
 

 

        
              

       
           

  
 

      
      
          

 

      
         

    
 

 

 
 

 
  

 
  

 

 
 

    

       

        

   
 

    

  
 

    

     

 

 

          
      

 

           
         

           
 

 

         
         

             
      

  

         
            

      
  

        
      

SCHOOL PERFORMANCE FACT SHEET
 

“This program information requirement is new, therefore, the number of students who graduate, the 
number of students who are placed, or the starting salary you can earn after finishing the educational 
program are unknown at this time. Information regarding general salary and placement statistics 
may be available from government sources or from the institution, but is not equivalent to actual 
performance data.” 

“This fact sheet is filed with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. Regardless of any 
information you may have relating to completion rates, placement rates, starting salaries, or license 
exam passage rates, this fact sheet contains the information as calculated pursuant to state law.” 

“Any questions a student may have regarding this fact sheet that have not been satisfactorily 
answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 
P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818, 888.370.7589, www.bppe.ca.gov. “ 

Program Name 
Completion 

Rates 
Placement Rates 

Licensure/Exam 
Passage Rates 

Salaries 

Massage Therapy Program (130 
HRS) 

86.60% 35.7% N/A N/A* 

Deep Tissue Practitioner (120 HRS) 97.00% 71.4% N/A N/A* 

Massage Practitioner (250 HRS) 96.50% 72.0% N/A $26,000/ Yr. 

Holistic Massage Therapist (500 
HRS) 

81.00% 57.1% N/A N/A* 

Certified Holistic Health Practitioner 
(720 HRS) 

0.00% 0.00% N/A N/A* 

* Not enough data reported to calculate 

Completion Rates: Completion rates are calculated by students graduating at 100% (when a 
student has completed the entire program within the projected end date). 

Placement Rates: We do not have a placement service program. However, we do have a career 
opportunity posting board that allows our students and graduates to obtain information on local 
businesses that are currently hiring as well as special event postings that allow students to self 
promote. 

Licensure/Exam Passage Rates: Depending upon the therapist’s professional path, a business 
license may not be required if the therapist is not planning to be self employed, but instead they 
may need to become state certified if they plan to be an employee. The costs shown below are 
based on rates as of today and are all subject to change. 

	 California State Certification through California Massage Therapy Council (CAMTC) – 
The cost is $150.00 for the initial application, which lasts for two years. The renewal cost is 
$125.00 and good for two years. This will also require live scan fingerprinting at an 
additional $70-80. 

	 National Certification through National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & 
Bodywork (NCBTMB) – The exam fee is $225.00. 

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/


        
          
    

       
   

           
        

      
 

  

   
 

       

  

  

       

   
 

 

   

    
 

    

  

  

       

   
 

 

   

    
 

    

  
 

    

   
  

    

 
  

 

 

  
 

  

   
  

 
 

 
  

  
 

  

 
 

 
  

 

  
   

  
 

  

       

 

 

   
     

  

 

  
 

 
 

 

 

 
 

        

	 Business License/Permits – The cost and requirements are different from city to county 
and can range from $10/Year to over $165/3 years. Typically a business license renewal 
requires a minimum of 12CE hours/year. 

	 Insurance through Associated Bodywork & Massage Professionals (ABMP) - The cost 
range from $199-$229 annually. 

	 Salaries: Hourly wages can range from $15.00/hour and can go well over $90.00/Hour 
depending upon the therapist’s expertise and location of business. Hourly rates also vary 
according to whether or not the therapist is self-employed. 

Additional Statistics Provided by Outside Resources 
*Massage Therapists in 
California (SOC Code: 31-
9011) 

Occupational Wages 
Hour By Percentile 

Area Year Period Hourly 
Mean 

25th Median 75th 

California 

Occupational Wages 
Hour By Percentile 

2011 1st Qtr $18.96 $12.30 $16.84 $22.64 

Area Year Period Hourly 
Mean 

Median Annually 

Sacramento 

Industries Employing This 
Occupation 

2011 1st Qtr $17.27 $35,919 

Percent of Total 

Industry Title 
Number of 

Employers in 
CA 

Employment for Occupation 
in CA 

Personal Care Services 52,845 20.3% 

Offices of Other Health 
Practitioners 

30,349 7.3% 

*Above Information provided 
by the Employment 

Development Department’s 
Occupational Employment 

Statistics (03/14/11) 

**Massage Therapists – 31-9011.00 

Occupational Title Mean 
Hourly 
Wage 

Annual Annual 
Average 

Employment 
2011/2016 

Employment 
Change 

Numerical 

Employment 
Change Percent 

Massage Therapist $17.25 $35,873 1199 / 1385 185 15% 



   
 

   
 

      
 

 

 

     

 

 

 

 

 

        
       

        
   

 

          
             

  
 

        
       
            

        
              

 

 

      
        

       
 

 

** Above Information provided by 
CareerGPS.com 2010-2011 
Occupational Outlook Report (as of 
4/1/02011). 
CareerGPS.com and is a product of: 
Sacramento Works (http://seta.net/), 
LEED (http://www.leed.org/), and 
Partnership for Prosperity 
(http://www.valleyvision.org/partner 
ship/index.html) 

***Massage Therapists 
Employment of massage therapists is expected to grow. Opportunities should be available to 
those who complete formal training programs and pass a professionally recognized examination, 
but new massage therapists should expect to work only part time until they can build a client 
base of their own. 

Employment change: Employment of massage therapists is expected to increase by 13 percent 
from 2008-2018. Employment will grow as more people learn about the benefits of massage 
therapy. 

Earnings: Median hourly wages of massage therapists, including gratuities, were $16.78 in May 
2008. The middle 50 percent earned between $11.36 and $25.14. The highest 10 percent 
earned more than $33.47. Because many therapists work part time, yearly earnings can vary 
considerably, depending on the therapist’s schedule. Generally, massage therapists earn some 
portion of their income as gratuities. For those who work in a hospital or other setting, tipping is 
not common. 

Any questions a student may have regarding this fact sheet that have not been satisfactorily 
answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 
under the Department of Consumers Affairs P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818, 
888.370.7589. 


