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A MESSAGE FROM THE DIRECTOR 
 
If you are seeking a career that is creative, stimulating, and ever-evolving Christine K Beauty School will provide the 
foundation to prepare you for a successful future in the beauty industry. 
 
Located in Silicon Valley in San Jose, California, Christine K Beauty School has programs for aspiring Cosmetologists, Barbers, 
Estheticians, Manicurists, Permanent Make-up Artists, and Massage Therapists. 
 
We invite you to visit our school, tour our facility and discuss your career with our staff and faculty. 
 
                                , Director. 
 
 
 

APPROVAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT 
 
Christine K Beauty School is a private institution that is approved to operate by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 
Education. Approval to operate in the State of California is based on provisions of the California Private Postsecondary 
Education Act (CPPEA) 0f 2009, which is effective January 1, 2010. The Act is administered by the Bureau for Private 
Postsecondary Education, under the Department of Consumers Affairs. The Bureau can be reached at: P.O. Box 980818, 
West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818. 
 
 

INSTRUCTIONAL PROGRAMS OFFERED 
 

The following courses are approved: 
 

Cosmetology  1600 hours 
Barbering  1500 hours 
Esthetician    600 hours 
Manicuring    400 hours 
Massage Therapy    600 hours 
Permanent Make-up 

 
California statute requires that a student, who successfully completes a course of study, be awarded an appropriate 
diploma or certificate verifying the fact. A career in Cosmetology, Barbering, Manicuring, or Esthetics, requires completion 
of the respective course at this school and subsequent passing of the respective state licensing exam. Prospective enrollees 
are encouraged to review this catalog, visit the physical facilities of the school and to discuss personal, educational, and 
occupational plans with school personnel prior to enrolling or signing enrollment agreements. Prospective students are also 
encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to them prior to signing an enrollment 
agreement. Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the 
institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at P.O. Box 980818, Sacramento, CA 95798, 
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/, (916) 431-6959. Christine K Beauty School currently does not have sponsored programs, 
government or otherwise, to provide grants or to pay for portions of tuition and fees. The Board of Barbering and 
Cosmetology set minimum standards for each program of study. The minimum number of class hours and the total class 
hours for each course outlined in the Board's Rules and Regulations booklet must be met to qualify the student for 
licensure. 
 
NOTE: No state licenses are issued for Massage Therapy and Permanent Make-up. There is no state licensing exam 
administered by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. 
 
All information in the content of this school catalog is current and correct and as so certified as true by Christine Khuu. 
 
                                , Director. 
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MISSION AND OBJECTIVE 
 
The mission of Christine K Beauty School is to provide quality education and techniques in the field of Cosmetology, 
Barbering, Massage Therapy, Skin Care, Nail Technology, and Permanent Make-up. The objective of the school is to not only 
provide the necessary education, but also help build good character and develop good work ethic, all of which will serve to 
enrich students’ future endeavors in these fields. 
The institution will inspire confidence and make learning easy in a supportive environment. The institution will help with 
students’ individual needs providing dedicated instructors who offer guidance. The institution monitors its curriculum and 
training continuously to maintain these objectives as mandated by the state Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. In 
addition, its staff is dedicated in providing the best possible training that meets all state Board's curriculum requirements. 
 
 
ADMISSIONS / PROCEDURES 
 
The ability to benefit from training at the school will be determined by taking and passing an entrance examination, a 
personal interview, and any other criteria that might be appropriate on an individual basis. A prospective enrollee must 
take an entrance examination before start of course. To be eligible for enrollment, one must be beyond the age of 
compulsory attendance in the state of California, 17 years of age, and either have a high school diploma, or have an 
Educational Development Certificate (GED), or pass the ability to benefit exam. The institution’s Ability-to-Benefit 
examination is referred to as the Admissions Test. Students may enroll any day before upcoming course start dates. All 
applicants will be given a tour of the facilities prior to their enrollment. 
 
 
INSTRUCTIONAL LANGUAGE 
 
All courses at Christine K Beauty School are taught in English and Spanish. 
 
 
INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS 
 
International students are welcome to apply to the school. However, the institution does not provide English-as-a-Second-
Langue instructions or services. Additionally, the institution does not provide visa services, nor does it vouch for student 
status, and any associated charges. As with all other students entering the institution, prospective international students 
must demonstrate English proficiency through the entrance exam and enrollment interview. Since instruction in Spanish is 
available at the school, students who wish to study the course in Spanish must demonstrate Spanish language proficiency 
through a Spanish entrance exam and enrollment interview with one of the institution’s Spanish-speaking faculty members. 
 
 
RULES AND REGULATIONS 
1.  The student is required to treat patrons, instructors, and fellow students with professional conduct and courtesy. 
2.  Tardiness is considered unexcused time as it is deemed unprofessional behavior. Students not physically present in 

class, per their class time, are considered tardy. Unexcused tardiness is further discussed in the school's rules and 
regulations. 

3.  All absences must be reported. Specific policies regarding absences are found in the school's rules and regulations 
issued to each student prior to start of course. 

4.  The school does not tolerate any unprofessional behavior. Such behavior includes lack of professional demeanor; 
alcoholic beverage consumption or possession; smoking, eating, drugs, drinking on clinic floors or in classrooms; 
stealing; willful destruction of school property; or refusal of clinic work. Detailed policies are outlined in the 
school's rules and regulations and other documents issued to the student prior to start of course. 

5.  Violations of rules and regulations can result in probation, suspension, or termination. 
6.  Makeup work will be assigned by way of oral, written or practical assignment, depending on the judgment of the 

school as to which type of assignment would best benefit the student. Students may have to complete more than 
one assignment to meet their requirements. 

7.  Leave of absences must be requested in writing by the student and pre-approved by school administration. 
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8.  Attendance: Students need to maintain a good attendance schedule as they will benefit from the School's training. 
Students are highly discouraged from enrolling if they cannot maintain good attendance. 

 
 
SCHOOL UNIFORM 
 
Uniform requirements are issued to each student prior to start of course.  

Slacks are to be solid black and full length 
Preferably wear comfortable closed toe black shoes; for safety reasons, do not wear heels more than 2 inches high. 

 
 
CLASS SCHEDULES 
 
Classes start on Monday of each week at the location listed on the front of the catalog. Students may apply for enrollment 
on any day of the school calendar. The school is closed on Saturdays and the following holidays: New Year's Day, Fourth of 
July, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day. A special holiday may be declared should there be any emergencies or special 
reasons. Holy days of all religious beliefs are allowed. 
 
The following class schedules are as follows. Please note that these schedules are subject to change and the current class 
schedules are provided by the school during the first day of class or upon request. 
 
Day Schedule: 

Sunday 8:30a.m. – 5:00p.m. Students are allowed a 30 minute lunch 
Monday through Thursday 8:30a.m. – 5:00p.m. break when schedule exceeds 6 hours. 

 
Night Schedule: 

Monday and Tuesday 5:00p.m. – 9:00p.m. 
Wednesday and Thursday 5:00a.m. – 10:00p.m. Students are allowed a 15 minute break. 

 
 
FACILITIES AND EQUIPMENT 
 
The school occupies approximately 3,400 square feet and can accommodate approximately an average of 75 students with 
on-going full-time, part-time classes, day and night. The parking lot is located in front and side of the school for students, 
clients and visitors. The school is divided into a reception area, office, theory and practical rooms, facial room, lockers, 
students’ and staff lounge, supply room, and restrooms. Its practice areas simulate salon conditions to help students learn-
by-doing, with modern equipment and a variety of supplies that help enhance the students’ product knowledge. 
 
 
GRADUATION / DIPLOMA 
 
Students shall maintain satisfactory progress in regard to attendance and grades in addition to meeting the graduation 
requirements of successfully completing all required theoretical studies, practical operations, a mock examination and a 
minimum cumulative total of 1500 clock hours encompassing theory and practical training, with a score of no less than 70% 
“C” to graduate. 
 
 
STATE EXAMINATION 
 
Applicable students are eligible for examination given by the state, provided they have completed the selected course, are 
17 years of age and have completed the 10

th
 grade or equivalent. Cost varies by examination type. Passing an examination 

entitles the graduate issuance of a license. Students must furnish their own model and pay their own traveling expenses. 
State cosmetology practical examinations are conducted in Los Angeles and Fairfield. 
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NON-DISCRIMINATION POLICY 
 
Christine K Beauty School, in its admission, instruction and graduation policies, practices no discrimination on the basis of 
ethnic origin, color, race, age, creed, sex, religion, financial status, country or area of origin or residence. 
 
 
FACULTY QUALIFICATIONS 
 
Instructional staff members possess current state licenses issued by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. All instructors 
possess a minimum of three years' experience in the beauty industry. 
 
 
STUDENT SERVICES 
 
The faculty and staff are available to advise students on any problem which could have an adverse effect on their ability to 
successfully complete the course. Problems which are beyond the scope of the staff will be handled on a referral basis by 
various agencies specializing in specific areas.  
 
 
DISTANCE LEARNING 
 
Christine K Beauty School does not provide distance learning. All courses are taught on campus at the primary and sole 
location of the school located at 1394 Tully Road Suite 203 & 204, San Jose, CA 95122. 
 
 
HOUSING 
 
The School does not maintain or assume responsibility for student housing, nor does it make specific recommendations 
regarding housing, however, some accommodations are available within the local communities and information is provided 
as available to the School via the Internet or media publications. According to rentals.com, rental properties in San Jose, CA 
start at approximately $770.00 per month with a median cost of $1025 per month. 
 
 
LEARNING RESOURCES 
 
The learning resources area essentially has the supplemental materials listed in the syllabi that students receive. This 
benefits even the students who cannot afford to buy supplemental materials. All Milady texts and study materials that 
students use in class are also available at the learning resources area, including reference materials such as Cutting Hair the 
Vidal Sassoon Way, Pure Color by Vidal Sassoon, and Modern Haircut Bauhaus by Vidal Sassoon. The learning resource 
center also helps students improve their knowledge of present popular styles and trends.  
 
 
CAREER OPPORTUNITIES 
 
A licensed Cosmetologist, Barber, Esthetician, Manicurist, Massage Therapist, or Permanent Make-up Artist may choose 
from a variety of jobs within the beauty industry. Employment opportunities are available in individual salons, salon chains, 
department stores, supply houses, and day spas. Estheticians, Massage Therapist and Holistic Health Practitioners can seek 
out positions in medical arenas, such as medi-spas, dermatology offices, cosmetic surgery offices and chiropractic offices. 
 
 
PLACEMENT ASSISTANCE 
 
Job placement assistance is provided to graduates and students at no charge. This institution works closely with salon 
owners and employers throughout the local area so that licensees are given an opportunity to secure a position that is 
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suitable for them. The school helps students improve their interview skills, arrange for visits from potential employers to 
the school, and post listings of various salons in the area that are hiring. Job placement assistance remains an option for 
students who have been out of school for awhile. Graduates are encouraged to keep in touch with the school and provide 
employment updates, and are always welcome to call for any information the school can assist with. The school does not 
guarantee placement to any student. 
 
 
RECORD RETENTION 
 
Christine K Beauty School is required to maintain student records at its principle place of business within the state of 
California for at least five years after a student withdraws or completes a course. As such, students should keep their copies 
of record in a safe place. After five years, student records will not be retained. 
 
Student practice and theory hours are recorded daily on individual practical operation sheets (also known as time cards). 
Student progress reports are distributed monthly and if specifically requested, may be issued on a more frequent basis. 
 
 
CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY STATEMENT 
 
Under the 1986 Reauthorization of the Higher Education Act, educational institutions are required to have a program or 
plan of drug prevention in effect as of July 1, 1987. This program must be available to students and staff members. 
Educational institutions may approach one or more organizations that assist the general public (a hospital, for example) 
with drug problems. The organization(s) may give the institution a referral to contact and the school would then be 
considered in compliance with the drug prevention requirement. 
 
Some drug abuse and treatment agencies are state-supported and usually have low-cost fees if any. This institution 
suggests the use of the following agency: 

Good Samaritan Behavioral Health 
2425 Samaritan Dr 

San Jose CA 95124-3908 
408-559-2000 

 
 
PRIVACY / RELEASE OF INFORMATION 
 
The school releases student information only when given prior authorization by the student through the release of 
information form. In the event the student is a minor, the information is released to parents. In all cases, when any record 
is being reviewed, a designated school representative must be present. Students, or the parent or guardian of a student 
who is a minor, are guaranteed the right to access their files by setting up an appointment with the administrative office. 
The Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE) automatically has the right of access to student records. 
 
 
SEXUAL HARRASSMENT POLICY 
 
All students and employees should be aware that Christine K Beauty School strongly disapproves of any conduct that 
constitutes sexual harassment and will take disciplinary measures to ensure compliance. All complaints will be investigated 
and appropriate action will be taken. Corrective action must be taken immediately. All sexual assaults must be reported to 
the Christine K Beauty School Director. 
 
 
SATISFACTORY PROGRESS POLICY 
 
Students are to maintain Satisfactory Attendance and Academic Progress (SAP) at this institution. Evaluation of each 
student will be based on certain criteria including 1) Attendance, which must average at least 67% of scheduled hours of 
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attendance); 2) Theory exam grades and/or completed work/projects; and, 3) Progress demonstrated through ability to 
perform required operations in a professional manner. The latter two criteria must average a minimum of 70%. Evaluations 
will be conducted 3 to 4 times throughout the program in accordance with its requirements. To maintain SAP at this 
institution, one must: 
 
1.  maintain a cumulative academic average of 70% or better on all tests, works/projects and other required 

coursework such as independent study 
 
2.  attend class regularly. Full time enrollment includes at least 24 hours of course attendance per week, and part time 

enrollment includes at least 12 hours of course attendance per week. Each student is scheduled to attend a 
number of hours per week/month as stated on his/her enrollment agreement/contract. At least an average of 67% 
of the scheduled attendance hours must be met per week in order to complete the course. 

 
Regardless of the average attendance hours met, a student who is absent three consecutive weeks (15 days) will 
be dismissed. Students, who expect to be absent for at least 15 consecutive days, are encouraged to request a 
leave of absence. 

 
In addition to the SAP standards, other general rules concerning attendance, tardiness, and school rules and 
regulations must be adhered to and these are outlined in the school catalog. 

 
3.  complete the course within 1 and ½ times the length of the course as stated in the enrollment agreement. For 

example, a student enrolled for 30 weeks will be required to complete the course within 45 weeks. 
 
4.  meet minimum academic and attendance requirements for at least one of the evaluations prior to  

mid-program to be considered as meeting satisfactory progress. 
 
Theory grades are based on test grades and homework assignment. Practical grades are based on: 

1. The ability to follow school rules 
2. The ability to accept and effectively complete all work assignments 
3. The ability to accept and perform practical tasks with emphasis on equipment 
4. The ability to effectively communicate with instructors, clients and fellow classmates 
5. Participation in practical hands-on classes as offered by the school or outside interests 

 
 
EVALUATION PERIODS 
 
In order to assess students' compliance with the Satisfactory Academic Progress, evaluations are done at intervals 
throughout each student's course of study as follows: 
 

Course Evaluations at the following intervals: 
Cosmetology 450 hours, 900 hours, 1200 hours 
Barbering 450 hours, 900 hours, 1200 hours 
Manicuring 200 hours 
Esthetician 300 hours 
Massage Therapy 350 hours 

 
LEAVE OF ABSENCE 
 
The institution may, under certain circumstances, allow a student to take a leave of absence from the program. The leave of 
absence must be requested in writing by the student and must be pre-approved by the school administration. The written 
request must include the starting and ending date of the leave of absence. Students will not be assessed additional tuition 
charges while on their leave of absence. 
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TRANSFER OUT 
 
The transferability of credits a student earns at Christine K Beauty School is at the complete discretion of an institution to 
which he/she may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the diploma that the student earns in the Cosmetology, Barbering, 
Esthetician, Manicuring, or Massage Therapy Program is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which he/she 
may seek to transfer. If the diploma the student earns at this institution is not accepted at the institution to which he/she 
seeks to transfer, the student may be required to repeat some or all of the course work at the institution. For this reason 
students should make certain that their attendance at this institution will meet their educational goals. This may include 
contacting an institution to which they may seek to transfer after attending Christine K Beauty School to determine if their 
diploma will transfer. 
 
 
PROBATION 
 
Students who fall below the above standards are placed on probation for a period of 30 days. Students on probation are 
considered to be making satisfactory progress until the next evaluation period. During the probation period, they are 
monitored monthly for improvement. Students can re-establish Satisfactory Programs during the probation period by 
meeting the minimum 70% grade point average and 67% attendance average. 
 
 
CREDIT FOR EXPERIENTIAL LEARNING 
 
As course completions are based on hours of study and hand-on practice, Christine K Beauty School does not award credit 
for students' prior Experiential Learning. Again, decisions concerning the acceptance of credits by an institution other than 
the granting institution are made at the sole discretion of the receiving institution. Christine K Beauty School makes no 
representation whatsoever concerning the transferability of any credits to any institutions. 
 
 
GRADING SYSTEM 
 
As stated under learning strategies, students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical methods and supervisory 
skills. The evaluations are measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a letter grade. Students 
must maintain a 70% “C” average or better to be considered in satisfactory academic standing. The school utilizes the 
following grading system: 
 

Practical Skills Theory 
A =100% 100%-90% A Excellent 
B = 80% 89%-80% B Above Average 
C = 70% 79%-70% C Satisfactory 
D = 60% 69% or below D Unsatisfactory 

 
 
TUITION AND FEE SCHEDULE 
 

Course Hours Weeks Registration STRF Kit Tuition Total 

Cosmetology  1600 40-64 $75.00 $15.65 $595.00 $5590.00 $6260.00 

Barbering  1500 37-60 $75.00 $15.65 $595.00 $5590.00 $6260.00 

Manicuring    400 10-15 $75.00 $  3.22 $135.00 $1000.00 $1290.00 

Esthetician    600 15-24 $75.00 $  7.08 $260.00 $2500.00 $2835.00 

Massage Therapy    600 15-24 $75.00 $  9.86 $270.00 $3600.00 $3945.00 

Permanent Make Up      24 3 days $50.00 $  1.50 $248.50 $  300.00 $  600.00 
 
THE INSTITUTION RESERVES THE RIGHT TO CHANGE THE TUITION AND FEES AND MAKE SUBJECT CHANGES WITHOUT PRIOR NOTICE 
WHEN NECESSARY. ANY CHANGE WILL NOT AFFECT CURRENTLY ENROLLED STUDENTS. 
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SCHOLARSHIPS 
 
Scholarships may be offered periodically. The only type of scholarships offered is tuition allowances for specified time 
periods. All students that enroll during that time period are eligible for the scholarship. 
 
 
NOTICE OF STUDENT RIGHTS 
 
1.  The student may cancel his/her contract for school without any penalty or obligation (other than the registration 

fee) by the seventh day following enrollment or on the first day of class as described in the enrollment agreement 
that will be given to you when you enroll. 

 
2.  After the full-refund (less registration fee) cancellation period, you have the right to withdraw from school at any 

time. Students who withdraw and have completed 60 percent or less of the course shall receive a refund on a pro 
rata basis.  

 
3.  Should the school close before you graduate, you may be entitled to a refund. Contact the Bureau for Private 

Postsecondary Education at the address and phone number printed below for information. 
 
4.  If you have complaints, questions or problems which you cannot work out with the school, write or call: 

P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818; (888) 370-7589 
 
 
COMPLAINT PROCEDURES 
 
Students are encouraged, at all times, to verbally communicate their concerns to members of the faculty and 
administration for amicable solutions. If the outcome of the process is unsatisfactory, a written grievance, addressed to the 
School Director, must be received from the student within 48 hours after the occurred incident. The director will verify that 
the student has made a verbal attempt to resolve the concern with the instructor or other staff member. If the student has 
followed the above steps, the School Director will call a grievance committee hearing within 24 hours of receipt of the 
report. The committee will consist of the Director, instructor and/or appropriate staff member. Additionally, those involved 
in the incident must be present at the time of the hearing. The committee will immediately meet in the absence of those 
involved to review the evidence and vote on a decision. The decision of the committee will be communicated immediately. 
If the decision is unacceptable, the student must, within 24 hours of the hearing, send copies of all documents and a cover 
letter explaining why the decision is unacceptable.  
 
For unresolved complaints, a student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form, which can be 
obtained on the bureau’s internet website http://www.bppe.ca.gov/. 
 
 
REFUND POLICY 
 
Right to Cancel: A student of the Institution has the right to a full refund of all charges, less the $75 registration fee, if the 
student cancels his/her enrollment agreement on the first day of instruction, or the 7th day after enrollment, whichever is 
later. Refunds will be paid within 45 days after Christine K Beauty School receives written notice of cancellation and the 
student’s withdrawal has been determined.  
 
Cancellation must be done in Writing. You do not have the right to cancel by calling the school or by not coming to the 
course. To cancel the contract, please mail or deliver a signed and dated copy of the Cancellation Notice, or a written notice 
of the same effect to: Christine K Beauty School, 1394 Tully Road, Suite 203, San Jose, CA 95122. 
 
If you received any equipment from the school which the enrollment contract indicates that you must return if you cancel 
enrollment you must return the equipment within 30 days of the date you sign a cancellation notice or otherwise request 
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cancellation. If you do not return the equipment within this 30 day period, the school may deduct the amount the school 
paid for the equipment from the refund amount due to you and you may keep the equipment. 
 
Even if you withdraw more than seven days after the course enrollment or after the first day of class, you may be entitled 
to a partial refund. You have a right to withdraw from school at any time. If you only completed 60 percent or less of the 
course, you may receive a refund pro-rated based on the uncompleted portion of the course less the cost to the school of 
any unreturned equipment and a registration fee not to exceed $75.00. The refund shall be calculated in the following 
manner and shall be made within 45 days after the date the school receives the student's written Notice of Cancellation. 
 
If after a student enrolls, the school is permanently closed and no longer offers instruction, the student will be entitled to a 
pro-rated refund of tuition as stated in this refund policy and the enrollment agreement. If a course is canceled subsequent 
to a student's enrollment, the school shall at its option either provide a full refund of all monies paid, or provide completion 
of the course. If an applicant is not accepted for enrollment by the school, all monies paid will be refunded to the student 
immediately. 
 
If a student obtains a loan to pay for a program, the student will have the responsibility of repaying the full amount of the 
loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and if the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the 
student is entitled to a refund of the moneys not paid from federal student financial aid program funds. 
 
Enrollment Time is defined as scheduled hours of attendance. It is the portion of the course scheduled to be completed 
between the actual starting date and the date of the student’s last day of physical attendance in the school. 
 

(Contract Price 1 - $75 reg. fee) 
= Per unit Cost of Instruction 

Number of hours of instruction in the contract period 
 
 

(Amount Paid for Instructions - $75) 
= 

Total number of hours for which 
the student has paid Per unit cost of Instruction 

 
 

Total number of 
hours for which 
student has paid 

– 
Number of hours which could 
have been completed when 

student dropped 
= 

Number of hours which were paid 
for but not received when student 

dropped 
 
 

Amount Paid for 
Instruction 2 

× 

Number of hours which could have been 
completed when the student dropped 

= 
Initial Refund 

Amount Total Number of hours for which the student has 
paid 

 
 

Initial Refund 
Amount 

+ 
Cost of 

Returned 
Equipment 

= 
Actual Refund 

Amount 

 
 
1 "Contract Price" refers to the amount of tuition , fee and all other costs for which the student has contracted to pay 

EXCEPT the value of equipment, books, and supplies 
 
2 "Amount Paid for Instruction" refers to the total amount paid to the school for tuition, fees and all other charges for 

which the student has paid EXCEPT the value of equipment, books, and supplies 
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Note: this institution calculate refunds under the State AB 1402/4052 requirements as stated above, and the National 

Accrediting Commission of Cosmetology Arts and Sciences (NACCAS), and the Federal Department of Education's refund 

(DOE) requirements under PL 102-325, Sec 484B. The refund which delivers the highest refund amount to the student's 

benefit is the refund which is used. See the school administrator for the DOE or NACCAS refund requirements. In most cases 

the State refund policy will deliver the highest refund amount to the student's benefit. 
 

Please note that the date of cancellation will be the postmarked date or the date the written request was delivered to the 

school administrator or owner. This policy applies whether or not the student has actually begun training. 

HYPOTHETICAL REFUND EXAMPLE 
 

A student enrolls in a 1,600 hour cosmetology course, pays $5,125.00 for tuition, $75.00 for registration, and $300.00 

documented cost to the institution for equipment as specified in the enrollment agreement. He withdraws after completing 

600 hours without returning the equipment he obtained due to sanitary reasons. The pro-rated refund to the student 

would be based on the calculation stated below. If the student were able to return the equipment in good condition within 

30 days following his withdrawal, the institution would refund the charge for the equipment returned. 

 

(5,125-75) 
= 3,156 

(5,125-75) 
= 1,600 1,600 – 600 = 1,000 

1,600 3,156 

 

(5,125-75) × 
1,000 

= $3156.25 
 

$3145.25- $0 = $3156.25 
1,600  

 
 
 
 
BANKRUPTCY 
 
The institution has no pending petition in bankruptcy, is not operating as a debtor in possession, has not filed any petition 
within the preceding five years, nor has had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five years that 
resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S.C. Sec. 1101 et seq.).   
 
 
STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND (STRF) STATEMENT 
 
The State of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic losses suffered by 
students in educational programs who are California residents, or are enrolled in a residency program attending certain 
schools regulated by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. 
 
You must pay the state-imposed assessment for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) if all of the following applies to 
you: 

1. You are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a  
residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed student loans, or personal 
loans, and, 

2. Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, government  
program or other payer unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party. 

 
You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid the 
STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following: 
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1. The school closed before the course of instruction was completed. 
2. The school's failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a third party for license fees or any 

other purpose, or to provide equipment or materials for which a charge was collected within 180 days before 
the closure of the school. 

3. The school's failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed student loan program as 
required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the school prior to closure in excess of tuition 
and other costs. 

4. There was a material failure to comply with the Act or this Division within 30 days before the school closed or, 
if the material failure began earlier than 30 days prior to closure, the period determined by the Bureau. 

5. An inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on a judgment against the institution for a 
violation of the Act. 

 
You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if either of the 
following applies: 
 

1. You are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program, or 
2. Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or other payer, and 

you have no separate agreement to repay the third party. 
 
Additionally, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number of a taxpayer identification number. 
 

For further information or instructions, contact, Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, P.O. Box 980818, West 

Sacramento, CA 95798-0818. 
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Christine K Beauty School 
1394 Tully Road, Suite 203-204, San José, CA 95122 (408) 297-1091 
 

COSMETOLOGY COURSE CURRICULUM 
 
The cosmetology course of instruction for students enrolled in the program requires 1600 hours of practical 
training and technical instruction covering all practices of cosmetology, including additional training in customer 
interaction, courtesy and professionalism, basic business practices, building clientele and retail sales. 
 
There are three hundred thirty-five (335) hours of technical classroom instruction in the science and practice of 
cosmetology and 1265 hours of applied effort for the minimum number of practical operations. The subjects and 
hours are listed below: 
 

SUBJECTS 
TECHNICAL 

HOURS 
PRACTICE 

HOURS 

 
Barbering & Cosmetology Act, Rules and Regulations 

 
20 

 
 

Cosmetology Chemistry 20  
Health and Safety 20  
Theory of Electricity 5  
Disinfection and Sanitation 20 10 
Bacteriology, Anatomy, Physiology 15  
Wet Hair Styling 25 200 
Thermal Hair Styling 20 120 
Permanent Waving 20 160 
Chemical Straightening 20 80 
Hair Cutting 20 180 
Hair Coloring, Bleaching 40 210 
Scalp and Hair Treatments 5 20 
Facials 
 a) Manual Facials 
 b) Electrical Facials 
 c) Chemical Facials 

 
5 

10 
10 

 
20 
25 
25 

Eyebrow Arching and Hair Removal 10 20 
Make up 15 20 
Manicuring and Pedicuring 
 a) Water and Oil Manicure 
 b) Complete Pedicure 
 c) Artificial Nails 

 
5 
5 

25 

 
35 
20 

120 
 
California State Law requires a minimum completion of 1600 hours in Cosmetology in order to apply for the 
state Cosmetology license examination. 
 
GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS 
Completion of at least 1600 hours of cosmetology training including all practical operations, technical 
instruction, and exams with a score of 70% or better, and a mock board examination. All tuition, fees, and 
charges must be paid in full prior to the release of final documents, including diploma and transcripts. 
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Christine K Beauty School 
1394 Tully Road, Suite 203-204, San José, CA 95122 (408) 297-1091 
 

BARBERING COURSE CURRICULUM 
 
The barbering course of instruction for students enrolled in the program requires 1500 hours of practical 
training and technical instruction covering all practices of barbering, including additional training in customer 
interaction, courtesy and professionalism, basic business practices, building clientele and retail sales. 
 
There are two hundred ninety (290) hours of technical classroom instruction in the science and practice of 
cosmetology and 1210 hours of applied effort for the minimum number of practical operations. The subjects and 
hours are listed below: 
 

SUBJECTS 
TECHNICAL 

HOURS 
PRACTICE 

HOURS 

 
Barbering Board Act, Rules and Regulations 

 
20 

 
 

Barbering Chemistry 20  
Health and Safety 20  
Theory of Electricity 5  
Disinfection and Sanitation 20 10 
Bacteriology, Anatomy, Physiology 15  
Wet Hair Styling 25 275 
Thermal Hair Styling 20 275 
Permanent Waving 20 70 
Chemical Straightening 20 25 
Hair Cutting 40 400 
Shaving 20 40 
Rest Facials 20 40 
Hair Coloring, Bleaching 20 50 
Scalp and Hair Treatments 5 25 

 
California State Law requires a minimum completion of 1500 hours in Barbering in order to apply for the state 
Barber license examination. 
 
GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS 
Completion of at least 1500 hours of barbering training including all practical operations, technical instruction, 
and exams with a score of 70% or better, and a mock board examination. All tuition, fees, and charges must be 
paid in full prior to the release of final documents, including diploma and transcripts. 
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Christine K Beauty School 
1394 Tully Road, Suite 203-204, San José, CA 95122 (408) 297-1091 
 

MANICURING COURSE CURRICULUM 
 
The manicuring course of instruction for students enrolled in the program requires 400 hours of practical 
training and technical instruction, including additional training in customer interaction, courtesy and 
professionalism, basic business practices, building clientele and retail sales. 
 
The curriculum includes a minimum of one hundred ten (110) hours of technical classroom instruction in the 
science and practice of manicuring and a minimum of 290 hours of applied effort for the minimum number of 
practical operations. The subjects and hours are listed below: 
 

SUBJECTS 
TECHNICAL 

HOURS 
PRACTICE 

HOURS 

 
Barbering & Cosmetology Act 

 
10 

 
 

Chemistry 10  
Health and Safety, Hazardous Substances 15  
Disinfection and Sanitation 10 20 
Bacteriology, Anatomy, Physiology 10  
Water and Oil Manicures 15 60 
Pedicuring 10 30 
Application of Artificial Nails 
 a) Acrylic Artificial Nails 
 b) Nail Tips 
 c) Nail Wraps and Repairs 

 
15 
10 
5 

 
80 
60 
40 

 
California State Law requires a minimum completion of 400 hours in manicuring in order to apply for the state 
Manicuring license examination. Students attending full-time are able to complete the course in about 10 
weeks. 
 
GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS 
Completion of at least 400 hours of manicuring training including all practical operations, technical instruction, 
and exams with a score of 70% or better, and a mock board examination. All tuition, fees, and charges must be 
paid in full prior to the release of final documents, including diploma and transcripts. 
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Christine K Beauty School 
1394 Tully Road, Suite 203-204, San José, CA 95122 (408) 297-1091 
 

ESTHETICIAN COURSE CURRICULUM 
 
The esthetician course of instruction for students enrolled in the program requires 600 hours of practical 
training and technical instruction covering all practices of skin care, including additional training in customer 
interaction, courtesy and professionalism, basic business practices, building clientele and retail sales. 
 
There are 190 hours of technical classroom instruction in the science and practice of skin care, and 410 hours of 
applied effort for the minimum number of practical operations. The subjects and hours are listed below: 
 

SUBJECTS 
TECHNICAL 

HOURS 
PRACTICE 

HOURS 

 
Barbering & Cosmetology Act 

 
10 

 
 

Chemistry 10  
Health and Safety, Hazardous Substances 20  
Theory of Electricity 10  
Disinfection and Sanitation 10 10 
Bacteriology, Anatomy, Physiology 15  
Facials 
 a) Manual Facials 
 b) Electrical Facials 
 c) Chemical Facials 

 
20 
30 
20 

 
80 

120 
80 

Eyebrow Arching and Hair Removal 
 a) Tweezers 
 b) Wax and Depilatories 

 
5 

20 

 
20 
50 

Make up 20 50 
 
California State Law requires a minimum completion of 600 hours in skin care in order to apply for the state 
Esthetician license examination. 
 
GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS 
Completion of at least 600 hours of esthetician training including all practical operations, technical instruction, 
and exams with a score of 70% or better, and a mock board examination. All tuition, fees, and charges must be 
paid in full prior to the release of final documents, including diploma and transcripts. 
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Christine K Beauty School 
1394 Tully Road, Suite 203-204, San José, CA 95122 (408) 297-1091 
 

MASSAGE THERAPY COURSE CURRICULUM 
 
The massage therapy course of instruction for students enrolled in the program requires 600 hours of practical 
training and technical instruction covering all practices of massage therapy, including additional training in 
customer interaction, courtesy and professionalism, basic business practices, building clientele and retail sales. 
 
The following is a list of requirements outlined by the school which must be met by the end of course:  
 

SUBJECTS 
TECHNICAL 

HOURS 
PRACTICE 

HOURS 

 
Anatomy and Physiology 

 
50 

 
50 

Swedish Massage 40 60 
Laws, Rules and Regulations, Limitations 20  
Hydrotherapy Body Treatments 50 20 
Deep Tissue Massage 50 60 
Reflexology and Acupressure 20 20 
Clinic and Business Practice 40 40 
Athletic/Sport Massage 40 40 

 
GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS 
Completion of 600 hours of massage therapy training including all practical operations, technical instruction, and 
exams with a score of 70% or better, and a final examination. All tuition, fees, and charges must be paid in full 
prior to the release of final documents, including diploma and transcripts. 
 
PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 
Upon graduation, should students wish to practice the art of massage in an establishment, a permit/business 
license is required and must be secured by the local city office or police department in the city which you plan 
on working. Each city maintains certain requirements and fees vary among cities. In order to practice massage 
therapy in San José, one must successfully pass the National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage 
and Body Work. The school will provide the student with information from the city as well as surrounding cities 
on obtaining a permit to work in the field of massage therapy as well as assist in the application process. 
 
NATIONAL CERTIFICATION 
The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) is a nationally accredited 
credentialing body. Graduates from this program will be eligible to apply for certification from the NCBTMB by 
submitting an original official school transcript or a “Verification of Education Form” completed by the school 
along with the complete application from, current photograph, photocopy of government issued identification 
and all necessary fees. Once received and completed, the NCBTMB will send the graduate an Authorization to 
Test letter or request for any missing information. The candidate will have three months from the time they are 
deemed eligible to take the exam. For further information, please contact the NCBTMB at 800-296-0664 or visit 
the website at www.ncbtmb.com.  
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Christine K Beauty School 
1394 Tully Road, Suite 203-204, San José, CA 95122 (408) 297-1091 
 

PERMANENT MAKE UP APPLICATION COURSE CURRICULUM 
 
TRAINING 
The course in permanent make up application is conducted in 3 days, 8 hours a day and prepares students to 
become fully prepared for a permanent cosmetics career. Success in this industry is directly related to the 
quality of basic training received and the ongoing education one pursues. 
 
This course offers comprehensive theory and hands-on training and is designed to transform the student with 
no experience into a knowledgeable and skilled cosmetic artist. Students taking the basic course will graduate 
with proficiency in performing eyebrows, eyeliner and lip applications. 
 
The advanced course is customized to fit specific needs and includes training in specialized techniques. 
 
Basic Permanent Make Up Application includes, but is not limited to, the following:  

 
Introduction to Permanent Make Up 
Sanitation, Sterilization guidelines 
Color theory and selection of pigment 
Consultation information 
Client intake forms and after care forms 
Extensive one-on-one training 
Marketing information 
Insurance information 
Certificate awarded upon graduation 
Ongoing telephone and e-mail support 

 
Students receive solid practice before beginning with live models. As part of the curriculum, participants 
perform procedures on live models on the last day. Students must provide their own models. This concept is 
designed to encourage self-promotion and early business marketing. During the hands-on, live-model 
procedures, students receive close supervision. Upon successful completion of the course, technical support and 
advice can be received via phone call or e-mail. 
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