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Truck Driver Institute 
Approval Disclosure Statement 

Truck Driver Institute (TDI) was granted institutional approval form the California Bureau for 
Private Postsecondary Education in the Department of Consumer Affairs. 

 The Bureau’s approval means the institution and its operation comply with the minimum 
standards established under law for occupational instruction by private educational institutions 
and does not imply any endorsement or recommendation by the state or Bureau. Institutional 
approval must be re-approved every five years and is subject to continuing review.  Approved is 
the following course.  This will lead to an occupation as a truck driver, requiring the student to pass 
DMV’s written test and driving test. 

 Professional Truck and Commercial Driver Training 180 hours 

The average student completes the 180-hour program in 5 weeks. 

Hours are defined as clock hours that equal 50 minutes of instruction per each 60-minute hour. 

A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with 
the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks, Suite 400, 
Sacramento. CA 95833 (916) 431-8959. www.BPPE.ca.gov,
 fax (916)263-1897.  Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have 
been satisfactorily answered by the institution may contact the Bureau. 

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing 
an enrollment agreement.  You are also encouraged to review the School Performance 
Fact Sheet. This will be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement. 

General Information 

Prospective students need to visit the physical facilities of the school and discuss training and 
placement opportunities with school officials prior to enrolling or signing enrollment agreements. 
TDI invites interested individuals to speak with our Driver Instructors, currently enrolled students and 
local companies that have hired graduates students. 

Instruction will take place in TDI’s training yard.  Truck Driver Institute will award a Diploma to all 
students upon successful completion of the program and their   attainment of a Class ‘A’ license 
from the Department of Motor Vehicles of the State of California. Instruction is available in English 
or Spanish. 

All interviews are conducted in either English or Spanish. All other languages the student must 
provide their own interpreter.  The state of CA, DMV provides license information and testing for 
driving in many other languages, contacts them to see if your language is available. 
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Truck Driver Institute’s Mission Statement 
TDI provide high quality instruction preparing individuals to become efficient, professional, 

safety conscious truck drivers. 

TDI prepares students for career as professional truck drivers in the transportation industry.  This 
is done first through a combination of classroom training using written materials, visual aids, videos 
and lecture format. The practical phase requires hands on training in and around the tractor and 
trailer combination. 

TDI provides lifetime placement assistance to all students successfully completing the program. 

School History 
TDI has been training drivers since 1995.  Over 1300 drivers have been trained between the two 

facilities. 

TDI has won numerous awards for its high caliber of training. Some of these are listed below. 

 Certificate of Special Congressional Recognition 1995 
Awarded by Private Industry Council for Training Provider of the Year 

 Outstanding Trainer of JTPA Program Participants 
Santa Cruz County Board of Supervisors Proclamation 

1995 

 Outstanding Training Provider
Awarded by Career Works Alumni 

1999 

 Outstanding Private Industry Council Volunteer/Service Provi
California State Job Training Coordinating Council 

der 1999 

 Senate Certificate of Recognition for School of the Year 2000 
Awarded by State of California Senate, 15th Senate District 

 Certificate of Recognition for Faces of Success School of the Year 2000 
Awarded by California State Assembly, 27 Assembly District 

TDI works with a variety of state, county and private agencies to provide training 
The list is extensive below are just a few. 

 California Vocational Rehabilitation 

 Candelaria American Indians 

 Work Force Investment Act (WIA) 

 Vocational Counseling Services 

 Private Industry Council 

 The Work Force Resource 

All of these agencies have come to trust TDI’s ability to provide quality training and maintain 
the highest levels of service to our students and their sponsoring agencies. 
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Equal Opportunity 
TDI is dedicated to policy of equal and fair opportunity in all areas of employment and 

education.  TDI does not practice any form of discrimination against applicants, students or 
employees for admission or employment on the basis of sex, race, ethnic origin, sexual orientation, 
or religion.  TDI is committed to the full observance of and compliance with all federal and state 
laws prohibiting discrimination. 

Administration 

Truck Driver Institute is a wholly owned division Chavez Family Enterprises, Inc.  Corporate 
headquarters are located at 1110 Main Street, Suite 11 Watsonville, California 95076. 

President / Director Federico G. Chavez 
Administrative Manager 

Secretary / Treasurer Rafael G. Chavez 
Site Operations Manager 

Watsonville Instructional Staff: 

Classroom Instructor   Federico G. Chavez 
Student Services Coordinator 

Range Instructors Rafael G. Chavez 

Support Staff: 

Business Manager:   Federico Chavez 

Range Instructors 

Classroom Instructor   Federico G Chavez 

Range Instructors Rafael G Chavez 

Facilities And Equipment 
Current TDI facilities include offices, classrooms and range sites at each of its two locations. 

Trucks and Trailers include 8 trucks, all tractors are three axle.  Trailers range from 42’ to 48’ dry vans. 
A set of pups for doubles training is available. 

TDI owns all of the training equipment and is financially sound, with no previous history of 
bankruptcy. 

Watsonville Business office   Watsonville Training Facilities 

1110 Main Street, Suite 11    140 Railroad Ave 
Watsonville, CA 95076 Watsonville, CA 95076 
(831) 724-6100 
FAX: (831) 724-0742 
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Admissions Procedures 
To apply for admission to TDI, Applicants should contact TDI’s office to schedule an 

appointment for a personal interview and a tour of the School facilities. 

At that time Applicants will complete the Enrollment Application.  A class schedule and other 
information will be provided at this time. A non-refundable $100.00 application fee must be 
submitted with the application. A TDI officer will review the Enrollment Application and notify the 
Applicant of the status of his/her admission to TDI. 

Hours of Operation 
Office hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Monday through Friday 

Instructional hours: 7:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday 
4:00 p.m. to 12:45 p.m. Monday through Friday 
7:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Saturday and Sunday 

Driving instruction is held days, nights and weekends as necessary to accommodate the 
requirements of the program and students work schedules. 

Schedule of Classes 
There will be three classes per month.  One day time class, one night class, and one weekend 

class. Students will be advised of start date at the time they enroll. Instruction is competency 
based. This allows students to commence training on a space and equipment available basis.   
Students will be notified in advance concerning important scheduling information such as 
operating hours, holidays, class schedules and revisions to schedules.  Over-the-road Driving 
Instruction is scheduled as necessary to accommodate the requirements of the program.  Classes 
are 12 months per year.  The following legal holidays will be observed: 

New Years Day Memorial Day 
Independence Day Labor Day 
Thanksgiving Day Christmas Day 

Curriculum 
Course Description       180 hours 

Registration/Orientation  
School/Course Requirements 1.5 
Student Responsibilities 
Course Overview 
Information regarding opportunities 

Commercial Driver’s License Requirements     1.5
 D.O.T. requirements

 Drug test 

 Medical exam

 Permits 

 Endorsements
 
D.O.T.  requirements        2.0
 Driver Qualifications
 Regulations 
 Drug testing
 Logbooks 
Hours  of  Service         3.0  

6 



 

 

 
 

 

   
  

  
   

   
  

    
 

  
   

  
   

  
 

  
  

  
  
 

   

 
   

  

   
 

 
   

  
   

 
   

   
 

  

  
 

 

 
   

   

 

 

 Definitions
 
Logbooks


 Summary page

 Exceptions 

Trip  Planning         3.0  

Commercial Driver’s Atlas
 Map Reading
  Interstate Road System
  U.S. Highway System 

Determining Mileage 
Types  of  Trucks/Trailers        1.5  

Types of transmissions 

  Autoshifts 

  Splitters, range controls
 

Double clutching, progressive shifting 

Engines 


  RPM control band
 
Air  Brakes         4.0
 Basic components
 Service/Emergency 

Spring brake/Service brake 
Use of Brakes

 Brake adjustment 
Engine  Retarders        1.0  

Effective use of retarders 
Down slope technique 

Space  Management        1.5  
Defensive driving 
Visual Search 
Attitude 

Road Rage 
Professional Drivers Attitude       1.0 
Use/non-use of alcohol/drugs 
Truck  Inspection         2.0
 External inspection 

  Inspection by system
 

Inspection by material type

 In-cab inspection
 

Primary Brake Air system checks

  In-cab controls checklist 


Secondary Brake system check
 
Driving  Technique        3.0
 Smooth, safe driving 
 Mirrors 
 Steering Wheel grip
 Maneuvering 

Stopping, Starting, Shutdown 
Adverse driving conditions 
Grades 

 Parking
 Routing 

Rail Road Crossings 
Load  Management 	       2.0
 Heights, widths, lengths
 Weight Distribution 
 Sealing
 Documentation 
 Hazardous Materials 
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Preventive Maintenance       1.0
 Service Checks 
Getting the Job as a Professional Driver 1.0
 Work History 
  Resume 

 Preparation/attitude 


Communication 

Continuing  Education        1.0
 Trucking Associations 
 Trade Magazines 
Maneuvering – Road/Range Skills      75.0 

Straight line back-up
 Alley dock 
 Parallel parking 

Precision stops and right turn 
Pretrip  Inspection        23.0
 External walk around
 In-cab 
Driving  refinement        50.0
 Shifting
  Down  shifting 

 Equipment control

 Urban driving 

 Rural driving
 
DMV  test  preparation 	       2.0  

School Policies 
Prior to being considered for admission to TDI, each applicant must: 

 Must take a written test to determine the student’s ability to benefit from the course 
and pass with a score of at least 75%. 

 Submit a completed Enrollment Application to the school 

 Provide a valid drivers license 

 Present a current DMV printout. An applicant will not be eligible for enrollment if the 
MVR includes any of the following: (With out the approval of the Director). 

 A DUI conviction within the last three years  
 A reckless or careless driving conviction within the last three years 
 More than three moving violations within the last three years. 
 More than one “at fault” accident within last three years. 
 More than two moving violations and one “at fault” accident within the last 

three years. 
 A conviction of a felony involving the use of a motor vehicle. 
 A conviction for any drug or alcohol related charge in the last 3 years. 

 Must be beyond compulsory school attendance age.  An individual cannot be D.O.T. 
certified until reaching the age of 21 years.  However between ages 18 and 21a 
student can obtain a commercial drivers license to drive within the State of California. 
But may not obtain a Hazards Material license until age of 21. 
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 Must pass a drug test 

 Must pass the D.O.T. physical examination.  Must also pass the D.M.V. written 
examination, and obtain a commercial drivers license learners permit within the first 
week of the course. The permit is required in order to participate in behind the wheel 
training, which begins in the second week of training. 

 Meet with a school officer to discuss educational plans. 

An Applicant must provide verifiable work history for the last 3 years and provide 
employment information for the last 10 years. 

Enrollment 

A student who has had a CDL Class A license,  previously  will not be required  to register for  
the full course.  But must first have the approval of the Director. 

Tuition Costs 

Additional Costs: 

DMV Driving Report (paid to DMV)	 $ 5..00 

Student Tuition Recovery Fund $ 11.00 
DOT Physical (or student’s own Dr.) 
Watsonville      $ 40.00
 Drug Test / Random pull 
Watsonville      $ 57.00 

CDL Class A permit DMV (paid to DMV) 	 $ 66.00 

DMV Retest 	 $  30.00  (If required) 

Hazard Endorsement (must be at least 25yrs old)  $ 89.35 
Testing is in Oakland, CA (paid to DMV) 

Costs Per Hour of Training 

Cost per hour of training is based on student to instructor ratio of 1:1 (One instructor to one 
student). 
First week: 

In classroom 30 hours of training Cost per hour $17.00 

Week two through Five, each week: 

At the range 50 hours of training Cost per hour $85.00 

Attendance
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Consistent attendance and being on time are two assets that a student should develop.  Every 
potential employer will consider good attendance important hiring criteria. 

Students are to call the school office whenever they are unable to be in class for any reason. 
The calls must reach the office no later than 8:30 a.m. so that those students waiting for make up 
time may use student’s space.  Student’s cooperation will be appreciated. Those students referred 
by an agency must be aware that we will contact student’s counselor and inform them that 
students are not in attendance. 

Our teaching unit is a Truck and a Trailer not a desk and chair. We assign one instructor to three 
students.  When a student is not in attendance, they are not having the opportunity to learn.  Our 
program has enough hours built in to allow a student who misses 2 or 3 days over the 5-week period, to 
still be able to complete the program on time. 

TDI will continue to provide training hours to students who have not exceeded the attendance 
standard. While in school, arriving late twice will be considered an absence. If a Student has not 
exceeded the attendance standard and does not pass the DMV testing, TDI will continue to 
provide them training hours within TDI’s schedule at no additional charge until they do pass. 

If a student who has missed three or less day, needs make up time, they will be placed in the next 
available space.  There are no guarantees as to the time or to the day since our regular classes are 
assigned one teacher to three students and the classes go from 7a.m. to 12 p.m. Mon – Fri, with Sat & 
Sun. as an option. 

Interruptions or being placed on hold is not realistic for a five-week training program, and is 
only granted when the interruption occurs at the end of the first week of training. The student will 
then join the next class as it starts. 

If a student accumulates three or more absences during the 5-week training period 
they will be required to pay for additional instruction time needed.  They will continue in 
the program but IF they do not finish on the original scheduled date, we will continue to 
provide them training based on space available basis until they have passed the DMV 
testing. The extra time required beyond the original 5-weeks will be billed at our group 
rate of $20.00 per hour. 

Leave of Absence 
A leave of absence may be granted to a student under special circumstances (e.g.: serious 

illness or death in the family).  Such leaves will be granted only if they last less then 5-days.  Our 
classes are only five weeks; a student may withdraw at the end of the first week and go on a thirty-
day leave of absence.  Any other leave of absence longer then 5-days, the student will receive 
counsel from the School Director. A student may be re-scheduled for the next class.  Depending 
on the cause for the leave of absence the student may be billed for extra time required to 
complete the course.  Leaves of absences will be referred to as being placed on “Hold” status. 

Student Conduct 
TDI wants each Student to realize the importance of maintaining high standards of conduct, 

not only on the school campus, but also in the trucking industry.  Students are expected to be 
polite, follow instructor’s directions, and obey school rules. Any disagreement with the school, 
instructors, or other students should be taken up with the School Director for mediation.  TDI is a 
school for adults and as adults, they should be aware of what is acceptable and unacceptable 
behavior in the work place. 
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Examples of behavior on or around the school campus that will result in being dropped are 
listed below. 

 Use of school equipment without authorization 
 Use of illegal substances 
 Under the influence of alcohol 
 Gambling 
 Harassment of students of personnel 
 Aggressive and disruptive behavior 

If a student is dismissed and files an appeal, if they do not win the appeal they will be dropped 
and they are no longer eligible for re-admission. 

Dress Code 
Each student will be neatly attired in suitable clothing such as jeans and shirts.  Footwear 

should be a sturdy: no sandals or high heels.  Clothing such as cutoffs, tank, or halter-tops or no shirt 
would be considered inappropriate.  Each student should practice good hygiene to present a 
clean and neat appearance.  This is important not only for the school campus, but also for future 
job consideration.  Occasionally, TDI has Company Recruiters visiting, looking for new drivers and 
first impressions count. Because students will be working around equipment, it is important that long 
hair is tied back and that loose jewelry is not worn. 

Appeals Policy and Complaint Procedure 
Believing that extraordinary or extenuating circumstances warrant consideration, TDI provides 

students with the opportunity to appeal actions based on school regulation concerning 
attendance, dismissal, leave of absence, and extension of contract.  Any actions taken by the TDI 
regarding attendance, dismissal, leave of absence or extension of contract will result in a written 
notice of action to the student. 

The appeal must be in writing and must be given to the School Director within five working 
days from the date of the written notice of action.  The appeal must explain what action is being 
appealed and basis for the appeal.  Complaints regarding an instructor, school official or school 
policy initiated by a student must be provided in writing to the School Director. 

Within forty-eight hours from the receipt of the student’s written appeal or the students filing of 
a grievance a conference will be scheduled with the school administration.  The student will be 
notified that he or she has the right to attend the conference and to bring with them anyone they 
choose (council, witness, etc.) 

During the conference, the school administration will review the Appeal/Complaint and 
determine what steps should be taken to address the issue.  The student will be notified of the 
decision in writing within twenty-four hours following the conference.

      STUDENTS RIGHT TO CANCEL 

Refunds 
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In accordance with California State Law, a student may cancel their enrollment agreement in 
writing at any time until midnight of the third business day, following the start date of the class   
Monies paid shall be refunded within thirty days after receipt of the notice. 

If a student withdraws or is suspended is dropped after the above-mentioned three-day period 
for cancellation, all educational cost, shall be refunded on a pro-rata basis.  The student will 
receive a refund of all monies paid within thirty days if the student is rejected for training or if a 
course is cancelled.  There may be a processing fee if the student payment was made by credit 
card.  The student may withdraw from school at any time and receive a refund of unused costs. 

In calculating any tuition refund due, the period of enrollment is from the first day of class to 
the last date of recorded attendance.  The time and percentage of attendance will be 
determined by total hours of class attended divided by the total hours of training.  In all cases of 
students who withdraw, fail to attend a class or are dropped, the following minimum refund policy 
shall apply:  The refund of tuition less the registration fee shall be equal to the total amount of the 
tuition multiplied by the fraction of time remaining in class.  Given below are examples of refunds 
based on percentage of class hours attended. 

 Registration fee not refundable. $ 100.00 
 10% hours attended = 90% refund 
 25% hours attended = 75% refund 
 50% hours attended = 50% refund 
 60% hours attended = 60% refund 
 75% hours attended = 25% refund 
  90% hours attended = 10% refund 

All refunds will be made within thirty days from the date of cancellation or withdrawal.  If a 
student does not return from an approved leave of absence, refunds will be made within thirty 
days from the leave of absence period. Within ten days of any refund, the student will receive 
written notice of a refund stating the amount of the refund and to whom the refund was made. 

For students receiving financing from a lending institution, the student will have the 
responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest.  Any tuition refunds will be made first 
to any lender up to the amount of such disbursement any additional refunds will next be made to 
other funding sources up to the amount of disbursement. Any additional refund due will be made 
to the student. 

Refunds will be made only to those students who cancel their enrollment and do not receive 
their CDL.  

Enrolled students who pass the DMV CDL road test and receive their CDL Class A license from 
DMV will receive their Diploma from Truck Driver Institute and are not eligible for any monetary 
refund. 

Truck Driver Institute retains the right to make changes to the catalog, curriculum, schedules, 
materials or tuition in order to keep the program current with trends in the trucking industry.  These 
changes may be made without advance notice. 

Student’s Rights 
Students have the right to cancel the course of instruction including any equipment such as books, 

binders, materials and supplies or any other goods related to the instruction offered until midnight of the 
3rd business day after the first class students attend.  Business day means a day on which students were 
scheduled to attend a class session. 

Students have the right to stop training at any time after the cancellation period and students have 
the right to receive a refund for the part of the training not received. 
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If TDI were to close before you graduate, you may be entitled to a refund.  Contact the Bureau for 
Private Post-Secondary Education, 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, telephone 
(916) 431-8959. 

Cancellation shall occur when students give written notice of cancellation at the address of the TDI 
as shown in this catalog. Students can do this by mail or hand delivery. The written notice of 
cancellation, if sent by mail, is effective when deposited in the mail properly addressed with the postage 
prepaid. 

The written notice of cancellation need not take any particular form and, however expressed, it is 
effective if it shows the student no longer wish to be bound by the Enrollment Agreement.  Students will 
be given two notices of cancellation forms to use at the first day of class, but students can use any 
written notice that students wish. 

If the TDI has given the student any equipment, including books or other materials, students shall 
return them to the School within 30 days following the date of student’s notice of cancellation.  If the 
student fails to return this equipment, including books or other materials, in good condition within the 30-
day period, TDI may deduct its documented cost for the equipment from any refund that may be due 
to the student.  Once, the student pays for the equipment, it is theirs without further obligation. 

If the student cancels the Enrollment Agreement, TDI will refund any money that has been paid, less 
any deduction for equipment not timely returned in good condition, within 30-days after the notice of 
cancellation is received. 

Student Tuition Recovery Fund 

The Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) was established by the State Legislature to protect 
any California Resident who attends a Department of Consumer Affair institution from losing money 
if the student prepays tuition and suffered a financial loss as a result of the school closing, failing to 
live up to its enrollment agreement; or refusing to pay a court judgment. 

To be eligible, the student must be a “California resident” and reside in California at the time 
the enrollment agreement is signed or when the student receive lessons at a California mailing 
address from an approved institution offering correspondence instruction.  Students who are 
temporarily residing in California for the sole purpose of pursuing an education, specifically those 
who hold student visas, are not considered a California resident. 

To qualify for STRF reimbursement the student must file a STRF application within one year of 
receiving notice from the Bureau that the school is closed. If you do not receive notice from the 
Bureau, the student has 4 years from the date of closure to file a STRF application.  If a judgment is 
obtained, the student must file a STRF application within 2 years of the final judgments. 

It is important that the student keep copies of the enrollment agreement, financial aid papers, 
receipts or any other information that documents the monies paid to the school.  Questions 
regarding the STRF may be directed to the Department of Consumer Affairs, 1027 10th Street, Fourth 
Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814, (916) 327-7190. 
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Graduation 

Students enrolled at TDI will under go intensive training during the 5-weeks they attend. The Range 
Instructors will be constantly evaluating their progress during this time.  The student will not go to the DMV 
performance testing until two conditions are met.  The student’s Instructor indicates to the School Director 
that the student is ready and the student feels confident they are prepared.  Once the student 
completes the DMV testing and have obtained their Class ‘A’ license, they will receive their Diploma are 
considered to have graduated. 

If the student obtains their license prior to completing their total hours of training, they may continue 
with their training until the hours have been completed. 

Student Services 

TDI offers graduating students job placement assistance. This service is a lifetime offer to any TDI 
graduate.  The student is advised to begin thinking about the type of driving they would like to do during 
their training and come to the office during their third or fourth week to begin preparing their resumes. If 
there is information missing from their work history (addresses, phone numbers, etc.), they should make 
every effort to obtain these so their resumes are complete.  Remember a ten-year work history is 
required.  After the resumes, the Student Services Coordinator will advise of job opportunities in the locally 
and/or nationally depending on the student’s decision. 

This Catalog was updated February 2012, and will remain as is unless state laws require it to be 
changed. 
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