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TO ALL PROSPECTIVE STUDENTS: 

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this 
catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement. You are also 
encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which 
must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement. 

MISSION STATEMENT 
Associated Barber School of San Diego’s purpose is to educate men and women in the field of 
Barbering.  Our school offers two courses of Barber Instruction for men and women.  One course 
is for those with little or no experience and the other course is for those who have experience in 
the Cosmetology field.  Our objective is to instruct men and women in the Barbering field with 
hands-on barbering techniques and classroom theory so that our graduates will be prepared to 
take the California State exam for Barbering. It is our mission to prepare our students to the best 
of their ability to pass the California State Test in Barbering.  It is our goal to prepare our students 
to the best of their ability to become a successful Barber in the State of California by being able to 
provide all barbering services to the consumer.   

NOTICE 

This catalog and its contents are valid thru July 2012.  The College reserves the right to 
modify and change its programs, tuition and fees, admission and graduation requirements, 
schedules and other policies and regulations as stated in the catalog as necessary, with the 
approval of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. 

HISTORY 

Alfred Nenna founded the College in 1944.  Mr. Nenna developed and implemented a 
directed and more scientific method for the study of barbering.  Mr. Nenna retired and Ray 
Martsolf acquired the College in 1962. The College was expanded and moved to 1045 11th 

Street, San Diego CA 92101. 
On December 8, 1998 the school moved to its current location. Patricia Frank purchased 

The College in 1998. 
On May 8, 2002, Associated Barber College of San Diego, Inc. purchased the Barber 

College.  Mr. and Mrs. Rocccoforte are the sole stock holders of the corporation and personally 
oversee the operation of the school.  ABC of SD Inc. will maintain the intent and improve upon 
the foundation created by the previous owners. 

APPROVAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT 

The Associated Barber College of San Diego is a private institution and is approved to 
operate by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education pursuant to California Education 
Code Section 94909 in 2012.  The Bureau’s approval means that the institution and its operation 
comply with the minimum standards established under the law for occupational instruction by 
private postsecondary educational institutions.  Courses must be renewed annually and is subject 
to continuing review.  Approved are the following courses: 
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1500-hour Barber Science Course and 400-hour Reciprocal Cosmetology/Barbering 
Course 

PROGRAM INFORMATION: 

1500-hour Barber Science Course ~The typical student takes a 1500-hour Barber 
Science Course over 37½- weeks to complete when students attend full time (eight hours a day, 
five days a week).  Please see Curriculum for instruction provided and the requirements to pass 
this course. 

400-hour Reciprocal Cosmetology/Barbering Course ~ This course takes ten weeks to 
complete when students attend 40 hours per week. Please see Curriculum for instruction 
provided and the requirements to pass this course. 

Instruction is in residence with facility occupancy and staffing level accommodating 30 
students at any one time.  At the graduation students receive a Diploma.  

PROFESSION: 

Our educational programs are designed to lead to positions in the occupational trade of 
Barbering. Our school will prepare you to take the State Board of Barbering Examination to 
receive your California Barber’s license.  The requirements for eligibility for licensure is a 
Graduation Letter from our school and an approved application for Examination for Barbering 
from the State of California.  Please be prepared to provide all criminal records (if any) to the 
State of California upon applying for the exam. 

QUESTIONS: 

Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily 
answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, www.bppe.ca.gov, toll free 
telephone number (888) 370-7589 or by fax (916) 263-1897. 

STUDENT COMPLAINT / GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE 

Associated Barber College of San Diego has an established procedure for addressing student 
complaints.  A copy of the institutions complaint for is attached and additional copies are available 
at the school and/or may be obtained by contacting Joseph Roccoforte, the school’s director. 
Students may at any time during school hours approach a member of the instructional or 
management staff with his/her complaints or concerns.  All concerns and complaints must be 
submitted in writing and signed by the student.  Anonymously signed complaints will not be 
accepted. 

The school would appreciate the opportunity to adequately address the student’s 
concerns before the student contact any of the agencies listed below.  If the student feels that the 
school has not addressed a concern or complaint adequately, they may consider contacting the 
following the Bureau. 

Unresolved complaints may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 
Education,  Toll Free (888) 370-7589  Physical Address: 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, 
Sacramento California 95833  Mailing Address: PO Box 980818 West Sacramento, CA 95798­
0818 Phone: (916) 431-6959  Fax: (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov  All information in the 
content of this college catalog is current and correct and is so certified as true by 
Director/President, Joseph J. Roccoforte. 

A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 toll-free or by completing 
a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau’s internet website www.bppe.ca.gov 
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ADMINISTRATION 

College Administration and Faculty: 
The College is a California corporation whose board of Directors is: 

Mr. Joseph J. Roccoforte – Director/CEO/CAO/Instructor/Barber 
Mrs. Michelle M. B. Roccoforte – Associate Director/CFO/COO 

ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICIALS 

Mr. Joseph J. Roccoforte – Director/CEO/CAO/Instructor/Barber
 
Mrs. Michelle M. B. Roccoforte – Associate Director/CFO/COO
 
Mr. Ronald Skedel – Office Manager/Instructor/Barber 

Mr. Leandro Gan- Instructor/Barber/Cashier 

Mr. Anthony Roccoforte – Instructor/Barber/Cashier
 
Ms. Monica Mendez – Instructor/Barber/Cashier 


FACULTY 
Instructors are recruited based on their theoretical knowledge, practical skills and 

experience in the barbering profession.  Each instructor must have five years of experience in the 
working barber field to be qualified to teach.  They are fully trained and experienced in all aspects 
of Barber Science and the Arts of Barbering, both theoretical and practical.  The instructional staff 
includes: 

Mr. Joseph J. Roccoforte – Barber since 1962.  Instructor since 1973.  Second generation 
barber.  Has owned a barber school since 1975.  Owner of Salons, Barber Shops and Day Spas. 
Mrs. Michelle M. B. Roccoforte – In the barber profession since 1979.  Third generation in the 
industry. Experience as Registrar administrator/manager.  Owner of Salons, Barber Shops and 
Days Spas. 
Mr. Ronald Skedel- Master Barber/Instructor since 1994. Retired California Highway patrol 
officer and training officer. 
Mr. Leandro Gan – Barber/instructor.  Barber since 1983. 
Mr. Anthony Roccoforte – Barber/Instructor.  Barber since 2002 
Ms. Monica Mendez – Barber/Instructor.  Barber since 2003 

INSTRUCTIONAL FACILITIES 
The practical learning facility is located at 1333 5th Avenue San Diego, Ca 92101.  It 

consists of one floor that accommodates 30 students and is 2902 square feet.  Our practical 
facility and consists of 23 Paidar barber chairs and 3 styling chairs.  Behind each two chairs is a 
tool and towel cabinet, washbasin and work stand. Each station consists of a barber chair, back 
bar with mirrors, cabinets for tools, linen and soiled material receptacles. Infrared lamps, hair 
dryers and heating caps are supplied.  A mannequin table adjacent to the working floor is 
available for body waves and chemical process.  There is also a laundry room, lunch room and 
one A.D.A. rest room for men and women. There is also an administrative office that is 
equipment with metal fire safe cabinets, computer system, copier and fax machine.   

The theory learning facility is location at 1315 5th Avenue San Diego, Ca 92101.  The 
theory facility accommodates 24 students and is approximately 705 square feet.  The theory 
learning facility consists of 24 chairs and desks and a dry erase board.   

LIBRARY 
Our library is located in our Theory Facility at 1315 5th Avenue, San Diego.  Our library contains 
2-16” televisions with VHS players, 15 VHS barber training videos, 50 books/textbooks for 
resourceful information.  All students are allowed to access the resources in our library during 
school hours while the student is clocked in.  We ask that NO library materials or equipment leave 
the facility at any time.  
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ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS 

Students are admitted as regular students under one of the following criteria: 
All applicants must possess a high school diploma or its equivalent, or otherwise successfully 
take and pass an Ability to Benefit Test as required by the Bureau for Private Post Secondary, 
CCR 71770.  Applicants must be at least 17 years old. 

Faculty members schedule interviews for applicants.  During interviews, applicants 
complete admission applications.  Interviewers administer entrance exams, which include the 
Barber-Styling Student Aptitude Test.  This test evaluates aptitude, which underlie successful 
performance as a barber- stylist.  The institution has not entered into an articulation or transfer 
agreement with any other college or university. 

ENROLLMENT POLICY 

The number of students graduated at any one time determines the institution’s policy and 
regulations on enrollment with respects to enrollment dates.  The California State Barber Law 
determines the maximum.  We have an Open Enrollment policy. See the Office Manager for 
information regarding enrollment.  Students may apply for enrollment on any day of the College 
calendar. 

TRANSFER OF CREDIT IN FOR BARBER SCIENCE COURSE AND RECIPRICAL 
COSMETOLOGY LICENSING COURSE. 

Students who have previously attended another Barber School or College, recognized by 
the State of California will receive credit for such attendance by Associated Barber College of San 
Diego, Inc., when proof of said attendance is presented at time of enrollment. Current law cannot 
accept credit for attendance in a Cosmetology School, unless applying for the Reciprocal 
Cosmetology/Barber licensing; a current Cosmetology license or certification of graduation from a 
Cosmetology school is required for this course. 

California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology determines appropriate credit for 
previous education and training received outside of California for Bureau for Private 
Postsecondary Education and the California Law.  The student is responsible for providing 
transcripts of all prior training for evaluation by the College.  Applicable training will be noted, the 
course shortened and the tuition reduced as and if appropriate. 

TRANSFER OF CREDIT OUT FOR BARBER SCIENCE COURSE AND RECIPRICAL 
COSMETOLOGY LICENSING COURSE 

“NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND 
CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION”.  The transferability of credits you earn at 
Associated Barber College of San Diego is at the complete discretion on an institution to which 
you may seek to transfer.  Acceptance of the diploma you earn in 1500-hour Barber Science 
Course and 400-hour Reciprocal Cosmetology/Barbering Course is also at the complete 
discretion of the institution to which you may seek transfer.  If the credits or diploma that you earn 
at this institution are not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be 
required to repeat some or all of your course work at the institution.  For this reason you should 
make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals.  This may 
include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending Associated 
Barber College of San Diego to determine if your credits or diploma will transfer. This institution 
has not entered into an articulation or transfer agreement with any other college or university. 
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CALENDAR/HOLIDAYS 
The following holidays are given as per California State Barber Law if they fall on a 

school day: 
  New Year’s Day-January 1st   July 4th  Thanksgiving Day Christmas Day 

A special holiday may be declared for emergency or special reasons.  Holy Days of all 
religious beliefs are respected and allowed. 

STATEMENT OF NON-DISCRIMINATION 

Associated Barber College of San Diego does not discriminate on the basis of Race, 
Color, Religion, Sex, Age, Handicap, Financial Status, Sexual Preference, Area of Origin or 
Residence in its Admissions, Instruction, or Graduation policies. 

ACADEMIC POLICIES AND REGULATIONS 

Disclosure and Retention of Education Records 
Adult students and parents of minor students have the right to inspect, review, and 

challenge information contained in their education records or those of their minor children. 
Education records are defined as files, materials, and documents, which contain 

information directly related to the student and are maintained by the institution.  Written consent is 
required before education records may be disclosed to third parties with the exception of 
regulatory education agencies so authorized by law. 

Students are not entitled to inspect the financial records of their parents.  A College 
official must be in the office at all times during the examination of the student files. Student’s 
records are retained by the institution for a period of not less that five years from the date the 
student graduates, withdraws or otherwise ceases to be enrolled. 

SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS (SAP) 

Standards: This institution expects its students to maintain (SAP).  In order to maintain SAP as 
established by this institution, the student must: 
1.) Maintain a cumulative academic average of “C” (60%) or better on all tests, work projects 
(operations) and other required course work. 
2.) Maintain a cumulative average attendance level of at least 35 hours per week, approx 
140 hours per month, out of a typical 160 hours per month for a full-time student.  Students are 
not scheduled to attend less than 140 hours per month. 

Regardless of the average level of attendance, students who have more than three 
consecutive weeks of absences (15 class days) will be dismissed.  This standard shall apply to all 
students except those on approved Leave of Absence (see below).  Students who expect to be 
absent 15 or more days and wish to be retained as a student in good standing must request a 
Leave of Absence. 

In addition to attendance standards relating to Satisfactory Academic Progress, students 
are also required to adhere to certain other general institutional policies relating to attendance 
and tardiness.  These policies are outlined elsewhere in the catalog. 
3.) Complete the course within one and one-half (1-½) times the length of the course as 
defined in the enrollment agreement.  For example, if the student has contracted to complete the 
course within 40 weeks, he or she must complete within 60 weeks. 

Evaluation Periods:  Students compliance with the Satisfactory Academic Progress is 
divided into evaluation periods and is assessed at each of the following times: the point at which 
25% of the course is scheduled to be completed; the point at which 50% of the course is 
scheduled to be completed; the point at which 75% of the course is scheduled to be completed; 
and the point at which 100% of the course is scheduled to be completed. 

Special Note:  The percentage of the course, scheduled to be completed, is defined 
according to the terms of the enrollment agreement.  For example a student enrolled in a 38 
week, 1500 clock hour program would be evaluated for SAP after the 9th week; the 19th week and 
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the 38th week.  These dates would correspond to the point at which the student was scheduled to 
have completed 375, 750, 1125 and 1500 hours. 

ACADEMIC PROBATION 

Students who fail to meet the SAP standards during a given evaluation period will be 
placed on academic probation for one additional evaluation period. Probationary students who fail 
to meet SAP by the conclusion of the probation period will be deemed not to be making 
Satisfactory Academic Progress and will be dismissed from the program 

GRADING SYSTEM 

Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinic work.  The 
evaluations are measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a letter 
grade. Students must maintain a “C” (60%) average to maintain satisfactory academic status. 
The system detailed below is the grading system utilized in this College. 

Students must have good coordination, show an aptitude for barbering, and possess the 
ability to learn the various phases of barbering.  Students must maintain a grade average of at 
least 60. The College’s grading scale is shown below: 

100% - 90% Excellent 

89% - 80% Above Average

  79% - 60%  Average

  59% - below Failing 

The College uses a Student’s Monthly Computer Reporting Sheet to record student’s 
progress.  Instructors give theory test weekly.  Minimum passing grade certifying completion of a 
particular subject area is 60%.  The completion of each practical requirement will be entered 
weekly as per student time card. 

CONDITIONS FOR INTERRUPTION OF UNSATISFACTORY GRADE OR PROGRESS 

When the grade of a student is unsatisfactory for 60 days, the student will be placed on 
academic probation for a month.  If during the next month the student grade average is still 
unsatisfactory, the student will be terminated and VA or other appropriate agencies will be 
notified. 

CONDITIONS FOR RE-ENROLLMENT 

Re-enrollment will be approved only after evidence is shown to the director’s satisfaction 
that conditions, which caused the interruption, have been rectified, and the student can maintain 
satisfactory progress and attendance. 

Instructors provide extra help in theory and practical work.  Students may be terminated if 
they do not show progress within a reasonable time. 

The California Barber Law states that students must have completed 1500 hours of 
training in the Barber Science Course and failed examinations in order to re-enroll. 
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DISMISSAL POLICIES 

The institution may suspend students for unsatisfactory attendance, conduct, and non­
payment of tuition. 

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS 

Students must achieve required 1500 required clock hours, the required amount of the 
practical services, maintain a minimum passing score of 60% and fulfill all financial obligations to 
receive a diploma, which confirms satisfactory completion of all course requirements. 

CALIFORNIA BARBER BOARD REQUIREMENTS 

After a satisfactory completion of the Barber Science course the school prepares the necessary 
paper work to apply the student for the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 
examination.  The California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology then mails the student an 
exam date. After passing the state examination, individuals receive a Barber License. 

PRE-APPLICATION POLICY 

The California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology has a pre-application process.  This process 
allows a student to reserve his/her spot within 2 months of graduation.  The Board has the sole 
discretion to grant the pre-exam date.  The Board grants the pre-application process to students 
whom have no prior criminal record and is in good standing with the board. The Associated 
Barber College of San Diego Inc. offers this process as a privilege to each student.  It is totally 
the discretion of the school to pre-apply a student. The Pre Application process is granted with 
(but not limited to) the following criteria: 

- Student must have the School Director’s consent 
- Completion of 1125 hours 
- 75% tuition paid 
- 75% of required services completed 
- Student in good standing with school (no disciplinary measures taken) 
- Attendance on schedule for completion date 
- Test scores “C” average or above. 

If the pre-application process is not granted to the student by the board or the school, then the 
application process is applied and the test date is given as the test schedule dictated by the 
board, which could be up to one year. 

ATTENDANCE AND CONDUCT POLICY 
ATTENDANCE STATUS 

Full time: Full time students are required to be enrolled to attend a minimum of 35 hours per 
week.  The school does not have part time schedules available.   

A 	 Absence 

(1.) 	 Excused absence is at the discretion of the college administrative officials and 
includes illness, death or birth in the immediate family and any other valid reasons 
substantiated in writing.  All other absences are unauthorized and could result in 
student’s interruption. 

(2.) 	 Student will be allowed nine days of excused absences within his/her 1500 hour 
course, after which there will be a charge of $4.00 per hour for all unexcused 
absences. 

(3.) 	 An unexcused Saturday absence will result in a 2 day suspension, solely at the 
instructor's discretion. 
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ATTENDANCE AND CONDUCT POLICY 
ATTENDANCE STATUS (‘cont) 

Written request for leave of absence will be considered on an individual basis and may be 

granted to a student at the discretion of the College in accordance with the California State
 
Barber Law to complete the 1500 hour course within the thirty months period from date of 

enrollment.   


B Tardiness 

If student is more than seven minutes late, a valid excuse will be required. 


C Class Cuts
 
Each class cut will be considered as one unexcused absence, and will result in the student’s 

interruption and loss of time as an unexcused absence.
 

E Interruption for unsatisfactory attendance
 
Three (3) unexcused absences will result in a one-month academic probation.  Any unsatisfactory 

attendance during this probation period will result in an interruption.  Students enrolled in the
 
1500-hour course are allowed 9 days of absence.  Students enrolled in the 400-hour course are 

allowed 3 days of absence.  The College will suspend students for unsatisfactory attendance. 

Unauthorized tardiness results in class interruptions and lost time.  Repeated, unexcused tardies 

are cause for probation.  NOTE: 


F Leave of Absence
 
Written request for leave of absence will be considered on an individual basis and may be 

granted to a student at the discretion of the College in accordance with the California State
 
Barber Law to complete the 1500 hour course within the thirty months period from date of 

enrollment.  The California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology grants extensions in
 
extreme hardship cases. Students cannot make up lost time after 30 months time limit without an
 
extension from the Board.
 

Occasionally, students may experience extended personal, medical or other problems 
that make it difficult to attend class.  The institution may allow a student under such 
circumstances to take a Leave of Absence (LOA) from the program.  LOA must be requested in 
writing by the student and must be approved by the College.  LOA for non-medical reason may 
be granted for up to 60 days.  Medical LOA may be granted for up to six months with a written 
request from the student’s physician.  Do not request a LOA unless you absolutely need one. 
Under no circumstance can the College grant more than a single LOA within a 12-month period. 
Students returning from an LOA will be returned to the academic progress standing they help 
prior to the start of the leave.  Students who fail to return from an LOA will be considered 
dismissed as of the last class day of attendance prior to the start of the leave. 
Note: The College promptly notifies the Veterans Administration of VA student class 
interruptions. 

G Conduct Policy 
The College requires that a student conduct himself/herself in a courteous manner at all times.  
Refusal to conduct themselves in an orderly and considerate manner and comply with all rules 
and regulations of the college will be sufficient cause for interruption of training and any 
sponsoring agencies will be notified.  Our rules for student conduct are for successful Barbers.  
They are gathered from employers with many years of experience and are expected to conduct in 
all successful Barber Establishment. 
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CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE POLICY ALCOHOL AND DRUG ABUSE AND NOTICE TO ALL 
EMPLOYEES AND STUDENTS. 

A) 	 All students and employees are informed that the unlawful manufacture, distribution, 
dispersion, possession, or use of a controlled substance or alcohol within the 
premises of the College is strictly prohibited.  Employees and students violating this 
rule will be subject to immediate termination of employment or college program. 

B) 	 Drug free awareness program and detailed information regarding: 
1.) Dangers of drug and alcohol abuse 
2.) Assistance with drug and alcohol abuse counseling 
3.) Penalties for the abuse of alcohol or drugs 
4.) Rehabilitation programs.  The following local agencies provide assistance to our 

employees, students and their families. 

McDonald Center  (619) 458-4300
 
Scripps Hospital 

9888 Genesee Avenue
 
La Jolla, CA 92037
 

Alternative Action (800 777-9376
 
155 W. Hospitality #253 

San Bernardino, CA 92408
 

Drug Information Hot Lines: 

National Institute on Drug Abuse 	   (800) 662-HELP 
(800) 843-4971 

National Clearing House for Drug Information   (800) 729-6686 
U. S. Dept of Education, South West Regional (213) 598-7661 
U. S. Dept of Education Task Force	 (202) 708-9069 

As stated above, students and employees are subject to termination for violation of this College 
rule. In addition, persons distributing drugs to employees or students will be referred to the 
authorities and the College will press charges of drug distribution. 

C) 	 Each employee and student is required to read this statement. 

D) 	 Your continued employment and/or schooling is subject to: 
1.) Abide by the terms of this statement, and 
2.) Notify the administration of any criminal statute conviction for a violation 

occurring in the workplace no later than 5 days after such conviction. 

E) 	 The U. S. Drug Agency will be notified within 10 days after receiving notice under 
subparagraph D Line 2 from an employee or student or otherwise a copy of such 
conviction will be submitted to the Agency. 

F) 	 The College will take the following actions within 30 days of receiving notice under 
subparagraph D Line 2 with respect to any employee or student who is so convicted. 
1.) Terminate employment of the employee or the schooling of the student, or 
2.) Require such employee or student to participate satisfactorily in a drug abuse 

assistance or rehabilitation program approved for such purposes by a Federal, 
State, or local health enforcement, or other appropriate agency. 
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G) 	 Penalty for possession and/or use of controlled substances and alcohol abuse vary with 
specific instructions and are at the discretion of the judge in specific cases.  For first time 
convictions of the use of a controlled substance or alcohol abuse, many will be referred to 
a rehabilitation/education program.  However, state and/or federal law provide penalty 
guidelines for drug trafficking or selling/providing alcohol to anyone under 21 are as 
follows: 

Substance    Crime and Penalties 
Chemically treated and/or manufactured drugs Felony, up to 10 years in prison and $4 million 
Marijuana Felony, up to 20 years in prison and $4-$10 Million 
Selling/Providing alcohol to minors Felony or Misdemeanor, discretion of the judge 

All Schools are required to have a program or plan of drug prevention in effect.  This program 
must be available to students as well as to staff members.  A school may approach one or more 
organizations that assist the general public (hospitals for example) with drug problems.  That 
organization may give them the name of an official that can be contacted, the school would then 
be considered to be in compliance with the drug prevention requirement. 
In some cases many agencies are supported by the state and the cost to the user may be little or 
nonexistent.  At this College we are suggesting the use of the following company for compliance 
with this new law.  Counseling and/or advice is available to students attending this institution, see 
the college administer for assistance. 

APPEAL PROCEDURES 
Students who wish to appeal the decision that they are not making Satisfactory Academic 
Progress must submit a written request to the institution’s administrator.  The letter should 
describe any circumstances related to the student’s academic standing which the student 
believes deserve special consideration.  The administrator shall evaluate the appeal within a 
reasonable time frame and notify the student in writing of the administrator’s decision. Should the 
student’s appeal be denied, he or she may appear before a college committee to present his or 
her case.  The committee shall provide written notice to the student of its decision within a 
reasonable time frame.  The decision of the committee shall be final. 
A student that prevails upon the appeal process, re-entering the program after an interruption of 
training, or having re-established satisfactory progress, and determined as making satisfactory 
progress will be reinstated to the student.  Students accepted for re-entering the program who 
previously were not making satisfactory progress must attain a satisfactory progress status within 
(45) days of reentry to remain in good standing. 

COURSE INCOMPLETES 
Course incompletes, repetitions and non-credit remedial courses are not applicable to this 
institution’s form of instruction. 

METHOD OF INSTRUCTION 
All courses of instruction in Barbering are taught in English through a combination of lectures, 

demonstration, class work, supervised practical work, videotapes, and audio visual aids. In
 
addition, skilled professionals are invited from within the barbering industry to provide specialized 

lectures and demonstrations.
 
All instructors possess certifications to teach Barbering to English speaking students.  Textbooks, 

other written materials, all instruction and tests including the State Board Test are in English
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COLLEGE RULES AND REGULATIONS 
All students receive a copy of the Rules and Regulations when they receive the College 
enrollment Agreement.  Students must read and sign the Rules and Regulations before entering 
class.  Students may be suspended or terminated if academic progress, behavior, absences, 
lateness, dress, etc. does not conform to the institution’s rules, regulations and requirements. 

1. Students are required to be on time. 
2. Students who fail to clock in or out will not be credited for time spent in school that day. 
3. A doctor’s statement is required for absences of 24 hours or more. 
4. Students will attend classes and demonstrations unless excused. 
5. All students will wear slacks and a clean white smock maintaining appearance. 
6. Students must report to college ready for school, hair combed and dried, shaved, etc. 
7. Students will practice good hygiene while in school. 
8. An unexcused Saturday absence will result in a two day suspension. 
9. Students must sign in and out for lunch 
10. Students will act in a professional matter at all times to customers, faculty and students. 
11. Students will not converse with other students while with a patron. 
12. Students are not allowed to eat on main floor. 
13. Students will stand at assigned station when patron is designated. 
14. Students will be assigned chairs by instructors or management. 
15. Students are not permitted to work on other students without approval from instructor. 
16. Free services done on other students will be limited with approval from instructor. 
17. The school is not responsible for student’s possesions, including tools at any time. 
18. Students are not allowed to use other student’s tools. 
19. Students must abide by State Laws for sanitation at all times. 
20. Students are required to keep work stations clean at all times. 
21. Students must clean and prepare station for next day at the end of each day. 
22. Any student who is caught stealing or becomes destructive to property will be expelled. 
23. Students who are found under the influence of a controlled substance will be expelled. 
24. Students are not allowed to leave the instructional facility while clocked in. 
25. Students must have paper and pen available for class. 
26. Cell phones are to be turned off while clocked in school. 
27. Students must be set up and ready to learn prior to clocking in. 
28. No washing smocks at school. 
29. White smocks are mandatory school apparel. 
30. No sleeping at school at any time. 
31. No Ipods, Cell Phones or other electronic devices can be in use during class time. 
32. Students must wear closed toed shoes. 
33. No Music is to be brought in by a student. 
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PLACEMENT 
Job placement assistance is provided to graduate students at no additional charge, but the 
College gives no guarantee of employment for does the College use placement data as an 
incentive to entice prospective students to enroll. Notices are posted on the student bulletin board 
of jobs available from neighboring Barber establishments.  
Just prior to graduation each student is given an exit interview.  During this interview the student 
is provided the opportunity to review a current listing of employers who have positions available. 
Students are advised that the College maintains a current listing of job opening opportunities and 
the graduate is encouraged to check back with the College at any time after the graduate has 
passed the State Board exams and received their license for assistance with employment. 
The graduate is also encouraged to keep in contact from time to time with the College to keep us 
abreast of his/her progress, employment status, and provide feed back on the scope of the 
training the student received at the College. 
The College does not guarantee job placement and makes no claims as to wages or level of 
income.  However, instructors teach interviewing techniques and assist graduate in locating 
employment.  The College office provides a list of current barber positions and provides 
placement assistance in the form of referrals to potential employers. 

ADVISING/COUNSELING 
All students are counseled individually, in-accordance with the Satisfactory Academic Progress 
Policy to review the student’s progress.  Students may request additional counseling sessions at 
any time regarding academic, personal, financial, or placement advice. 
Counseling services are provided, and faculty members encourage students to seek help. 
Instructors also provide added assistance to students who need extra help in theory or practical 
work. The institution provides all resources needed to complete coursework.  Students can 
investigate outside resources at numerous branch libraries or at the main library, which is not far 
from the College. 

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS 
When a student has completed the required hours of instruction, theory hours, and practical 
operations in Barbering, Cosmetology/Barbering, or Teacher Training, with a grade average of 
“C” (60%) or better, he/she is awarded a diploma certifying his/her graduation.  Students are 
assisted in completing the necessary documents to file for the appropriate State Barber Board 
Examination. 
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CURRICULUM 

Starting Dates 
Open enrollment allows students to enroll anytime openings exist. Accepted applicants should 
contact the College office to schedule an interview and obtain a starting date. 

Requirements to Enroll- 
All applicants must have a 10th grade education, have a valid California ID and Federal Social 
Security number. 

Training Schedule 
Practical aspects of training will run continuous from 

8:30am to 5:00pm Tuesday through Saturday 

BARBER COURSE OF STUDY – 1500 Clock Hours 
The course of study for students enrolled in a barber course shall consist of fifteen hundred 
(1500) clock hours including a minimum of 120 hours technical instruction and the balance of 
approximately 1380 hours of practical operations covering all practices constituting the barbering 
vocation. A student enrolled on a full time status of 40 hours per week can complete this course 
in 38 weeks. 

Educational Goals – D. O. T. #330.371-010  C. I. P. #12.0402 
The barbering course of study is designed to prepare students for the state licensing examination 
and for profitable employment as a barber, barber shop owner or manager.  The knowledge and 
skills will prepare licensed students for work as a barber, platform artist, hair coloring technician, 
salon manager or owner, product demonstrator, marketing, and sales. 
Technical instruction (theory) means instruction by demonstration, lectures, classroom 
participation or examination.  Practical operation means actual performance by the student of a 
complete service on another person or mannequin.  Our institution uses direct method of 
instruction. 

Advance theory and practical subjects 
Cells, Digestion, Circulation, Muscles, Nervous System, Skin and its Appendages, Blood supply
 
to the face, Shedding of hair, Light Therapy, Cosmetic preparation, Skin and Scalp ailments,
 
Hygiene, Sanitation and Bacteriology, Theory of Massaging, Hair Coloring, Blood supply to the
 
Scalp, Re-growth of the Hair, Hair Relaxing, Barbering State Laws and Regulations.
 
Hair Chemistry, P. H., Hair Design, Salon Management, Salon Layout, Salon Retailing, Chemical 

Reformation, Advertisement, Product Knowledge, Professionalism.
 

Instruction and practical operations shall include 
Basic Subjects Covered in Theory 

Description of all Student Services and Practical operations to be rendered:       
Minimum Operations 

Haircuts and Hairstyles 750
 Shampoos 25 

Shaves 40 
 Scientific Rest Facials 20 
 Scalp Manipulations 20 

Hair Curling and Waving  20 
Hair Coloring and Tinting  5 
Hair Relaxing and Processing  5 
Approximately 1380 Clock Hours 
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Instruction on the following  - (No minimum services required) 
Hair Styling 
Hairpieces 
Conditioning Treatments 
Health & Safety (20 hours). 

The 1500 hour course of instruction, will cover not less than 120 hours which will be allocated to 
the practical and/or theoretical phases of the course, in a manner determined necessary by the 
College, on an individual student basis.  The balance of the 1500 hours will be devoted to 
practical applications. 

Licensing requirements for Barber Science 
A Registered Barber license will be granted by the State Barber Board only after the student has 
successfully completed and graduated from the Barbering course as described previously and 
passed the State Barber Board Exam with an overall overage of 75%.  All testing applicants must 
have completed 

RECIPROCAL COSMETOLOGY/BARBERING D. O. T. #330.371-010  C. I. P. #12.0402 
LICENSING PREPARATION COURSE 

This program is designed to assist Cosmetologists licensed by the State of California to augment 
their previous training with specific instruction in subjects relating the profession of barbering 
techniques and to prepare for the Barber Board Examination. 
The course of study for students enrolled in a cosmetology/barber course shall consist of four 
hundred (400) clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering phases of 
barber training.  These subjects prepare the student for the California Registered Barber 
Examination. 
The barber course for Cosmetologist requires a minimum of 400 hours of training.  A student 
enrolled on a full time status of 40 hours per week can complete this course in 10 weeks. 
Applicants for this course must possess a current California Cosmetology License or certificate of 
graduation from a California Cosmetology school. 
Technical instruction (theory) means instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom 
participation, or examination. Practical operation means actual performance by the student of a 
complete service on another person or mannequin.  Such technical instruction and practical 
operations shall include: 

Theory 
Theory subjects taught are the basic fundamentals as required by the California Barber Book; 

Chapter 6, Division 3 of the Business and Professions Code, Article 3 Section 65h5.
 
30 Clock Hours 


Shave, Scientific Rest Facials, Incline Shampoos, Hairstyling Scientific Scalp Massage and
 
Tapered Haircut.  370 Clock Hours 


State Board procedures Practical Applications 
State Barber Board Procedure Mannequin Procedure Haircutting and Styling Additional subjects 
as needed. 

Licensing requirements for Barber Science 
A Registered Barber license will be granted by the State Barber Board only after the student has 
successfully completed and graduated from the Barbering course as described previously and 
passed the State Barber Board Exam with an overall overage of 75%. 

16
 



 

 

 
 

 
 

   
   
   
   
   

    
    

    
   
   
   
   
   
   

    
    

   
    

   
    

   
   
   
   
   

    

 

   
 
 

   
 

 
   

 
 

 
 
 
 

BARBER KIT EQUIPMENT AND TEXT BOOKS INCLUDING TAX (NON-REFUNDALBLE)
 

ITEM PRICE TAX TOTAL 
PRICE 

TEXTBOOK & WORKBOOK $150.00 $11.63 $161.63 
TOOLCASE $32.25 $2.50 $34.75 
CLIPPER $112.00 $8.68 $120.68 
EDGER $67.25 $5.21 $72.46 
BLOWDRYER $22.25 $1.72 $23.97 
BARBER SHEAR $45.75 $3.55 $49.30 
STYLING SHEAR $48.00 $3.72 $51.72 
BLENDING SHEAR $104.00 $8.06 $112.06 
CHAIR CLOTH $13.25 $1.03 $14.28 
CLOTH CLIP $0.90 $0.07 $0.97 
STYLING BRUSH $2.50 $0.19 $2.69 
BARBER COMBS (3) $2.75 $0.21 $2.96 
FLAT TOP COMB $1.25 $0.10 $1.35 
BARBER RAZOR $20.00 $1.55 $21.55 
RAZOR BLADES $3.75 $0.29 $4.04 
STYPTIC POWDER $2.00 $0.16 $2.16 
CLIPPER OIL $2.75 $0.21 $2.96 
NECK DUSTER $8.75 $0.68 $9.43 
CURLING IRON $9.75 $0.76 $10.51 
CLIPPER GUARDS $10.50 $0.81 $11.31 
TINT KIT $5.25 $0.41 $5.66 
MIRROR $3.50 $0.27 $3.77 
WATER BOTTLE $2.50 $0.19 $2.69 
WHITE TOWELS (2D) $29.00 $2.25 $31.25 
BARBER COAT $30.00 $2.33 $32.33 
STERALIZER JAR $19.00 $1.47 $20.47 

TAX $65.53 

TOTAL COST $748.90 $814.43 

$814.43 List of Tool Kit is available upon request.  It is mandatory that all 1500 Hour Barber 
Course students purchase a took kit from Associated Barber College of San Diego.   

NOTE: The Associated Barber College of San Diego, Inc. reserves the right to change the 
conditions, terms, fees and course offerings printed in this catalog.  Therefore, prospective 
applicants should not consider this catalog to be a contract. 
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TUITION POLICY 
All tuition and fees are payable prior to commencing classes unless other arrangements have 
been made. 

FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE POLICY, TITLE IV 
The institution does not participate direct financial assistance or in Federal and State Financial 
programs.  Students are responsible for obtaining loans, grants or sponsors for tuition.  There are 
public and private agencies that may provide tuition assistance in the form of grants or loans.  For 
information on this possibility, contact the Director.  If a student obtains a loan, the student will 
have to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of an refund, and that, if 
the student receives federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the 
money not paid from federal financial aid funds. 

TUITION AND FEE SCHEDULE 

Course 
Barber Course (1500 Hours) 

Tuition Fee 
$5,250 

Reg. Fee 
$100 

Uniform/  
STRF Tools/Books 

   $10  $814.43 
Total 

$6,174.43 
Reciprocal License (400 Hours) $1,890 $100  $10   $0  $2,000.00 

EXTRA INSTRUCTION CHARGES 
Students are expected to complete their training within the time specified in the Enrollment 
Agreement.  If a student requires additional training beyond the scope of the course and/or 
beyond the maximum time frames as described in the catalog, the hourly rate of $4.00 may 
accrue. 

STUDENT PROTECTION POLICY STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND 
You must pay the state-imposed assessment for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) if all 
of the following applies to you: 
1. You are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a 
residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed student loans, 
or personal loans, and 
2. Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, government 
program or other payer unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party. 

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF 
assessment, if either of the following applies: 
1. You are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program, or 
2. Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or 
other payer, and you have no separate agreement to repay the third party." 

The State of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate 
economic losses suffered by students in educational programs who are California residents, or 
are enrolled in a residency programs attending certain schools regulated by the Bureau for 
Private Postsecondary Education. 

You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident or are enrolled in a residency 
program, prepaid tuition, paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result 
of any of the following: 
1. The school closed before the course of instruction was completed. 
2. The school's failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a third party for license 
fees or any other purpose, or to provide equipment or materials for which a charge was collected 
within 180 days before the closure of the school. 
3. The school's failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed student 
loan program as required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the school prior to 
closure in excess of tuition and other costs. 
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STUDENT PROTECTION POLICY STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND (con’t) 

4. There was a material failure to comply with the Act or this Division within 30 days before the 
school closed or, if the material failure began earlier than 30 days prior to closure, the period 
determined by the Bureau. 
5. An inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on a judgment against the 
institution for a violation of the Act." 

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer 
identification number. 

REFUND OF TUITION CALCULATION CHART - Amount of Refund 

Course	  Tuition  10% 25% 50% 60% 75% 

Barber Course (1500 Hours) $5250 $4725 $3938 $2625 $2100 $1313 

Reciprocal License (400 Hours) $1700 $1530 $1275 $ 850 $ 680 $ 425 

NOTICE OF CANCELLATION, WITHDRAWAL AND REFUND RIGHTS 

1.)	 You have the right to cancel this agreement for educational service, any equipment or other goods and 
services, at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later. Cancellation occurs 
when you give written notice of cancellation at School address shown on the front page of this agreement.  You 
can do this by mail, in person, by FAX, or telegram.  The notice of cancellation, if mailed is effective when 
deposited in the mail, properly addressed with postage prepaid.  This notice of cancellation forms on the first 
day of class.  If you cancel this agreement, School will refund any money that you paid within 30days after you 
notice is received. 

2.)	 If School has given you any equipment, you shall return it to School within 30 days following the date of your 
notice of cancellation. If you fail to return this equipment in good condition within thie30 day period, School may 
retain that portion of payment paid by you and deduct the cost from any refund that may be due to you.  Once 
you pay for the equipment, it is yours to keep without further obligation.  Barber equipment, tools and uniform, 
once used, is not returnable. 

3.) You have the right to withdraw from School at any time.  If you withdraw from the course of instruction after the 
cancellation period as in Par 1, School will remit a refund less a registration fee, not to exceed $100.00 within 
30 days following your withdrawal.  You are obligated to pay only for educational services rendered and 
unreturned equipment.  The refund shall be the amount you paid for instruction multiplied by fraction, the 
numerator of which is the number of hours of instruction which you, have not received, but for which you have 
paid, the denominator of which is the total number of hours of instruction for which you have paid.  If you obtain 
equipment, as specified on the front page of this agreement, and return it in good condition within 30days 
following the date of your withdrawal, School shall refund the amount paid by you for equipment.  If you fail to 
return equipment in good condition, within 30 days, School may retain the documented cost of the listed 
equipment. You are liable for the amount, if any, by which the documented cost for equipment exceeds the 
refund amount. If the amount you have paid is more than the amount that you owe, then a refund will be made 
within 30 days of withdrawal.  If the amount that you owe is more than the amount that you paid, then you will 
have to make arrangements to pay it. 

4.)	 HYPOTHETICAL REFUND EXAMPLE: 
5.)	 Assume you, upon enrollment in a 1500-hour course, pay $1,500 for tuition, $100 for registration and withdraw 

after completing 375 hours (25%). 
375 hours x $3.50 = $1312.50 - $1500.00 = ($187.50) 
completed cost per hr.    Amt owed for hours  Paid for Tuition     Refund Amount 
If you return the equipment in good condition within5 days following withdrawal, School shall refund the charge 
for the equipment.   

6.)	 For the purpose of determining the amount you owe, you shall be deemed to have withdrawn from the course 
when any of the following occurs: (a) You notify School of your withdrawal or the actual date of withdrawal; (b) 
School terminates your enrollment; (c) you fail to attend classes for a three week period; (d) You fail to return 
from a leave of absence.  In this case, the date of withdrawal shall be deemed to be the last date of recorded 
attendance. 

7.) 	 If any portion of your tuition was paid from loan proceeds, the refund will be sent to the lender or agency that 
guaranteed the loan.  Any remaining refund amount will first be used to repay any student financial and 
programs from which you received benefits, to the extent of benefits received.  Any remaining amount will be 
paid to you. 

8.)	 If the course is cancelled subsequent to a student’s enrollment, the School shall at its option provide a refund of 
all monies paid, or provide completion of the course. 
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REMEMBER, YOU MUST CANCEL IN WRITING.  You do not have the right to cancel by just 
telephoning the college or by not coming to class.   

NOTICE OF STUDENTS RIGHTS 

1.) You have the right to cancel this agreement for educational service, any equipment or 
other goods and services, at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, 
whichever is greater as described in the Notice of Cancellation form that will be given to 
you upon enrollment. Read the Notice of Cancellation form for an explanation of 
your cancellation rights and responsibilities. If you have lost your Notice of 
Cancellation form, ask the college for a sample. 

2.) After the end of the cancellation period, you also have the right to stop college at any 
time, and you have the right to receive a refund for the part of the course not taken.  Your 
refund rights are described in the contract.  If you have lost your copy of the contract, ask 
the college for a description of the refund policy. 

3.) If the college closes before you graduate, you may be entitled to a refund.  Contact the 
BPPE at the address and telephone number printed below this information. 

4.) Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily 
answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 
Education at 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, 
www.bppe.ca.gov, toll free telephone number (888) 370-7589 or by fax (916) 263-1897. 

NOTE:  You received a copy of this notice when you enrolled for classes. 

BANKRUPTCY 
This Institution has no pending petition in bankruptcy nor is it operating as a debtor in possession. 

This institution has not filed a petition within the preceding five years, nor has had a petition in bankruptcy 
filed against it within the preceding five years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of The 
United States Bankruptcy Code. 

HOUSING 

Associated Barber College of San Diego does not have dormitory facilities under it’s 
control. The availability of housing depends on the housing market at the time of enrollment.  
Please refer to www.sandiego.gov/housing for information on housing near our College.  This 
website will give you ample information on the availability of housing located reasonably near the 
institution’s facilities and an estimation of the approximate cost or range of housing.  San Diego's 
overall cost of living is 36% above the national average, with housing costs, including apartment 
rentals, taking up a large chunk of residents' finances. The median price of apartments is $760, 
with the average price of all two-bedroom apartments for rent running at $1,200. The vacancy 
rate tends to be very low—less than 1% in recent studies—which means it can be difficult to find 
good apartments in your price rang 
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VISA 

Associated Barber College of San Diego does not admit students form other countries.  All 
students must have a United States Social Security Number.  Our college does not provide English 
Language Services.  Our college does not provide Visa Services.  The level of English language 
proficiency is that of the equivalent of passing 10th grade.  Instruction does not occur in any other 
language than English. 

RECORDS 

It is the policy of Associated Barber College of San Diego to retain all student records for 5 years 
and transcripts are kept permanently.  The records are the property of Associated Barber College and will 
be kept at 1333 5th Avenue San Diego, CA 92101 (619) 234-7703 Fax (619) 234-8257 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 
Toll Free (888) 370-7589  
Physical Address: 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento California 95833   
Mailing Address: PO Box 980818 West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818  
Phone: (916) 431-6959   
Fax: (916) 263-1897   
www.bppe.ca.gov 
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