
program, prepaid tuition, paid STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any 
of the following: 

1.	 The school closed before the course of instruction was completed. 
2.	 The school’s failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a third party for 

license fees or any other purpose, or to provide equipment or materials for which a charge 
was collected within 180 days before the closure of the school. 

3.	 The school’s failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed 
student loan program as required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the 
school prior to closure in excess of tuition and other costs. 

4.	 There was a material failure to comply with the Act or the Division within 30 days before 
the school closed or, if the material failure began earlier than 30 days prior to closure, the 
period determined by the Bureau. 

5.	 An inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on judgment against the 
institution for a violation of the Act. 

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer 
identification number. 
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REFUND POLICIES (Ed.Code#94909(a)(8)(B)         

BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY AND VOCATIONAL EDUCATION
 
(BPPE) 

Student’s right to Cancel 

The student has the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid 
through attendance at the first class session (first day of class), or the seventh day after enrollment 
(seven days from date when enrollment agreement was signed) whichever is later. 

On the first day of class, students’ will be given two Notices of Cancellation forms to be used if 
they decide to cancel, however, they can use any written notice that they may wish. It is effective 
if it shows that the student no longer wishes to be bound by the enrollment agreement. The notice 
must be submitted directly to the Financial Aid Office. A withdrawal may be initiated by the 
student’s written notice or by the institution due to student’s academics or conduct, including but 
not necessarily limited to, a student’s lack of attendance. If submitted by mail, it is effective when 
it is deposited in the mail properly addressed with prepaid postage. 

Any monies due are refunded within 30 days of written cancellation or termination 

REFUND POLICY 
Applies to all terminations for any reason. After the cancellation period, the institution 
provides a pro rata refund of ALL funds paid for tuition charges to students who have 
completed 60 percent or less of the period of attendance. Once more then 60 percent of 
the enrollment period in the entire course has incurred (including absences), there will b e 
no refund to the student. An applicant not accepted by the school is entitled to refund of all 
monies except non-refundable application fee. 

A registration fee of $150.00 is a non-refundable item. Equipment, books, supplies, tools, 
uniforms, kits and any other items issued and received by the student would not be returnable.  
Once received by the student it will belong to the student and will represent a liability to the 
student. 

If you cancel the agreement, the school will refund any money that you paid, less and deduction 
for registration fee and equipment received. If you withdraw from school after the cancellation 
period, the refund policy described above will apply. If the amount that you have paid is more 
than the amount that you owe for the time you attended, then a refund will be made within 45 
days of the official withdrawal date. See Refunds section below. If the amount that you owe is 
more than the amount that you have already paid, then you will have to arrange with this 
institution to pay that balance. Official withdrawal date is on the student’s notification or school’s 
determination.  Academic credits earned but not paid for will not be released by the institution. 

WITHDRAWAL FROM SCHOOL: - POLICIES AND PROCEDURES
 Determination of withdrawal date: (Ed.Code#94909(a)(8)(B) 
  The date of withdrawal from this institution is the last physical date of attendance recorded in 
the institutional records. However, unofficial withdrawals for clock hour students can be 
determined by the school through monitoring clock hour attendance at least every thirty days or 
earlier. Return of Title IV Funds and Institutional Refund policy will use this date in their 
calculations as the end date of the payment period or enrollment period. Institutions will use the 
determination of the withdrawal date as the start of the 45 day period in which the institution 
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would make restitution of funds as calculated by the Return of Title IV or Institutional Refund 
policy calculation in accordance to State and Federal regulations. 

Determination of withdrawal from school: 
Institutions will determine that a student is no longer enrolled on the earliest of: 
	 The date student notifies the Financial Aid Office of his/her intent to withdraw from 

school. Other staff members are not authorized to accept the student’s notice of intent to 
withdraw and would be referred to the Financial Aid Office. 

	 The date the school terminates the student’s enrollment due to academic failure or for 
violation of its rules and policies stated in the catalog 

	 For California Schools: If a student is absent for three consecutive weeks and is not on an 
approved leave of absence, the student will be deemed a withdrawal even though he/she 
indicated that he/she indicated that he/she was not withdrawing. 

	 The student failed to return on schedule from an approved leave of absence. In this case, 
the withdrawal date will be the last day attended prior to the start of the approved leave of 
absence and the institutional determination of withdrawal date will be the scheduled date 
of return from the approved leave of absence.

 Withdrawal Calculation: 
Once the students has been determined by the institution to have withdrawn from the course of 
study, the institution will determine if the student received or was entitled to receive Federal 
Funds from the Title IV Funds from the Title IV Financial aid program available at the institution 
during the payment period (or enrollment period). If the answer is YES, the institution will 
conduct two distinctive and difference calculations. Those calculations are described as follows: 

RETURN OF TITLE IV FUNDS; 
This formula determines the percentage of time that the student completed of the payment period 
or enrollment period in a course at the time of the student’s withdrawal. This percentage is than 
applied to the amount of Federal Funds from the Title IV programs that the student received or 
could have received in the same payment period or enrollment period. The result of this 
calculation is defined as earned funds. If the student received more that the earned amount, the 
overpayment is called unearned funds and must be returned to the programs in the following 
order: 

1. Unsubsidized Loans from FFLEP or Direct Loan 
2. Subsidized Loans from FELP or Direct Loan 
3. Perkins Loans 
4. PLUS (Graduate Students) FFELP or Direct Loan 
5. PLUS (Parent) FFELP or Direct Loan 
6. Pell Grant 
7. Academic Competitiveness Grant (ACG) 
8. National SMART Grant 
9. Federal SEOG 

If the calculation shows that the student owes funds to the loan programs, the repayment of those 
funds will be in accordance to the terms described on the promissory note of the respective loans. 

If the calculation shows that the students owes funds to grant programs, the liability of the student 
is limited to the amount by which the original grant overpayment amount exceeds half of the total 
Title IV grants funds received by student. These funds are due from the student within 
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45 days. If not paid in that time and if the student has not made arrangements with the 
Department to pay that amount, the student will be referred to NSLDS, a central system that will 
show the student ineligible for aid until the matter is taken care of by the student. 

If the institution was required by this calculation to return to the programs some of the funds it 
has collected as tuition payment, the student’s tuition account would be adjusted accordingly. 
Therefore, if the tuition was paid in full, but if the institution returned funds to the programs, the 
tuition account will show that the student owes that amount returned by the institution to the 
programs. Those refunds will be paid to the program funds in accordance to the order listed 
above, limited to the amount of funds that came from each aid program within 45 calendar days 
from the determination of withdrawal from school. 

POST WITHDRAWAL DISBURSEMENT: 
If the calculation shows that the received less aid than what the student earned within the payment 
period or enrollment period, than the student would be notified of the amount of Grant funds to be 
used to cover institutional charges incurred by the student, or the available amount from Grant 
funds for direct disbursement of the student for other educational expenses. If loan funds are 
involved in this calculation, the institution will notify the student or parent of the loan amount it 
wishes to utilize to cover educational charges, the financial aid program where the funds are 
coming from and the student will be reminded of the responsibilities involved in receiving loan 
funds. 

Once this calculation is finalized, the institution will then perform a second and different 
calculation using the net funds retained (original tuition payments calculation is known as the 
institutional refund policy calculation. 

INSTITUTION REFUND POLICY 
This is a calculation mandated by the state agency, the accrediting agency or the institution itself. 
The formula takes into consideration the percentage of the course completed and it applies that 
percentage or the corresponding brackets to the institutional charges to determine how much the 
institution earned of those charges, how much was paid toward those charges and finally the 
amount owed, if any, by the student to the school or if there is an amount due from the institution 
as a refund to the Title IV aid program. Those refunds will be paid to the program funds in 
accordance to the order listed above, limited to the amount of funds that came from each aid 
program WITHIN 45 CALENDAR DAYS from the determination of withdrawal from school 
date. 

POLICY FOR FINANCIAL BALANCES: 

A.	 If student has a FINANCIAL BALANCE, the school will send notification of this 
balance within 10 to 21 days of the students’ withdrawal or termination date. Once 
the balance is received by the school the student will be sent a Proof of Training and 
the Record of Withdrawal. 

B.	 If the student DOES NOT HAVE A FINANCIAL BALANCE, the school will 
send the student a Proof of Training and Record of Withdrawal within 10 to 21 days 
of the students’ withdrawal or termination. 

Equipment 
If the school has given the student any returnable equipment including books or other materials, 
they shall return it to the school within 20 days following the date of their notice of cancellation.  
If the student fails to return this equipment, including books or other materials, in good condition 
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within the 20 day period, the school may deduct its documented cost for the equipment from any 
refund that may be due to the student. Once the student pays for the equipment, it is theirs to keep 
without further obligation. As stated on the front page of the enrollment agreement and in this 
catalog, beauty supplies and equipment are not returnable items due to sanitary reasons. 
Therefore, once a student received any beauty equipment, its cost is charged to their account. If 
the student cancels the agreement, the school will refund any money that was paid, less any 
deduction for registration fee and equipment received 

TUITION ADJUSTMENT SCHEDULE 
For students who enroll in and begin classes, the following schedule to tuition adjustment is 
authorized: 
PERCENTAGE LENGTH COMPLETED TO TOTAL AMOUNT OF TOTAL 
TUITION 

LENGTH OF COURSE 	 OWED TO SCHOOL 
0.01 to 4.9%  20% 
5% to 9.9% 30% 
10%  to 14.9% 40% 
15% to 24.9% 45% 
25%  to 49.9%  70%

 50% and over 100% 

Hypothetical Refund Example according to the State Pro-rata policy    
Assume that a student upon enrollment in a 1600 clock hour course, pays $6,800.00 for tuition, 
$75.00 for registration and $400.00 documented cost to school, for equipment as specified in the 
enrollment agreement and withdraws after completing 600 hours without returning the equipment  
due to sanitary reasons. The pro rata refund to the student would be $4250.00 based on the 
calculation below. If the student returns the equipment (if it was returnable) in good condition 
within 30 days following his/her withdrawal, the school would refund the charge for the 
equipment returned.  

Total Paid    $7400.00 Tuition Cost $6800.00 Paid for Instruction    $6800.00 

Less Registration Fee Hours in the Hours attended 600 
(Not refundable) 75.00 course    1600 
Less cost of un-returnable 
Equipment 525.00 Hourly charge              4.25 Tuition owed  
        600 x $4.25 $2,550.00 
Equals amount paid for 
Instruction     $6800.00 Refund due     $4250.00 

For the purpose of determining the amount the student owes for the time they attended (include 
the hours of training offered to the student but not attended by the student), you shall be deemed 
to have withdrawn from the course when any of the following occurs: 

a.	 Student notifies the school of their withdrawal or the actual date of withdrawal 
b.	 The school terminates students’ enrollment due to academic failure or for violation of its 

rules and policies 
c.	 Student failed to attend classes for a three week period.  In this case, the date of 


withdrawal shall be deemed to be the last date of recorded attendance 

d.	 Student failed to return on schedule from an approved leave of absence. Termination will 

be on the scheduled date of return 
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*** NOTE:  This institution calculates refunds according to State, Accrediting Agency and 
Federal requirements 

The calculation that results most favorable to the student is the one selected on the final 
calculation. 

SCHOOL CLOSURE/TEACH OUT POLICY: 
If the school closes permanently and ceases to offer instruction after students have enrolled or if a 
course is canceled after students have enrolled and instruction has begun, students participating in 
Title IV student financial assistance programs will be able to continue their course of study under 
the following policy: 
This school will place students in a Cosmetology school where they have a reasonable 
opportunity to resume and complete the canceled course(s) of study or a similar course of study at 
a school that offers similar educational programs and have no business connections with the 
original institution 
a. 	 The teach out will be performed by previous agreement by an institution in the same 

geographic area as the original school which provided the course of study 
b. 	 The teach out school shall not charge the students an amount greater than that to which the 

original school would have been entitled for the period covered by the teach out, and for 
which the student has not yet been paid. 

c. 	 This school shall arrange for individual notice to affected students of the availability of the 
teach out plan and diligently advertise such availability.  The agreements among other 
schools of Cosmetology may provide that teach out notices may be sent by the teach-out 
school(s). 

d. The teach out plan must be approved by the U.S. Secretary of Education. 
Students who are not recipients of Title IV federal financial aid shall be entitled to a pro-rata 
refund of tuition 

STUDENT’S RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 
The student has the right to ask the school: 
 The name of its accrediting and licensing organizations 
 About its programs, its instructional laboratory, and other physical facilities , and its faculty 
 What the total cost of tuition and all fees and the policy on refunds on students who 

withdraw 
 What financial assistance is available, including information on all federal, state, local, 

private and institutional financial aid programs. 
 What the procedures and deadlines are for submitting application for each available financial 

aid program. 
 How it selects financial aid recipients 
 How it determines financial need 
 How much of the student’s financial need, as determined by the school, has been met 
 To explain each type and amount of assistance in your financial aid package 
 What the interest rate is on any student loan the student has, the total that has to be repaid, 

when the repayment begins and what cancellation or deferment (postponement) provisions 
apply. 

 To reconsider the aid package, if the student believes a mistake has been made or if 
enrollment or financial circumstances have changed 

 How the school determines whether  the student is making satisfactory progress and what 
happens if the student is not 

 What special facilities and services are available to the handicapped 
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It is the student’s responsibility to: 
	 Review and consider all the information about the school program before enrolling 
	 Review the catalog and School Performance fact sheet prior to signing an enrollment 

agreement. 
	 Pay special attention to the application for student financial aid, and complete it accurately, 

and submit it on time to the right place.  Errors can delay or prevent the receipt of financial 
aid 

	 Know and comply with all deadlines for applying and re-applying for aid 
	 Provide documentation, corrections, and/or new information requested by either the financial 

aid officer or the agency to which you submitted the application 
	 Notify the school of any information that has changed since you applied 
	 Read, understand, and keep copies of all forma you are asked to sign 
	 Repay any student loan. When you sign a promissory note, you are agreeing to repay your 

loan 
	 Request an exit interview at the time you are leaving  the school to determine the net balance 

of your account with the school as well as the net balance of any student loan 
	 Notify the school of any change in your name, address, phone number or attendance status 

(full/part-time student). If you have student loans, you must notify your lender of these 
changed 

	 Understand the school’s policy 
	 Understand and comply with the enrollment status, financial charges, financial terms, time 

allowed to complete, refund policy and termination procedures as specified in the enrollment 
contract you will be asked to sign. 

Understand that it is your responsibility and your liability when errors are made and funds 
for which you are not eligible or are advanced to you or credited to your school account. 
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 (Ed. Code #94909 (a)(5) 

CURRICULUM FOR COSMETOLOGY……… (1600 Hours) 

The curriculum for students enrolled in a Cosmetology course shall consist of sixteen hundred 
(1,600) clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices 
constituting the art of Cosmetology pursuant to Section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology 
Act. Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom 
participation, or examination.  Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student 
of a complete service on another person or a mannequin. Please note 505 hours are devoted to 
clinic/theory experience that shall include all phases of Cosmetology. Additionally students are 
not to receive any compensation for services performed on patrons. Such technical instruction 
and practical operations shall include: 

Technical Subject      Minimum Hrs.
 Minimum 

      Technical Instruction Practical 
          Operations  

1. The Cosmetology Act and the Board’s Rules & Regulations 20 
2. 	 Cosmetology Chemistry- shall include the chemical compositions 

and the purpose of cosmetic, nail, hair, and skin care preparations. 
Shall also include the elementary chemical makeup, chemical skin 
peels, physical and chemical changes of matter. 20 

3. 	 Health & Safety/Hazardous Substances - shall include training 
in establishments, material safety, data sheets, protection from 
hazardous chemicals and preventing chemical injuries, health 
and safety laws and agencies, ergonomics, and communicable 
diseases including HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis B. 20 

4. 	 Theory of Electricity in Cosmetology -shall include the nature of 
electrical current, principles of operating electrical devices, 
and the various safety precautions used when operating

 electrical equipment.  05 
5.	   Disinfection and Sanitation - shall include procedures to protect the 

health and safety of the consumer as well as the technician. The 
ten required minimum operations shall entail performing all 
necessary functions for disinfecting instruments and equipment 
as specified in Sections 979 and 980. Disinfection should be 
emphasized throughout the entire training period and must be 
performed before the use of all instruments and equipment. 20 10 

6. Bacteriology, Anatomy and Physiology	 15 
7. 	 Wet Hair Styling - shall include hair analysis, shampooing, finger 
 pin curling and comb outs 25 200 
8. 	 Thermal Hair Styling - shall include hair analysis, straightening, 

waving, curling with hot combs and hot curling irons and blower
 styling. 

(A) Thermal Styling	  20 40 
(B) Press  and  Curl 	      20  

9. 	 Permanent Waving - shall include hair analysis, chemical and heat
 permanent waving 20 80 
10. 	 Chemical Straightening - shall include hair analysis and the use of  

sodium hydroxide and  other base solutions 20 25 
11. 	 Haircutting - shall include hair analysis and the use of the razor, 

scissors, electric clippers and thinning shears for wet and dry 
 cutting.  20 80 
12. 	 Hair Coloring and Bleaching - include hair analysis, predisposition
 tests, safety precautions, formula mixing, tinting bleaching and the 

the use of dye removers. Shall not include ANY CREDIT for color 
 rinses.  

(A) Hair Coloring	  40 50 
(B) Bleaching 	  2  
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13.  Scalp and Hair Treatments - shall include hair and scalp analysis, 
brushing, electric and manual scalp manipulation and other hair

 treatments      05  20  
14. 	  Facials 

(A) Manual - shall include cleansing, scientific manipulations
 
packs and masks. 05 
 10 
(B) Electrical - shall include the use of all electrical
 
modalities, including dermal lights and electrical apparatus 

for facials and skin care purposes, however, machines capable 

of producing electrical current shall not be used to stimulate so as 

to contract, or for the purpose of contracting the muscles of the 


 body or face. 10 
 15 
( C  )  Chemicals - shall include chemical skin peels, packs,
 
masks scrubs. Training shall emphasize that only non-living 

upper most layers of facial skin, known as the epidermis may be 

 removed and only for the purpose of beautification.  All practical
 operations must be performed in accordance with section 992 
regarding skin peeling  10 15 

15. 	  Eyebrow Arching and Hair Removal - shall include the use of wax, 
tweezers, electric or manual and depilatories for the removal of 
superfluous hair. 20 20 

16.	 Make-up - - shall include skin analysis, complete and corrective make­
up, lash and brow tinting and  the application of false eyelashes 15 10 

17.   Manicuring and Pedicuring 
(A) Water and Oil Manicures including nail analysis 
and hand arm massage. 05 15 

(B) Complete Pedicure including nail analysis and foot and 
massage 05 10 
( C )	 Artificial Nails 

(1) Liquid and Powder Brush-on	 10 Nails 50 
(2) Artificial Nail Tips 	 10 Nails 50 
(3) Nail Wraps and Repairs	 05 Nails 20 

COSMETOLOGY PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVE 
1. 	 Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating practices in California’s Cosmetology establishments. 
2. 	 Acquire the knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of hair , skin and nails. 
3. 	 Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to Cosmetology including anatomy, physiology, chemistry and 

theory. 
4. 	 Acquire business management techniques common to Cosmetology. 

COURSE OBJECTIVES: 
Perform the basic manipulative skills in the areas of hair styling, hair shaping, hair coloring, texture services, scalp and 
hair conditioning, skin and make-up, and nail care. Perform the basic analytical skills to advise clients in the total look 
concept. 

DEVELOP THE FOLLOWING ATTITUDES AND PERSONAL TRAITS 
1. 	 Learn to appreciate good workmanship common to Cosmetology 
2. 	 Maintain a respectful and courteous attitude toward the public and co-workers 
3. 	 Strive toward enhancing  traits of honesty and integrity 
4. 	 Communicate effectively 

REQUIREMENTS FOR SATISFACTORY COMPLETION OF COURSE:  Shall have completed Theory and 
Operations required by the State Barbering and Cosmetology Program with GPA of “C:  (70%) or better and 67% 
attendance. 

Ed. Code #94909(a) (5) 
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GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS: A student that has successfully completed a prescribed course of study will 
receive a diploma of completion if they have accomplished the following: 

1.	 Completed the number of hours required for the chosen course of study within the maximum time 
frame. 

2.	 Maintained a minimum academic average of 70% or better on both theory and practical work and 
67% attendance. 

3.	 Completed any and all requirements as discussed with staff. 
4.	 Paid all financial obligations 

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS: Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed high school or its 
equivalent.  A Cosmetology license will be granted by the Barbering and Cosmetology Program only after the student 
has successfully completed and graduated from the Cosmetology course described above and passed the Barbering and 
Cosmetology Examination with an overall average of 75%.  (Ed. Code #94909(a)(6) 

EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITIES: 
Hairstylist, color technician, shampoo assistant, braiders and salon owners/managers and platform artist 
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(Ed. Code #94909 (a)(5)
 
CURRICULUM FOR MANICURIST COURSE…… (400 Hours) 


The curriculum for students enrolled in a Manicurist and Pedicurist course shall consist of four hundred (400) clock 
hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of a manicurist and pedicurist.  Technical 
instruction means instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination.  Practical operation 
means the actual performance by the student of a complete service on another person. Please note 40 hours are devoted 
to clinical/ theory experience which will include all phases of Manicuring and Pedicuring. Additionally, students are 
not to receive compensation for services performed on patrons. Such technical instruction and practical operations shall 
include: 

Technical Subject      Minimum Hrs.  Minimum 
Technical Instruction Practical 

Operations 
1. The Cosmetology Act and the Barbering 
and Cosmetology Program rules and 
regulations  10 
2. 	 Cosmetology Chemistry related to manicuring 
practices 	 - shall include the chemical composition
 and purpose of nail care preparation 10 
3. 	 Health and Safety/Hazardous Substances ­
shall include training in chemicals and health establishments 
material safety data sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals 
and preventing chemical injuries, health and safety laws and 
agencies, ergonomics, communicable diseases, including 
HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis B. 15 
4. Disinfection and Sanitation - shall include procedures to protect 
the health and safety of the consumer as well as the technician. 
The ten required minimum operations shall entail performing all 
necessary functions for disinfecting instruments and equipment 
as specified in Sections 979 and 980. Disinfection should be 
emphasized throughout the entire training period and must be 
performed before the use of all instruments and equipment. 10 10 
5. 	 Bacteriology, Anatomy and Physiology 10 
6. 	 Water and Oil Manicures, including hand and arm massage 15 40 
7. 	 Complete Pedicure, including foot and ankle massage 10 60 
8. 	 Application of Artificial Nails 

(A) Acrylic: Liquid and Powder
 
Brush-Ons 15 80 Nails
 
(B) 	 Nail Tips  10  60 Nails 
(C) 	 Nail Wraps and Repairs  05 40 

MANICURIST PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVE 
1. 	 Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating practices in California Cosmetology establishments 
2. 	 Understand sterilization procedures 
3. 	 Acquire knowledge of general theory of Manicuring, including Anatomy, Physiology, Chemistry and theory 

relative to practical procedures 
4. 	 Acquire business and management techniques common to Manicurists. 

COURSE OBJECTIVES 
1. 	 Use of proper implements for Manicuring, Pedicuring and Artificial Nails 
2. 	 Develop the knowledge to recognize the various skin conditions, diseases and disorders 
3. 	 Develop knowledge of safety precautions in the use of Manicuring, Pedicuring and application of Artificial Nails 
4. 	 Successfully pass the state board examination 

DEVELOP THE FOLLOWING ATTITUDES AND PERSONAL TRAITS 

1. 	 Learn to appreciate good workmanship common to Manicuring 
2. 	 Maintain a respectful and courteous attitude toward the public and co-workers 
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3. Strive toward enhancing traits of honesty and integrity 

REQUIREMENTS FOR SATISFACTORY COMPLETION OF COURSE 
Shall have satisfactorily completed Theory and Operations required by the State Barbering and Cosmetology Program 
with a GPA of “C” 70% or better and 67% attendance 

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS: A student that has successfully completed a prescribed course of study will 
receive a diploma of completion if they have accomplished the following: 

1.	 Completed the number of hours required for the chosen course of study within the maximum time 
frame. 

2.	 Maintained a minimum academic average of 70% or better on both theory and practical work and 
67% attendance. 

3.	 Completed any and all requirements as discussed with staff 
4.	 Paid all financial obligations 

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:  Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade.
 A Cosmetology license will be granted by the Barbering and Cosmetology Program only after the student has 
successfully completed and graduated from the Cosmetology course as described above and passed the Barbering and 
Program Examination with an overall average of 75%. Ed. Code #94909(a)(6) 

EMPOYMENT OPPORTUNITIES: 
Nail technician, nail salon owner, platform artists. 
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CURRICULUM FOR INSTRUCTOR TRAINING COURSE….. (600 Hours) 

The curriculum for students enrolled in an Instructor Training course shall consist of six hundred (600) clock hours of 
technical instruction and practical operations in teaching the art of Cosmetology as defined in section 7316 of the 
Barbering and Cosmetology Act.  Technical instruction means instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom 
participation, or examination.  Practical operation shall mean the actual performance by the Instructor trainee of 
teaching techniques and principles. Please note 110 hours will be devoted to clinic/theory experience which shall 
include all phases of being an Instructor. Additionally, students are not to receive compensation for any services 
performed on patrons. 
NOTE: Per State Board – Instructor Trainee’s no longer have to obtain a license to teach Cosmetology. 
TECHNICAL SUBJECT 	    MINIMUM  MINIMUM 
       HOURS  OF  OPERATIONS
       INSTRUCTION  

1. 	 The Cosmetology Act and the Program’s Rules 
 and Regulations 10 
2. Preparatory Instruction 

(A) Instructional techniques: 
Methods of instruction, lecture, demonstration, 

performance, communication skills; instructional
 
aids, student motivation and learning 40 

(B) Organization techniques:  4 step teaching
 
method. Performance objectives; and learning
 
domains. 30 50 

( C)  Lesson planning: Subject, title, outlines,
 
development; and visual aids, etc. 60 50 

(D) Techniques of evaluation: Purpose of tests, 

types of tests, test administration; scoring and grading, 

Academic advising to students 60 


NOTE: 
While the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology does not require instruction in Administrative 
responsibilities i.e. records management and organizational and regulatory requirements, and; career and 
employment information i.e. professional ethics, effective communication and human relations, 
compensation packages and payroll deductions and licensing requirements and regulations, these subject 
areas are required by NACCAS (National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts & Sciences) and will be 
integrated  during the Instructor Trainee course of study. 

3. 	 Conducting classroom and technical instruction and 
demonstrations for three(3)or more students on all 
practices of Cosmetology including The Barbering and 
Cosmetology Program’s rules and regulations. (Shall be 
conducted under the supervision of a licensed Instructor) 140 

4. 	 Supervising and Training of Students while they are 
practicing the art of Cosmetology on a live person or mannequin

 in a classroom or laboratory.  160 

INSTRUCTOR TRAINEE PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVES 

Develop the ability to: 
1. Teach related information, manipulative operations and techniques 
2. Use various teaching aids, such in instruction sheets, visual aids and tests 
3. Provide information on specific teaching techniques used by the Instructor in a Vocational School 

ATTITUDES AND PERSONAL TRAITS 
1. The necessity for constant attitudes towards achievement of professional competency as an Instructor 
2. The importance of developing personal characteristics that contribute to success in teaching 
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COURSE OBJECTIVES; 
1. 	 Develop occupational experiences and personal characteristics that will improve and enhance the Cosmetology 

profession by providing the highest quality of instruction to students. 
2. 	 Develop lesson plans, outlines, procedures and tests that will insure student comprehension and will motivate all 

students to want to learn. 
3. 	 Development of a course content reflecting a comprehensive and correlative unit of study 
4. 	 Development of instructional materials that will facilitate set-up and preparation of classes 
5. 	 Development of a variety of supplemental teaching aids that will motivate students to want to learn the art of 

Cosmetology. 

REQUIREMENTS FOR SATISFACTORY COMPLETION OF COURSE/LICENSING:  Shall have 
satisfactorily completed Theory Hours and Operations required by Universal College of Beauty, Inc. with a GPA of 
“C” ( 70%) or better and 67% attendance.  

 GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS:  A student that has successfully completed a prescribed course of study will 
receive a diploma of completion if they have accomplished the following: 

1.	 Completed the number of hours required for the chosen course of study within the maximum time 
frame. 

2.	 Maintained a minimum academic average of 70% or better on both theory and practical work and 
67% attendance. 

3.	 Completed any and all requirements as discussed with staff 
4.	 Paid all financial obligations 

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS: Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade or its
 
equivalent and possess a valid Cosmetologist license. Per State Board, Instructor Trainees no longer have to have 

obtained a Cosmetology license to teach. 

Ed. Code #94909(a)(6) 


EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITIES:
 
Cosmetology Instructor, School Owner, Trade show producer 
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UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. 


ORGANIZATIONAL CHART
 

JOHN C. WILLIAMS
 
PRESIDENT/CEO 


Director - Vermont Campus Director - Leimert Campus
 
Kenneth J. Williams Loretta C. Williams
 

Admissions   Admissions 

Kenneth Williams   Loretta C. Williams
 

Financial Aid Officer Financial Aid Officer
 
Myesha Dickson   Myesha Dickson
 

Placement   Placement
 
Kenneth J. Williams Kenneth J. Williams


   Registrar 

Lasana Jones 
############################################################################################ 

EDUCATIONAL FACULTY QUALIFICATION LIST 

VERMONT CAMPUS 

KENNETH J. WILLIAMS 
Licensed Cosmetologist  11 years 

DONNETTE O’NEAL
Licensed Cosmetologist
Certificate of Authorization 

GWENDOLYN FIELDS-ABRAMS 
Licensed Cosmetologist 
AA Degree 

 INSTRUCTOR 
 9 years

6 years 

INSTRUCTOR 
34 years

  JOHN C. WILLIAMS
(Substitute for all campuses) 
Licensed Cosmetologist 
Licensed Instructor 

  Teaching Credential 

 INSTRUCTOR 

65 years 
63 years 

 27 years 

JASMINE WILLIAMS 
Licensed Cosmetologist 

INSTRUCTOR 
2 years 

LEIMERT CAMPUS 

CARLA PENN  INSTRUCTOR (On medical leave) 
Licensed Cosmetologist 20 years 
Instructor   20 years 

SHIRESE JONES  INSTRUCTOR 
Licensed Cosmetologist 10 years 
Instructor   12 years 

DENISE W. JOHNSON INSTRUCTOR 
Licensed Cosmetologist 23 years 
Instructor   8 months 

Ed. Code #94909 (a)(7) 
rev.: 3/2014 
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 FINANCIAL AID SECTION
 

FINANCIAL AID - CONSUMER INFORMATION
 

This institution participates in the Federal Pell Grant program (FPELL) and the Federal 
Supplemental Education Opportunity Grant Program (SEOG). NEITHER OF THESE 
PROGRAMS REQUIRES REPAYMENT. 

THIS INSTITUTION IS APPROVED TO PARTICIPATE IN THE FEDERAL LOAN 
PROGRAM, BUT HAS CHOSEN NOT TO DO SO. 

If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the 
responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund and 
that, if the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a 
refund of the moneys not paid from federal student financial aid program funds. 

Financial Aid Disclosures: 
In an effort to assist you in making a more educated decision about enrolling, this institution 
provides the following disclosures pursuant to federal and state financial aid programs: 
 California State – BPPE School Performance Fact Sheet 
 Federal Disclosures 

o Right-to-Know Act. 
o Gainful employment 
o Admissions Disclosure 
o Crime Statistics report and procedures – Clery Act 
o Drug and alcohol abuse policy 
o FERPA (Release of Information Authorization) 
o Textbook disclosure 
o GED Classes availability 
o Voting information 

Financial Aid Mechanism 
Financial aid is a mechanism that reduces the out-of-pocket costs that the student and/or parents 
must pay to obtain a specific postsecondary education. Presented differently, financial aid is 
money made available to help students meet the cost of college attendance. Financial aid includes 
grants and loans. Financial aid is awarded to students who have “need”. Need is the difference 
between the amount of money that the family will be expected to contribute to meet student costs 
and the cost of education at this school. 

Compliance Statement 
The Federal Privacy Act of 1974 requires that students be notified that the disclosure of his/her 
social security number is MANDATORY. The social security number is used to verify students’ 
identities to process the awarding of funds, the collection of funds and the tracing of individuals 
who have borrowed funds from federal, state or private programs. 

The U.S. Department of Education Title IV Student Financial Aid Program: 
This institution is approved for and does participate in the following USDE Title IV programs, 

intended to defray the costs of attending for those students eligible for financial aid 

considerations: 

Federal PELL Grant Program (FPELL) $5,550. maximum annual limit  (Does not require 

repayment)
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Federal PELL Grant Program 
Funds received under this program ARE NOT subject to repayment from the student 

DEADLINE:  FAFSA applications must be received by June 30 of the award year, for which the 
application is intended for. SAR or ISIR must be submitted to the financial aid office by 
September 29 of the award year from which aid is requested, or the student’s last day of 
enrollment in 2013-2014 whichever comes first.  A valid ISIR required signatures of student, 
spouse and/or parents, when the ISIR has been corrected 
RENEWAL PROCESS: A FPELL Grant award received for one award year, (July 1 to June 30 
of the following year) is not automatically renewed for the next award year.  Student’s must re­
apply for the FPELL Grant and submit a copy of the new SAR or ISIR to the Financial Aid 
Office. 
MAXIMUM ANNUAL AWARD: $5,550. 
DISBURSEMENT/ISSUANCE Made on the basis of per payment period via a check payable to 
the student and direct credit to the student’s tuition account. 

Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG) 
Funds received under this program ARE NOT subject to repayment from the student 
DEADLINE:  Made on the basis of per payment period via a check to the student or via the 
student’s tuition account.  Priority for FSEOG funds will be given to those students with the 
lowest expected family contribution who will receive FPELL Grants.  Because of this 
institution’s policy of year round enrollment, funds will be allocated on a first-come, first serve 
basis for those individuals meeting this criteria.  Professional judgment may be used for certain 
Exceptions based upon extenuating circumstances with appropriate documentation. Please refer 
to FSEOG for selection criteria. 
The institutional participation in the FSEOG is limited to the amount of funds given to the 
institution for an entire award year (July 1 to June30).  Since the funds are limited it is practically 
impossible to award FESOG to all students who apply for aid.  Therefore, the institutional policy 
to select FSEOG recipients is as follows: 
1. 	 Students are selected from a group of students starting in school on the same starting date.  

This institution has a continuing enrollment process in which student’s may start school each 
TUESDAY of each month, subject to change depending on the school’s schedule.  In order to 
ensure a fair distribution of funds throughout the entire aware year, the institution will make 
SEOG awards using data from the year preceding the current year. 

2. 	 As of July 1, 2000, the first selection of SEOG recipients will be made from student’s with 
“exceptional need”, which are defined as student’s that have an Expected Family Contributed 
(EPC) of zero and that would otherwise be eligible for the FPELL Grant Program during the 
same year. 

3. 	 If enrollment figures change, and/of additional funds become available to the institution, a 
second selection will be made from those student’s eligible for the FPELL Grant Program 

with lowest Expected Family Contribution that enrolled during the last quarter of the award year. 
All of the selections will be made from student’s whose file has been completed with no issued 
pending regarding the student’s eligibility for Federal Aid.  Incomplete files will not be 
considered in the selection criteria due to possible lack of documentation.  Awards will be made 
as long as funds are available throughout the award year. 

STUDENT ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
To be eligible for financial aid, a student must: 
1. 	 Be admitted as a regular student 
2. 	 Be enrolled or accepted for enrollment in an eligible program on at least half time basis 
3. 	 Be a citizen or an eligible non-citizen 
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4. 	 Not owe a refund on a Pell Grant or SEOG at any school 
5. 	 Not be in default on Perkins Loan or Stafford Loan/SLS/PLUS at any school 
6. 	 Have financial need 
7. 	 Make satisfactory progress (as defined by the school’s policy in the course of study) 
8. 	 Be registered for selective service (if a male and born on or after January 1, 1960) 
9. 	 Have a signed statement of updated information 
10. 	Have a high school diploma, GED, or have demonstrated the ability-to-benefit 
11. 	Agree to use any federal student aid received solely for educational purposes 

FINANCIAL AID PRINCIPLES 
1. 	 This school will work with schools, community groups, and other educational institutions in 

support of the national goal of equality of educational opportunities. 
2. 	 The school expects parents to contribute financially according to their means. Students are 

also expected to contribute from their own earnings and assets, including borrowing against 
future earnings. 

3. 	 Financial aid will be offered after determining whether the family’s resources are insufficient 
to meet the student’s educational expenses.  The amount of financial aid will not exceed the 
amount needed to meet the difference between the student’s total educational expenses and 
family’s resources. 

4. 	 In awarding funds to eligible students, the amount and type of self -help will be related the 
circumstances of the student and the highest amount of grant assistance will be offered to 
students with the least ability to pay. 

This school does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, creed, color, nationality, sex, 
ethnic origin or age in their admission policies or in access to employment or administration of 
their programs. 

APPLICATION PROCEDURES
 
Financial Aid applications for this institution consists of the following: 

Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Forms and assistance in completing them are 
available at this school during school hours.  This form needs to be completed as instructed on the 
form.  Documentation to substantiate the date entered on the form may be required by 
Financial Aid Office. In addition to the FAFSA, the institution requires a series of forms that 
apply to the individual student aid program and to the student’s individual family circumstances. 

Determining Need: 
The information you report on the FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) form when 
you apply for aid, is used in a formula established by U.S. Congress that calculated your 
Expected Family Contribution (EFC). This institution utilizes the FAFSA for students applying 
for aid. This form will be processed by a contractor of the U.S. Department of Education at no 
cost to the student. The results will be provided in the form of an Electronic Student Aid Report 
(SAR) with the calculation of the EFC. 

Cost of Attendance: 
This institution uses the annual budgets published by the CALIFORNIA STUDENT AID 
COMMISSION.  They estimate the amount it will cost a student to go to school during an 
academic year of approximately 9 months as stated below: 
Elements included in the budget  Tuition    Actual cost 

Registration Fee Actual cost
   Books & Supplies Actual cost 
 Living cost allowance (monthly figures) Student living 
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  With parents  off campus 
Room and Board    $4,347    $10,063 
Transportation 1,071 1,206 

Personal/misc. 3,114 2,853 
(The cost of uniforms is included in the personal allowance) 

Award Concept, Selection of Recipients & Packing Criteria: 
The institution does not receive enough Campus-Based funds to satisfy all of the student financial 
needs. Therefore, the school emphasizes the SELF-HELP CONCEPT of student financial 
assistance. The SELF-HELP CONCEPT is on a first-come, first served basis when awarding 
eligible applicants. The SELF-HELP CONCEPT lists types of financial assistance in the 
following order: 

1. Family contribution 
2. Other resources 
3. Federal Pell Grant 

The school awards from the Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grants in accordance 
with the following policy: The institution participation in the FSEOG is limited to the amount of 
funds given to the institution for an entire award year (July 1 to June30). 

Due to limited amount of funds available to the institute, it is literally impossible to award 
FESOG to all students applying for aid. Therefore, the institutional policy to select FSEOG 
recipients is as follows: 
This institution has a continuing enrollment process in which students may start each Tuesday of 
each. In order to ensure a fair distribution of funds through the entire award year, the institution 
will make SEOG awards using data from the year presiding the current year by using student 
enrollment, EFC and Pell Grant date to determine how to distribute the SEOG funds available. 

Based on last year’s date, the institution expects an enrollment of 70 new students meeting the 
“exceptional need” criteria to be enrolled during the 7/1/13 to 6/30/14 period. Therefore, the  
awards to those students will be $200.00 through the entire period. As of July 2, 2013, the first 
selection of SEOG recipients will be made from students with “exceptional need”. Students with 
“exceptional need” are defined by this institution as student that have an expected family 
contribution (EFC) of zero (00000) that will otherwise be eligible for the FPELL Grant Program 
during the same award year. If enrollment figures change, and/or additional funds become 
available to the institution, a second selection will be made from those students ineligible for 
FPELL Grant Program with lowest EFC that enrolled during the last quarter of the award year 
(March-June). 

Both selections will be made from students, whose file has been completed, with no issues 
pending regarding the student’s eligibility for Federal Aid. Incomplete files will not be considered 
in the selection criteria due to possible lack of documentation. Awards will be made long as funds 
are available throughout the award year. 

DEFINITIONS: The following definitions correspond to some common terms used within 
the financial aid terminology. 

ACADEMIC YEAR:  A period of not less than 26/30weeks of instructional time with a minimum 
of 900 clock hours of instruction for a full time student. The midpoint of the academic year shall 
be a minimum of 13/15 weeks and at least 450 clock hours. In effect all students enrolled in 
courses with an academic year scheduled to be completed in less than 26/30 weeks, regardless of 
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the number of clock hours would have aid eligibility reduced in proportion to the number of 
weeks and hours in the course of study in relation to the academic year. 

CLOCK HOUR:  A period of 50 to 60 minutes of supervised instruction during a 60 minute 
period 

COST OF ATTENDANCE: Institutional charges for tuition, fee, books and supplies in addition 
to an estimated cost to the student for living allowances as room, board, transportation and 
personal combined compose the cost of attendance for an academic year or less as the cost of 
attendance or educational budget. 

CREDIT BALANCE: A credit balance occurs when tuition payments using Title IV funds have 
been received by the institution in excess of the amount of charges assessed to the student. Credit 
balances are paid within 14 business days from the day the credit balance was generated. Students 
must be responsible for budgeting their own funds and for securing that the funds are used for 
education related expenses. FSA regulations refer to the amount of aid that exceeds the allowable 
charges as a credit balance. 

DEPENDENT STUDENT: She/he is an individual that does not meet the independent student 
criteria. This student is required to submit with his/her, student and parent’s income an 
application, student and parent’s income and assets information. Parent information relates to the 
parent that provides the majority of the student support when parents are separated or divorced. 

DEPENDENT: He/she is an individual other than the spouse that has been supported and will 
continue to be supported (50% or more of the individual personal expenses) by the student and/or 
spouse. If that individual is and will continue to be supported by the student’s parent(s), that 
individual would be a dependent of the parent (s) NOT a dependent of the student. 

EXPECTED FAMILY CONTRIBUTION (EFC) is the application of the U.S. Congressional 
formula to the student’s family income and assets entered in the FAFSA and used as the 
calculated amount that a family is expected to contribute to offset the student cost of attendance. 

FINANCIAL AID ELIGIBILITY CITIZEN/NON CITIZEN:  The student must be one of the 
following to receive Federal Student Aid: 
 U.S. Citizen 
 U.S. National 
 U.S. permanent resident who has an I-151 or I-551 (Alien Registration Receipt Card- Green 

Card) 
 Departure Record (I-94) from the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) 

showing one of the following designations: 
 Refugee 
 Asylum Granted 
 Parole for a minimum of one year that has not expired 
 T-Visa holder (T-1, T-2, T-3etc) 
 Cuban-Haitian entrant, Status Pending 
 Holder of a valid certification or eligibility letters from the Department of Human Services 

showing a designation of “Victim of Human Trafficking”. 

IF YOU ARE IN THE U.S. UNDER ONE OF THE FOLLOWING CONDITIONS, YOU 
ARE NOT EILGIBLE FOR FEDERAL AID: 
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 F1 or F2 student visa 

 J1 or J2 exchange visitor visa
 
 G series visa ( pertaining to international organizations) 


INDEPENDENT STUDENT: An individual who meets one of the following criteria: 
1.	 (45) Were you born before January 1, 1988 
2.	 (46) As of today, were you married? (Separated but not 

divorced) 
3.	 (47) As of July 1, 2011 will you be graduate or professional 

student? 
4.	 (48) Is currently serving on active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces 

for the purposes other than training? 
5.	 (49) Are you a veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces? 
6.	 (50) Do you have children who will receive more than half of 

their support from you between July 1, 2011 and June 30, 2012? 
7.	 (51) Do you have dependents (other than your children or 

spouse) who live with you and who receive more than half of 
their support from, you now and through June 30, 2012? 

8.	 (52) At any time since you turned age 13, were both of your 
parents deceased, were you in foster care or were you a 
dependent or ward of the court? 

9.	 (53) As determined by a court in your state are you or were you 
an emancipated minor? 

10. (54) As determined by a court in your state of legal residence, 
are you or were you in legal guardianship? 

11. (55) At any time on or after July 1, 2010, did your high school 
or school district liaison determine that you were an 
unaccompanied youth who was homeless? 

12. (56) At any time on or after July 1, 2010 did the director of an 
emergency shelter or transitional housing program funded by the 
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development 
determines that you were an unaccompanied youth who was 
homeless 

13. (57) At any time on or after July1, 2010, did the director of a 
runaway or homeless youth basic center or transitional living 
program determine that you were an unaccompanied youth who 
was homeless or were self-supporting and at risk of being 
homeless? 

PARENT(S):  For the purpose of the financial aid programs, a “parent” is mother and/or father or 
adoptive parents, stepparent or legal guardian - not foster parents. 

PAYMENT PERIOD:  450 hours and 13 weeks for courses of 900 hours and 26 instructional 
weeks or more. It is the midpoint of the program for courses of less than 900 hours and 26 weeks. 

NEED: Financial need is the amount left over after subtracting the expected family contribution 
from your cost of attendance. 

WITHDRAWALS:  Students are officially withdrawn on date of notification, date terminated by 
the institution, date of three consecutive weeks of absences or date when the student failed to 
return from an approved leave of absence. 
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RECOVERIES 
Recoveries resulting from unearned Title IV funds are due from the student and must be paid in 
accordance to the terms stated in the promissory note of the student loans. If funds from the grant 
programs still due from the student, those funds are payable at the rate of 50%. Grant funds due 
from the student must be repaid within 45 days from the student’s withdrawal date. Students may 
make repayment arrangements with the U.S. Department of Education within the 45 days and 
present proof of such arrangements to the institution. If no repayment is received nor 
arrangements are presented, the institution will refer the debt to the U.S. Department of 
Education. The student will no longer be eligible for aid until informed by the U.S. Department of 
Education. 

REFUNDS 
If any refunds are due based on the Return of Title IV calculation or the institutional refund 
policy calculation, any refunds will be made as soon as possible but not later than 45 days from 
the determination of withdrawal dare in the order stated in section CFR34 section 668.2 2. The 
order of refunds is: (1) Unsubsidized Loans from FFELP or Direct Loan, 2) Subsidized  Loans 
from FFELP or Direct Loan, 3) Perkins Loans, 4(PLUS (Graduate Students) FELP or Direct 
Loans, 5)PLUS (Parent) FFELP or Direct Loan, 6) Pell Grant, 7) Academic Competitiveness 
Grant (ACG), 8) National SMART Grant, 9) Federal SEOG. This order would apply in 
accordance to the aid programs available at the institution. 

IF a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the 
responsibility to repay the full amount of loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and 
if the student has received student federal aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the 
moneys not paid from federal student financial aid program funds. 

TRANSFER STUDENT (FINANCIAL AID TRANSCRIPT REQUIRED): 
A student, who attended a Post-secondary institution before enrollment at this institution, is 
required to provide a Financial Aid history from each of the institutions attended within the last  
six months before the enrollment at this institution.  If a financial aid history is required, no aid 
may be advanced from the loan proceeds. Aid from other programs may be advanced to cover the 
first payment period. No additional will be available to the student until all Financial Aid history 
are received by this institution. 

STUDENT TRANSFER REQUESTS: 
When a student requests a transfer to another school, the institution will prepare all of the 
academic and financial documentation requested by the student FOR A CHARGE NOT TO 
EXCEED $15.00. 

VERIFICATION PROCESS: 
Federal regulations 34 C.F.R., Part 668, Subpart E, and dated March 14, 1986 executing 
legislation 20 U.S.C. 1094 governing Title IV programs require schools to verify applicant 
reported data. These regulations require schools to develop written policies for verification.  The 
school is required to make these policies available to all applicants for financial aid, as well as 
prospective students upon request.  This procedure is part of the Admissions and Counseling 
process. 

To follow the regulations and achieve consistency governing this process, the following 
verification policies apply to all applicants for Title IV programs.  Under the regulations, the 
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school will not disburse FPELL or Campus-Based aid nor certify Stafford/PLUS loan 
applications, until completion of the verification process. 

WHO MUST BE VERIFIED: The policy of this school is to verify those students by CPS 
(USDE contractor processing the FAFSA and calculating the EFC) as shown in the ISIR or SAR 
comment section indicated with an (*) next to the EFC. The institution’s Financial Aid Office 
(FAO) may opt to select an applicant for verification even though it is not selected by CPS. 

VERIFICATIONS EXCLUSIONS: Applicants excluded from verification include: 
 Death of the student 
 Not an aid recipient 
 Applicant verified by another school. Your FAFSA data must be the same as it was at the 

previous school, and the prior school must provide a letter to this school stating that it 
verified student’s application and providing the same transaction number of the pertinent 
valid ISIR. 

	 Post enrollment. If you were selected for verification after ceasing to be enrolled at this 
school and all (including late) disbursements were made. 

REQUIRED VERIFICATION ITEMS: Different data items apply to different applicants 
depending upon student dependency status and the Title IV programs used. Data items include: 

For all applicants: 

 Household size 

 Number in college 

 Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP, formerly food stamps) 

 Child support paid


     For non-tax filers: 

 Income earned from work 


  For tax filers: 

 Adjusted gross income (AGI) 

 US income tax paid 

 Education credits 

 Untaxed IRA distributions 

 Untaxed pensions 

 IRA deductions 

 Tax exempt interest
 

DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED: 
AGI, taxes paid, and other tax data 
The Department encourages students and parents to use the IRS Data Retrieval process to import 
date from their tax return and not change it.  It is the fastest, easiest, and most secure method of 
meeting verification requirements. Fr the retrieved data to be acceptable documentation of tax 
data, it is necessary that neither students nor parents change the data after it is transferred 
from the IRS – if the data is changed, the student/parent will need to provide other 
documentation as explained below. 

If students cannot or will not use IRS Data Retrieval, either at initial FAFSA filing or though the 
FOTW correction process, they must document AGI, taxes paid and untaxed income by providing 
an IRS tax return transcript. 
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There are a few ways to request a tax transcript: online at www.irs.gov, by calling 1-800-908­
9946 or by mailing or faxing the paper form 4506T-EZ which can be printed out from the IRS 
website. 

Students or parents who file an amended return cannot use the IRS Retrieval process. Instead they 
must request a tax return transcript, but because that document only contains the information on 
the original return they must also request a tax account transcript, which contains only the data 
that was altered. Both documents together can then be used to complete verification. If the tax 
filer chooses to order them on paper, they must use IRS form 4506T rather than Form 4506T-EZ. 

Also students and parents are required to complete and sign the verification worksheets 
developed by the Department which serve as signed statements and as verification of household 
size, number in college, receipt of SNAP benefits, child support paid, and income earned from 
work for non-tax filers. There are two distinctive verification forms. One is for independent  
students where student and spouse(if applicable) data is required. The second form is for 
dependent students where student and parental data is required. 

Household size: 
To document the household size (see instructions on FAFSA questions 72 and 93), the student 
needs to provide a statement signed by them and, if dependent, at least one parent that gives the  
name, age, and relationship to the student of each person in the household. If the student 
completed the Department’s verification worksheet, no further documentation for this item 
is required. 

Number in college: 
You can document this item (see instructions on FAFSA questions 73 and 94) with a statement 
signed by the student (and if they are dependent, at least one parent) that gives the name and age  

of each person in the household who is enrolled at least half time in an eligible college (excluding 
the parents of dependent students). The statement must also give the name of each college, and it 
can be written to document household size as well. Completion of the Department’s sample 
verification worksheet will satisfy the requirements for both items. 

SNAP benefits (food stamps) 
IF the ISIR indicated that someone in the parents’ or student’s household received SNAP benefits 
in 2010 or 2011, the student must provide signed statement indicating receipt of the benefit. 
A completed verification worksheet from the Department does this. The institutional FAO at 

their option may require the student to show documentation to satisfy this requirement. 

Child support paid: 
If the ISIR indicated that the student or parent paid child support in 2011, the student will need to 
provide a statement signed by the student, or, if they are dependent, either parent and giving the 
annual amount of the support, the names of those who paid it and whom it was paid to and the 
name(s) of the child(ren) it was paid for. A completed verification worksheet accomplishes 
this. 

TIME PERIOD FOR PROVIDING DOCUMENTATION: 
Applicants must provide the required documentation within 120 days from the last day of 
attendance or September 27, 2014, whichever is earlier. 
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APPLICANT RESPONSIBILITIES: To be able to receive Title IV funds we require 
applicants to provide requested information during the time period(s) specified in these policies. 
Applicants must certify that the following data items are correct as listed on the original 
application; of if not correct, must update the data items, as of the date of verification: 
 Number of family members in the household 
 Number of family members in the household now enrolled as at least halt-time students 

on postsecondary institutions 
 Change in dependency status 

Federal aid applicants of any Federal Student Aid program, whose dependency status changes 
during the Award Year must file a correction application. This process does not apply is the 
change occurs due to marriage. However, if the institutional FAO determines  
that an update due to marriage is required to better represent the students ability to pay for 
college, the data must be updated changing all applicable elements on the FAFSA. 

CONSEQUENCES OF FAILULRE TO PROVIDE DOCUMENTATION WITHIN 
THE SPECIFIED TIME PERIOD(S): If the student cannot provide all required 
documentation within 120 days from the ISIR processed date or by September 27, 2013, 
whichever is the earlier, the school cannot complete the verification process. The school  
would advise the applicants via regular mail or by email that the student is no longer eligible 
for the preliminary financial aid awards offered to the student. The school then gives the 
applicants the following options: 
 The student may continue training on a cash payment basis 
 The student may withdraw, or 
 The student may make other financial arrangements to cover the school cost. 

INTERIM DISBURSEMENTS: The school may not make any interim disbursements. The  
      Student must complete verification before disbursement of any Title IV funds. 

TOLERANCES:  Any discrepancy greater than $25,000 MUST be resolved. 

NOTIFICATION OF RESULTS OF VERIFICATION: The school shall notify the 
applicant of the results of the verification process within 30 days of the student’s submission. 
The notification will take place using a new, if changed, award letter stating the awards by aid 
program amounts and expected disbursement dates.  On this document the student and the 
parent has an opportunity to cancel all or part of the award from any loan program. 

REFERRAL PROCEDURE: The school shall forward the Secretary of Education, a referral 
of discovered fraud cases. 
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