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APPROVAL DISCLOSURE  STATEMENT:  California Paralegal College is a private institution and was 

granted approval from the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education.  The Bureau=s approval means that the 

institution and its operation comply with the standards established under the law for occupational instruction by 

private postsecondary educational institutions. Institutional approval must be re-approved every three years and is 

subject to continuing review. Approved is the following course:  PARALEGAL: 433 HOURS 

Class sessions will be held at 461 Grass Valley Hwy., Ste. 18, Auburn, CA  95603 with facility occupancy level 

accommodating 16 students at any one time. 

California statute requires that a student who successfully completes a course of study be awarded an appropriate 

certificate verifying the fact. 

Prospective students are encouraged to contact the school and discuss personal educational and occupational plans 

with school personnel prior to enrolling or signing enrollment agreements. All information in the content of this school 

catalog is current and correct and is so certified as true by Kathleen Crain, School Director/Owner.  Any questions a 

student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to 

the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA  95833, 

www.bppe.ca.gov, toll-free telephone number (888) 370-7589 or by fax (916) 263-1897. 

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement.  You 

are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an 

enrollment agreement. 

MISSION & PURPOSE: Our philosophy is education through practical training. While theory is taught in the 

classroom, hands-on experience and modern practical training is stressed to assist the individual student to meet 

current job market entry level requirements.  The school's academic goals are to stimulate and assist the student to 

acquire a positive attitude toward work, participate actively and responsibly at work, acquire the knowledge and skills 

necessary to obtain employment in a chosen field and to acquire the ability to apply, at work, this knowledge and these 

skills in effective and efficient ways. 

COURSE: Paralegal - 433 hours.  Our course is designed to provide students with complete and comprehensive 

training in the main areas of Paralegal.  Our course is designed for the student who has no prior experience in the 

Paralegal field.  The reasonably diligent student can expect  to find employment as a Paralegal. 

PROGRESS POLICY: Grade average required for certifying completion of course is a minimum passing grade of  

70% in each module. 

Graduation:  Each student, after successful completion, will receive a certificate of completion.   To successfully 

complete the course requires successfully passing all tests with a grade of  70% or better, submitting all outside 

assignments with 70% or better and accomplishing internship requirements.   All students have 18 months, from the 

time of starting the program, to complete. 

Grading System 

The school's grading system is: 

1.  Excellent 90-100  A 

2.  Above Average 80-89  B 

3.  Average 70-79  C 

4.  Below Average 60-69  D 

5.  Unsatisfactory 59 or below   F 

COURSE DESCRIPTION: 
Law Office Procedures: (12 Hours) Paralegal definition, how paralegal are utilized, duties, office skills required, law 

office systems, job opportunities, research and writing overview, ethics, scope and source of law, courts, introduction 

to types of law  

Commencing Civil Lawsuits:  (27 Hours) Breach of Contract Lawsuit Introduction to contracts, interviewing new 

clients, research, drafting and procedure: summons, complaint, answer (pleading and form), letters (demand and  
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miscellaneous), amended complaint, general denial, default documents, demurrer, cross-complaint, court filing, 

service of process, client communication, tickling, calendaring drafting letters, time sheets, filing 

Discovery: (24 Hours) Introduction to evidence, discovery codes, research, drafting and procedure for discovery 

documents: depositions, interrogatories, obtaining records, request for admissions, inspection of documents and 

things, exchange of expert witness information, physical and mental examinations, motions to compel, client 

communication, tickling, calendaring, drafting letters, time sheets, filing 

Preparation for Trial: (15 Hours) Research, drafting documents and procedure: setting a case for trial, pretrial and 

settlement conferences, settlement documents, motions shortening or extending time, substitution of attorney, 

subpoenas, pretrial investigation, taking witness statements, jury instructions, briefs, pretrial motions, arbitration, trial 

notebook, client communication, pretrial tickling, calendaring, drafting letters, time sheets, filing 

Procedures after Trial: (12 Hours) Research, drafting documents and procedure: statement of decision, judgment, 

renewal of judgments, cost bills, motion for new trial, order of examination, writ of execution (attaching wages and 

bank accounts), writ of possession (real and personal property), writ of sale (selling assets of debtor), abstract and 

satisfaction of judgment, acknowledgments, collection procedure, withdrawal of attorney, client communications, 

tickling, calendaring, drafting letters, time sheets, filing 

Research and Writing: (45 Hours) Introduction and utilization of law library. Understanding  the legal system 

(mandatory vs. persuasive). Legal writing (IRAC), legal reading (reading, understanding and briefing a case), legal 

reporting (cases, statutes, citations), legal research (secondary source books, searching through legal source 

books-methodology, Honigsberg grid, shepardizing), putting it all together (preparation of memorandum of law and 

memorandum of points and authorities/brief). 

Torts: (18 Hours) Introduction to the law of torts, production and procedure for a complete personal injury lawsuit 

including interaction with insurance companies, client communication, tickling, calendaring, letter production, time 

sheets, filing 

Probate: (21 Hours) Introduction to Probate law, research, drafting documents and procedure for a complete probate 

under the Independent Administration of Estates Act with full authority, client communication, tickling, calendaring, 

drafting letters, time sheets, filing 

Family Law: (21 Hours) Introduction to Family law, research, drafting documents and procedure for an uncontested 

dissolution and order to show cause for a temporary restraining order, client communication, declaration, tickling, 

calendaring, drafting letters, time sheets, filing 

Unlawful Detainer: (18  Hours)  Introduction to Unlawful Detainer (evictions), research, drafting documents and 

procedure for a complete unlawful detainer lawsuit, client communication, tickling, calendaring, drafting letters, time 

sheets, filing 

Practical Application Lab: (54 Hours) This lab provides  Ahands-on@ legal work to prepare students with the 

practical application needed to work in a law office or independent office.  Preparing documents, letter writing,. We 

will cover Commencing Civil Lawsuits, Discovery, Preparation for Trial, After Trial Procedures, Torts, Family Law, 

Probate and Unlawful Detainer. Hot Docs  will be taught and provides instruction for using California Judicial 

Council forms (preprinted legal forms). 

Introduction to Windows: (3 Hours) A complete presentation of Windows including all of the elements of the basic 

user interface, multitasking. The File Manager will be taught in detail, emphasizing directory/subdirectory 

management, backup/archival techniques, file searches and disk maintenance. 

Word Perfect: (15 Hours) (Word processing with legal emphasis) Mastery of computer word processing is essential 

for the paralegal, and WordPerfect is the program that serves the varied needs of a law office perfectly.  WordPerfect 

streamlines and automates the production of a tremendously wide range of legal documents on pleading paper, letters, 

memos, reports, newsletters, flyers, briefs and other documents in applications . 

Timeslips: (12 Hours) Computerized billing allows for precise time and expense tracking for every client.  Invoices 

can be prepared easily in a number of automatic formats that can be customized easily.  Management of client 

retainers and billing history can be fine-tuned on an individual basis. 

Legal Case Management Program: (12 Hours) The functionality of the law office is all here on this computer 

program: a cabinet full of files on each different client matter, a card index of all the people in the lawyer=s practice, a 

daybook for comprehensive scheduling, time sheets for recording billable hours, a telephone for managing calls, other 

tools for tasks like drafting documents. 

Lawdesk: (18 Hours) State-of-the-art legal research features the use of CD-ROM based research tools.  Learn to use 

the program in a variety of ways to implement researching the  Codes, Case law and Witkin. 

Dissomaster: (6 Hours) Computerized child & spousal support program which conforms to rules of court adopted by 

the Judicial Council. 

Internship: (100 Hours) An internship approved by the Director preferably in a facility that will help the student 

acquire the practical experience needed to assist them with employment. 
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EQUIPMENT: The student is equipped with classroom, approximately 616 square feet of space, in a modern office 

building.  The school has a reference library available.  Restrooms are available in the building for student use.  All 

rooms are carpeted, air conditioned and conducive to learning.  The school utilizes PC computers. 

TUITION & FEES: 

Registration Fee $  100.00 

Books (estimated) $  635.00 
Tuition $ 7,015.00 

TOTAL $ 7,750.00 

The fee must be paid in full at the time of enrollment; or all or a portion of the tuition may be paid in payments, 

pursuant to agreement between college and student. 

SCHEDULE OF SESSIONS: Classes are scheduled on basis of enrollment.  Students will be advised of probable 

starting dates at time of enrollment. 

HOLIDAYS OBSERVED: New Years Day,  Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving week, 

Christmas-two weeks. 

TRAINING CLASS HOURS: 

Paralegal instruction: Tuesday and Thursday 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. 

Computer instruction: Saturday 9:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. 

Practical Application Lab: Tuesday or Thursday 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. 

(The days of the week may vary for the type of class and a schedule will be give to the student.) 

ENTRANCE REQUIREMENTS/ADMISSIONS PROCEDURE: Each applicant will have an interview where the 

applicant's goals will be discussed.  A tour of the facilities will be provided and the course will be explained.  

Interviews and enrollments can be arranged by appointment any day the school is open.  A GED or High School 

Diploma is required. 

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR 

 INSTITUTION 

The transferability of credits you earn at California Paralegal College is at the complete discretion of an institution to 

which you may seek to transfer.  Acceptance of the certificate you earn in the Paralegal Course is also at the complete 

discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer.  If the certificate that you earn at this institution is not 

accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your course work 

at that institution.  For this reason you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your 

educational goals.  This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending 

California Paralegal College to determine if your certificate will transfer. This institution has not entered into 

an articulation or transfer agreement with any other college or university that provides for the transfer of credits earned 

in the program of instruction.  This institution does not award credits for prior experiential learning. 

CONDUCT: Any student not conducting themselves in an orderly and professional manner, which includes use of 

drugs and alcohol, dishonesty, use of profanity, excessive tardiness, insubordination, violation of safety rules, or not 

abiding by the school rules will lead to either probation or dismissal. 

CLASS SIZE: The maximum class size is 16 students. 

ATTENDANCE, ABSENCE, TARDINESS, PROBATION AND DISMISSAL POLICY: 
Absence.  Absence will be considered as excused under the following circumstances: illness, death or birth in the 

immediate family and other valid reasons substantiated in writing and at the discretion of the director.  All other 

absences will be considered unexcused. 

Tardiness.  Tardiness is disruption of a good learning environment and is to be discouraged.  Tardiness without a 

legitimate reason on two occasions will be considered as one unexcused absence. 

Interruption for Unsatisfactory Attendance.  Students with three unexcused absences in any class may receive written 

notification of academic probation for a period of one month.  Any unexcused absences during such probationary 

period may be cause for interruption of the student=s training program. 

Class Cuts.  Class cuts will be considered as unexcused absences. 

Probation.  A student will be placed on probation for unsatisfactory attendance or academic progress.  The length of 

probation will be one month and at the end of the probationary period the student will be re-evaluated.  During the 

probation the student must not have any unexcused absences and must maintain a 70% minimum grade.  No more 

than two terms on probation will be permitted.  The student can submit a written appeal of their probation to the 

Director.  

Make-up Work.  Make-up work may be required for any absence. 

Leave of Absence.  Written requests for leaves of  absence will be considered and such leaves may be granted to 

students at the discretion of the Director. 

Conditions for interruption for unsatisfactory progress: When the grade average of a student is unsatisfactory for a 

calendar month, the student will be placed on probation for a period of one month and at the end of the probationary 
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period the student will be re-evaluated.  No more than two terms on probation will be permitted. At the end of the 

probationary period , if the student=s progress is unsatisfactory, the student will be interrupted. 

RE-ADMISSION: A student terminated for inappropriate conduct may be considered for re-admission .  However, 

the student must show positive proof that the problem(s) causing the reason for termination have been corrected.  

Students who wish to re-enroll must make arrangements with the Director for re-evaluation. 

STUDENT SERVICES: 

Private Tutoring:  Scheduled as need by the student and the instructor. 

Counseling and Advising:  Students who feel that they have a need of counseling or advising may feel at ease doing 

so with their instructor or the Director.  Counseling and advising are conducted on an open door policy. 

Refresher Course: Refresher courses may be taken by the students/graduates.  The student/graduate is required to 

arrange scheduling with the Director or instructors. 

Placement Assistance Program: While placement assistance may be provided, it is understood that the school cannot 

guarantee or promise employment to any graduate.  This is a free service to graduates of the school only.  An active 

effort will be made to assist all graduates in finding a career opportunity.  Students are educated as to proper 

interviewing conduct and techniques, job opportunities and school placement procedures.  

This institution does not have dormitory facilities under its control and no assistance is provided to find housing. 

This institution does not provide English-as-a-second language instruction. 

STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND: You must pay the state-imposed assessment for the Student Tuition 

Recovery Fund (STRF) if all of the following applies to you:  

1. You are a student, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your 

tuition either by cash, guaranteed student loans, or personal loans, and 2. Your total charges are not paid by any 

third-party payer such as an employer, government program or other payer unless you have a separate agreement to 

repay the third party. You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF 

assessment, if either of the following applies: 1. You are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency 

program, or 2. Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or other payer, 

and you have no separate agreement to repay the third party. 

The State of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic losses 

suffered students who are California residents, or are enrolled in a residency program attending certain schools 

regulated by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary and Vocational Education. You may be eligible for STRF if you are 

a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid the STRF assessment, and suffered 

an economic loss as a result of any of the following: 1.  The school closed before the course of instruction was 

completed. 2.  The school's failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a third party for license fees or 

any other purpose, or to provide equipment or materials for which a charge was collected within 180 days before the 

closure of the school. 

3.  The school's failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed student loan program as 

required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the school prior to closure in excess of tuition and other 

costs. 

4.  There was a material failure to comply with the Act or this Division within 30 days before the school closed or, if 

the material failure began earlier than 30 days prior to closure, the period determined by the Bureau. 5.  An inability 

after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on a judgment against the institution for a violation of the Act. 

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification 

number.The STRF fee is a nonrefundable charge. 

Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education,2535 Capitol Oaks 

Drive, Ste. 400, Sacramento, CA  95833. California Paralegal College has chosen to waive collection of the 

Student Tuition Recovery Fund fee from the student and assume the fee as a debt of the institution. 
CANCELLATION, WITHDRAWAL & REFUND POLICY: A student who has completed 60 percent or less of 

the program of instruction described in the enrollment agreement may withdraw from the program and receive a 

refund of the unused portion of tuition fees and other charges.  If a student withdraws after the period in which the 

student may cancel this agreement, but before the student has completed 60 percent or less of the program, the student 

need only pay for educational services rendered, plus a non-refundable registration fee of $100.00.   

The prorated refund amount will be calculated by first determining the total hourly cost of the program of instruction 

by dividing the total tuition charge by the total number of clock hours, then multiplying the hourly cost by the total 

clock hours elapsed at the time of the withdrawal, and then subtracting that amount from the total amount paid.  There 

shall be no refund if the student has attended sporadically and the paralegal course has been taught one full time. 

Example of refund 

Assume that a student, upon enrollment in a 436-hour course (336 hours Paralegal, Computer Classes and Practical 

Lab classes and 100 hours internship), pays the school $7015 for tuition, $100 as a registration fee and $635 for books.  

Assume that the student withdraws after completing 90 hours (90 hours of Paralegal, Computer and Practical 



 
 5 

Application Lab classes) of the 436-hour program.  In that event, the school would refund $5136.70 in unused tuition.  

Here is how these amounts are calculated. 

a) Total paid to school: $7750 

    Calculation: $7015 (stated tuition) + $100 (registration fee) + $635 (books) = $7750 (total paid to school) 

b) Total tuition charge: $7750 

    Calculation: $7015 (total paid to school) - $100 (maximum allowed non-refundable registration fee) - $635 (non- 

    refundable book fee) = $7750 (total charge) 

c) Hourly charge: Paralegal, Computer and Practical Application Lab Classes $20.87 

    Calculation: $7015 (total tuition charge)  336 hours = $20.87 (hourly charge) 

d) Student=s obligation for services received: $1878.30 

    Calculation: Paralegal, Computer and Practical Application Lab classes $20.87 (hourly charge) x 90 hours 

completed 

    = $1878.30 (student=s obligation) 

e) Tuition refund amount: $5136.70 

    Calculation: $7015 (total tuition charge) - $1878.30 (student=s obligation for services received) = $5136.70 

(tuition 

    refund amount) 

When the student has Awithdrawn@ 
For the purpose of determining the student=s obligation for the time attended, the student will be considered to have 

withdrawn from the program when any of the following occurs: (1) When the student notifies the school of the 

withdrawal in writing or the actual date of withdrawal, whichever is later.  (2) When the school terminates the 

student=s enrollment.  (3) When the student fails to attend classes for a three-week period without the authorization of 

the Director.  If any portion of the student=s tuition was paid from the proceeds of a loan, then the refund will be sent 

to the lender or to the agency that guaranteed the loan, if any.  Any remaining amount of the refund will first be used 

to repay any student financial aid programs from which the student received benefits, in proportion to the amount of 

the benefits received.  Any remaining amount will be paid to the student.  If there is a balance due, the student will be 

responsible for paying that amount. 

The student has the right to cancel this agreement, without obligation, and obtain a refund of all amounts paid, less a 

non-refundable registration fee of $100.00, through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after 

enrollment, whichever is later if notice of cancellation is given to California Paralegal College.  The student may 

cancel this agreement and obtain a refund by giving written notice to the school at the address shown on the first page 

of this agreement.  The student may do this by certified mail or hand delivery.  The written notice of cancellation is 

effective when it is deposited in the mail properly addressed with postage prepaid.  The student should keep a record 

of the date, time and place of mailing any notice of cancellation. 

This institution does not participate in federal and state financial aid programs. 

If a student obtains a loan to pay for this educational program, the student will have the responsibility to repay the full 

amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and that, if the student has received federal student 

financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the moneys not paid from federal student financial aid program 

funds. 

COMPLAINT/GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE: From time to time, differences in interpretation of school policies 

will arise among students, faculty, and/or the administration.  When such differences arise, usually a 

miscommunication or misunderstanding is a major contributing factor. For this reason, we urge both students & staff 

to communicate any problems that arise directly to the individual(s) involved. If the problem cannot be resolved in this 

manner, the Director of the School should be contacted. Normally, the informal procedure of "discussing" the 

difference will resolve the problem.  If the complaint cannot be resolved after exhausting the institution's grievance 

procedure, a student or any member of the public may file a complaint with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 

Education by calling (888) 370-7589 toll free or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the 

bureau=s internet web site www.bppe.ca.gov. 

RECORD RETENTION: School records are kept in locked, fire safe boxes for a minimum period of five (5) years.  

The student records which are older than five (5) years are kept by the school and are not destroyed. 

ADMINISTRATION & FACULTY: 

Director and Instructor: Kathleen Crain 

Kathleen Crain has 38 years of practical experience in the legal profession including 23 years owning,  managing and 

teaching at California Paralegal College.  She has worked in many  areas of law, including but not limited to the 

areas of law that are taught by this college.   She has worked for large and small law offices as well as working as an 

independent contractor  in her own business assisting attorneys and the public.  She created the curriculum while 

asking the question AWhat does a paralegal need to know to work in this profession?@  Her goal is only to help you 

with your goal. 
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Instructor: Nancy Christie 
Nancy Christie has a M.M. degree from the University of Rochester (1976), Paralegal Certificate from California 

Paralegal College (1994), Preliminary Adult Education Teaching Credential (1998),  a J.D. from McGeorge School 

of Law (2007) and has been licensed to practice law in California since 2008.  She taught Adult Education 

specializing in computer applications for many years and now practices law in Grass Valley, California.  She prepares 

the computer course manuals for California Paralegal College.  

Instructor:  Georgee Brazil  

Georgee Brazil was an English major at Western Nevada Community College in Carson City, Nevada (1977) and 

obtained her Paralegal Certificate from California Paralegal College (2012).  Georgee worked for the United States 

Small Business Administration’s Office of Disaster Assistance, traveling throughout the U.S. and the U.S. territories 

setting up disaster field offices and training local personnel.  She later worked in risk and compliance where she 

trained all of the new hires in fraud and risk investigations.  Georgee has extensive experience in all areas of business 

management and has a proven track record as a highly skilled corporate trainer.  Her recent graduation from 

California Paralegal College coupled with her highly successful business career makes her uniquely qualified to help 

students reach their career goals.               

This catalog is valid from August 27, 2012 through August 27, 2013 and reviewed annually.  


