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College of Southern California 
School Catalog 

2975 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 210, Los Angeles, CA  90010  (213) 380-1818 
www. CollegeSC.com 

2012-2013 Catalog  Volume I  January 1, 2012 – December 31, 2013 
 
Approval Disclosure Statement 
 
The College of Southern California was granted institutional approval from the Bureau 
for Private Postsecondary Education pursuant to California Educational Code Section 
94909.  The Bureau’s approval means that the institution and its operation comply with 
the minimum standards established under the law for occupational instruction by 
private postsecondary educational institutions.  Every course in this catalog has also 
been approved.  Institutional approval must be re-approved every three years and is 
subject to continuing review.  All training is in English and there is no English as a 
second language at this time. 
 
Approved are the following courses: 
 
 Life Pre-Licensing  

40 hours of Life/Health and 12 hours of Code & Ethics agent pre-licensing education 
must be completed in order to successfully complete the pre-licensing examination. 
In order to successfully complete the course and receive 52 hours of pre-licensing 
credits, students are required to attend at least 100% of the scheduled classes and 
obtain a passing grade of 70% or better on the final examination. The curriculum 
will familiarize students with basic aspects of historical, legal, and practical 
understanding of insurance; emphasizing Life and Disability Insurance. 

 
 Property (Fire) and Casualty Pre-Licensing 

40 hours of Property & Casualty and 12 hours of Code & Ethics agent pre-licensing 
education must be completed in order to successfully complete the pre-licensing 
examination. In order to successfully complete the course and receive 52 hours of 
pre-licensing credits, students are required to attend at least 100% of the scheduled 
classes and obtain a passing grade of 70% or better on the final examination. The 
curriculum will emphasize property loss, worker’s compensation, and disability 
insurance and familiarize students with classifications, types and distribution systems 
under current insurance practices. 

 
 Code and Ethic 

This 12 hour course provides an introduction and basic understanding of the history, 
purpose, and function of the California Insurance Code, basic insurance concepts, 
terminology, and the ethical standards and behavior that is expected and legally 
required from every license agent/broker, and insurance company. 
 



 2

 NASD Series 6/63 
This course is designed to explain what the student needs to know about securities, 
securities markets, investment risk, investment companies, variable contracts, 
retirement plans, the regulation governing the sale and solicitation of these products 
and how these products are tracked and traded. This course will cover all topics 
tested on the Series 6 and 63 exams. 

 
 NASD Series 7/63 

This course is designed to explain what the student needs to know to obtain 
licensure to sell most types of securities, including stock, corporate and municipal 
bonds, mutual funds. This program focuses completely on passing the license 
exams. 
 

Instruction is in residence with facility occupancy levels: 
Maximum of 40 students per session. 
 
California statute requires that a student who successfully completes a course of study 
be awarded an appropriate certificate verifying the fact. 
 
As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an 
enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact 
Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement.  
 
Prospective students are encouraged to visit the physical facilities of the school and 
discuss personal educational and occupational plans with school personnel prior to 
enrolling or signing the enrollment agreement. 
   
Persons seeking to resolve problems or complaints should first contact the instructor in 
charge.  Requests for further action may be made to Aaron Rhee. 
Students or any member of the public may file complaint about this institution with 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. 
Unresolved complaints may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 
Education:  

2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400 
Sacramento, CA 95833 

 Toll-Free (888) 370-7589 
Fax (916) 263-1897 
www.bppe.ca.gov 

 
All information in the content of this school catalog is current and correct and is so 
certified as true by Aaron Rhee, President.  
 
__________________________________ 
Aaron Rhee, President 
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Mission 
 
Our mission is to empower our students to become licensed agents by the State of 
California, Department of Insurance. 
 
Philosophy 
 
The theory is taught in the classroom.  The school’s academic goals are to stimulate 
and assist the student to acquire necessary knowledge to become licensed in the 
insurance field. 
 
Course 
 
Course syllabi are attached and made a part of this catalog. 
 
Expected Outcome – Our courses are designed for students who have no prior 
experience in the insurance field and wish to pass the insurance exam.  The reasonably 
diligent student can expect to pass the insurance exam. Requirements for licensee are 
finishing proper courses, such as the required 52 hours, and must pass proper exam. 
 
Students are provided with books that will be the main source of material used for 
instruction.  
 
Course Outline 
 
See attached course syllabi. 
 
Equipment & Facilities 
 
The school is equipped with an administrative office and classrooms approximately:  
3,000 square feet of carpeted classrooms in a modern office building located at 2975 
Wilshire Blvd., Suite 210, Los Angeles, CA 90010.  
 
Restrooms are available in the building for student use. 
 
An alternative resource used other than a library is the Internet. We provide our 
students to use the Internet as a resource for information, along with sample test 
questions and practice exams. 
Materials such as the provided book will be used to outline the course and the 
information needed to pass the exam. 
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Current Schedule of Student Charges 
 
Program        Hours        Tuition  Reg. Fee Total Cost of Training 
 
Life Pre-Licensing 52     $270.00               $60.00  $330.00 
Code and Ethics 12     $130.00      $60.00  $190.00 
Fire and Casualty Pre-Licensing               
                             52          $270.00                  $60.00  $330.00 
Life, Fire and Casualty Pre-Licensing 
                      92      $540.00              $60.00   $600.00 
(Both programs for a discounted tuition) 
NASD Series 6/63    32           $540.00               $60.00                  $600.00 
NASD Series 7/63    64           $935.00               $60.00                  $995.00 
Books are provided at no additional cost. 
 
Tuition for each course must be collected by the first day of class. 
 
Purposes of Charges 
 
Registration: To pay the cost of establishing student file and other paperwork 

associated with enrolling the student in a program. 
 
Tuition: The fee to cover the educational training of a student in a program.   

(Books are included). 
Mandatory Student Charges 
 
Registration: Non-refundable, to a maximum of $75.00. 
 
Tuition: Refundable up to 100% of the program.  For detailed explanation and 

sample please refer to Cancellation and Refund section of this Catalog. 
 
Optional Student Charges 
 
None. 
 
 
Refund and Cancellation 
 
Please refer to that section of this Catalog. 
 
Schedule of Sessions 
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Classes are scheduled based on student need.  Classes are offered Monday through 
Saturday both day and evening classes. Also Class schedule has been notified to 
Department of Insurance 20 days prior to begin the class.  
 
Holidays Observed 
 
Holiday    2012    2013   
New Years Day   1/01/12   1/01/13 
Martin Luther King’s Birthday 1/16/12   1/21/13 
President’s Day   2/20/12   2/18/13 
Memorial Day   5/28/12   5/27/13 
Independence Day   7/04/12   7/04/13 
Labor Day    9/03/12   9/02/13 
Columbus Day           10/08/12           10/14/13 
Veterans Day            11/12/12           11/11/13 
Thanksgiving            11/22/12-11/23/12          11/28/13-11/29/13  
Christmas Eve & Day          12/24/12-12/25/12      12/24/13-12/25/13                 
The school does not close for student holiday schedules or recess. 
 
Entrance Requirements/Admissions Procedure 
 
The only requirement for each course is a minimum age of 18 years old. 
Each applicant will have an in-person interview where the applicant’s goals will be 
discussed. Find out which course student should take or which course is required by 
department of Insurance and company that student want to go.  A tour of the facilities 
will be provided and the course will be explained.  Interviews and enrollments can be 
arranged by appointment any day when the school is open. 
 
 
Conduct 
 
Any student not conducting themselves in an orderly and professional manner, which 
includes use of drugs and alcohol during schools hours, dishonesty, disrupting classes, 
use of profanity, excessive tardiness, insubordination, violation of safety rules, or not 
abiding by the school rules will lead to either probation or dismissal from classes. 
 
Class Size 
 
The maximum size classes are 40 students per classroom. 
 
Student Teacher Ratio 
 
The student teacher average ratio is 20:1. 
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Placement Assistance Program 
 
There is no placement assistance.  This prepares an applicant for successfully passing 
the State of California, Department of Insurance examination. 
 
Transfer of Credit 
 
The institution has not entered into an articulation or transfer agreement with any other 
college or university. 
 
NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT 
OUR INSTITUTION  
 
The transferability of credits you earn at College of Southern California is at the 
complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of 
the Certificate of Completion you earn in is also at the complete discretion of the 
institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the Certificate of Completion that you 
earn at this institution are not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, 
you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution. For 
this reason you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet 
your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may 
seek to transfer after attending College of Southern California to determine if your 
Certificate of Completion will transfer. There are also no ability-to-benefit students. 
 
 
Attendance, Absence & Tardiness Policy 
 
1. Students must complete all lessons before they are allowed to graduate. 
2. One absence is defined as missing or not being present for one four/eight hour 

scheduled class. 
3. The school stresses attendance to allow you to complete the program as rapidly 

as possible. However we realize that unusual events may occur.  If you are going 
to be unable to attend class please call the school. 

4. Students who are tardy 15 minutes or more will not be admitted no class. 
5. Interruptions and leaves of absence must be requested in writing to the Director, 

which may be granted for valid reasons. 
6. If a student is absent from class, the student may make up that class at no 

additional charge.  The student should meet with their instructor to arrange 
scheduling.  All classes must be completed within six months of starting the 
program. 
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7. At no time is any student or graduate to be admitted into a class unless their 
name appears on the class roster or they have made advance arrangements with 
the Director.  Anyone not scheduled for a class will be denied entrance. 

 
Standard of Progress, Grading & Graduation Requirements 
 
There are written tests required to graduate from the program.  A student must get a 
minimum 70% on the final exam. 
 
Students must satisfactorily complete all requirements before they are allowed to 
graduate and be issued the Certificate of Completion.  Students who do not meet 
satisfactory grades will be allowed to repeat examinations at the discretion of the 
instructor. No leaves or interruptions will be granted or enforced for unsatisfactory 
grades.  A student may request a transcript from the school in writing at no charge.  All 
records and grades are permanently maintained by the school for a period of five years 
and are protected from fire, theft and other perils.  All tests are administrated and 
graded by the instructor. 
 
 
Grading  
 
Pass 70% -100% 
Fail      0 – 69% 
 
 
Re-Admission 
 
A student terminated for lack of attendance or lack of progress may be considered for 
re-admission only once.  However, they must show positive proof that the problem(s) 
causing the reason for termination has been corrected.  Students who wish to re-enroll 
must arrange to meet with the Director for re-evaluation. 
 
Refresher Course/Practice Sessions 
 
Refresher courses may be taken by the graduates.  For refresher courses, the graduate 
is required to arrange scheduling with the Director or instructors. 
 
Counseling & Advising 
 
Students who feel that they have a need of counseling or advising may feel at ease 
doing so with their instructor or the Director.  Counseling and advising are conducted 
on an open door basis. Test application assistance is also available. 
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Student Tuition Recovery Fund 
 
The State of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or 
mitigate economic losses suffered by students in educational programs who are 
California residents, of are enrolled in residency program attending certain schools 
regulated by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. 
 
You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident or enrolled in residency 
program, prepaid tuition, paid STRF assessment, and economic loss as result of any of 
the following: 

1. The school closed before the course of instruction was completed. 
2. The school’s failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of student to third party 

for license fee or any other purpose, or to provide equipment or materials for 
which a charge was collected within 180 days before the closure of the school. 

3. The school’s failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally 
guaranteed student loan program as required by law or to pay or reimburse 
proceeds by the school prior to closure in excess of tuition and other costs. 

4. There was material failure to comply with the Act or the Division within 30 days 
before the school closed or, if material failure began earlier than 30 days prior to 
closure, the period determined by the Bureau. 

5. An inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on judgment 
against the institution for a violation of Act. 

  
However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a 
taxpayer identification number. 
It is a state requirement that a student who pays his or her tuition is required to pay a 
state-imposed assessment for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund. 
 
It is important that you keep copies of the enrollment agreement, receipts or any other 
information that documents the monies paid to the school.  Questions regarding the 
STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 2535 Capitol 
Drive, #400, Sacramento, CA 95833, (888) 370-7589. 
 
 
Cancellation & Refunds 
 
Buyer’s Right to Cancel.  You have the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and 
obtain a refund.  The institution, for all students, without penalty or obligation, shall 
refund 100 percent of the amount paid for institutional charges, less a reasonable 
deposit or application fee not to exceed seventy-five dollars ($75.00), if the notice of 
cancellation is made prior to or on the first day of instruction. 
 
Cancellation shall occur when you give written notice of cancellation at the address of 
the College shown on the front page of this catalog.  You can do this by mail or hand 
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delivery.  The written notice of cancellation, if sent by mail, is effective when deposited 
in the mail properly addressed with postage prepaid. 
 
The written notice of cancellation need not take any particular form and however 
expressed, is effective if it shows that you are no longer wish to be bound by this 
Agreement. 
 
Notice of Student Rights 
 
The student has a right to cancel the agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid 
through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, 
whichever is later, as described in the Notice of Cancellation form that will be given to 
you on the first day of class. 
 
Read the Notice of Cancellation form for an explanation of your cancellation rights and 
responsibilities.  If you have lost your Notice of Cancellation form, ask the school for a 
sample copy. 
 
After the end of the cancellation period, you have the right to stop attending school at 
any time and receive a refund for the portion of the course not taken.  Your refund 
rights are described in the Enrollment Agreement.  If you have lost your Enrollment 
Agreement, ask the school for a description of the refund policy. 
 
If the school closes before you graduate, you may be entitled to a refund.  Contact the 
California State Department of Consumer Affairs, Bureau for Private Postsecondary 
Education, at the address and telephone number printed below for information. 
 
Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been 
satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private 
Postsecondary Education at:  

 
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400 

Sacramento, CA 95833 
 Toll-Free (888) 370-7589 

Fax (916) 263-1897 
www.bppe.ca.gov 

 
 
 
 
 
Refund Information 
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You may withdraw from a course after instruction has started and receive a pro-rata 
refund for the unused portion of the tuition and others refundable charges if you have 
completed 60% or less of the instruction.  For example if the student completes only 16 
hours of a 52-hour course and paid $330.00 tuition, $60.00 non-refundable registration 
fee, $55 for books, and the student would receive a refund of $148.92. 
 
$330.00 tuition – 60.00 registration fee - $55 for book =215.00. 215.00/52 hours in the 
program = $4.13. $4.13 per hour in the program X 16 hours attended = $66.08total 
charge for time attended. 66.08+ $60.00 registration fee + $55 books = $181.08 total 
charges.  $335.00(total amount paid) -$181.08(total charged) =$148.92. Refund due is 
$148.92.                             
       
 
The school will also refund money collected for sending to a third party on the student’s 
behalf such as license or application fees.  If the school cancels or discontinues a course 
or educational program, the school will make a full refund of all charges.  Refunds will 
be paid within 30 days of cancellation or withdrawal. 
 
Cancellation after completing 60% of the course will result in no refund. 
 
Complaint/Grievance Procedure 
 
From time to time, differences in interpretation of school policies will arise among 
students, faculty, and/or the administration.  When such differences arise, usually in 
miscommunication or misunderstanding is a major contributing factor.  For this reason, 
we urge both students and staff to communicate any problems that arise directly to the 
individual(s) involved.  If the problem cannot be resolved in this manner, the Director of 
the School should be contacted.  Normally, the informal procedure of “discussing” the 
difference will resolve the problem. 
 
If the complaint cannot be resolved after exhausting the institution’s grievance 
procedure, the student may file a complaint with the appropriate state agency, being 
the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. 
 
A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with 
the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 toll-free or 
by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau’s internet web 
site www.bppe.ca.gov.  
 
 
Administration & Faculty 
 
Aaron Rhee             Executive Director/Instructor(Life, P&C) 
James Kim              Director of Operations 
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Gloria Park              Director of Education 
Brandon Lee            Director of Admissions 
Francy Oh-Ha          Director of Public Relations 
Kyoung Kim            Director of Student Affair 
James Ha  Instructor  Life, Property & Casualty Broker-Agent  
Dennis Mariglia Instructor  Life, Property & Casualty Licensed Agent 
Gerald Lee              Instructor               Life, NASD Series 6, 7and 63 
LeeAnn Zerbel Instructor  Fire & Casualty Broker-Agent 
Belinda Williams Instructor  Life, Code & Ethics  
Moon Suk Ko          Instructor               NASD Series 6, 7 and 63 
Jusung Rim            Instructor               Fire & Casualty Brocker-Agent, Life 
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