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Business, Consumer Services and Housing Agency– Governor Gavin Newsom 

CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT 
 

To:   Masters Vocational College, Inc., Owner 
         Masters Vocational College, Inc. 
         1660 Chicago Avenue, Suite M-13 
         Riverside, CA 92507  
 
INSTITUTION CODE: 27053596 
CITATION NUMBER: 1920326 
CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: June 10, 2020 
DUE DATE: July 10, 2020 
FINE AMOUNT: $ 2,551.00 
 

ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: Yes 
 
Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in 
her official capacity as Discipline Manager of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 
(Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs. 
 

CITATION 
 
A Citation is hereby issued to Masters Vocational College, Inc., Owner of Masters Vocational College, 
Inc., (Institution) located at 1660 Chicago Avenue, Suite M-13, Riverside, CA 92507 pursuant to 
Business and Professions Code section 125.9; California Education Code (CEC) section 94936; and 
Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violations described below. 
 

BACKGROUND 
 

All institutions are required to submit a Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) Assessment 
Reporting Form to the Bureau no later than the last day of the month following the close of the 
quarter.   
 
Pursuant to CEC section 94923(a) The Student Tuition Recovery Fund relieves or mitigates economic 
loss suffered by a student while enrolled in an institution not exempt from this article pursuant to 
Article 4 (commencing with section 94874), who, at the time of his or her enrollment, was a California 
resident or was enrolled in a California residency program, prepaid tuition, and suffered economic 
loss. 
 
The Bureau sends notifications/reminders to all approved institutions 30 days prior to close of each 
quarter. 
 
As of June 10, 2020, the Institution has not submitted the STRF Assessment Reporting Forms for the 
3rd and 4th quarters of 2018, 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th quarters of 2019, and 1st quarter of 2020.  
 
In addition, on February 26, 2020, Bureau staff conducted an unannounced inspection at the 
Institution.  During the inspection, Bureau staff reviewed student files and found that the files did 
not contain a copy of the student’s minimum qualification for beginning the program, a transcript, 
and did not contain a record of the certificate granted by the Institution.  

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/


 

 

 
VIOLATION 

# Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of 
Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating. 

1. Violation: 
5, CCR Section 76130 (a-e)– Collection and Submission of Assessments  
“(a) A qualifying institution shall collect the assessment from each student in an educational program 
at the time it collects the first payment from or on behalf of the student at or after enrollment. The 
assessment shall be collected for the entire period of enrollment, regardless of whether the student 
pays the institutional charges in increments. 
(b) A qualifying institution shall complete the STRF Assessment Reporting Form (Rev. 2/10) and remit 
it with the STRF assessments collected from students to be received by the Bureau no later than the 
last day of the month following the close of the quarter as follows: 
(1) April 30 for the first quarter, 
(2) July 31 for the second quarter, 
(3) October 31 for the third quarter, and 
(4) January 31 for the fourth quarter. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or State or federal 
holiday, the due date shall be extended to the next regular business day for the Bureau. 
If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or State or federal holiday, the due date shall be extended 
to the next regular business day for the Bureau. 
(c) The STRF Assessment Reporting Form shall contain the following information: 
(1) Total number of students who signed enrollment agreements for educational programs during the 
reporting period; and 
(2) Total number of students eligible for STRF who signed enrollment agreements for educational 
programs during the reporting period; and 
(3) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement during the reporting period, 
were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the reporting period; and 
(4) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement in a previous reporting 
period, were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the current reporting period; 
and 
(5) Total amount of institutional charges after rounding each student's institutional charges to the 
nearest $1,000, for all eligible STRF students whose STRF assessment was collected in the reporting 
period; and 
(6) Current contact telephone number of the person preparing the form; and 
(7) A declaration dated and signed under penalty of perjury by the person preparing the form that the 
form and any attachments are true and correct. 
(d) In the event of a school closure, any collected assessments shall be remitted to the Bureau within 
seven days following the cessation of instruction. 
(e) Submission of all prior reports and assessments required by this section is a condition of renewal.” 
 
The Institution has failed to submit STRF Assessment Reporting Forms for the following quarters:  
 

• Third and Fourth Quarters of 2018; 
• First, Second, Third, and Fourth Quarters of 2019; 
• First Quarter of 2020 

 
On September 18, 2018, the Institution was notified via mail at, 1660 Chicago Avenue, Suite M-13, 
Riverside, CA 92507, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 3rd quarter of 2018 was due.  
As of June 10, 2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the 
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Institution. 
On December 20, 2018, the Institution was notified via mail at, 1660 Chicago Avenue, Suite M-13, 
Riverside, CA 92507, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 4th quarter of 2018 was due.  
As of June 10, 2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the 
Institution. 
 
On March 27, 2019, the Institution was notified via mail at, 1660 Chicago Avenue, Suite M-13, 
Riverside, CA 92507, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 1st quarter of 2019 was due.  
As of June 10, 2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the 
Institution. 
 
On June 24, 2019, the Institution was notified via mail at, 1660 Chicago Avenue, Suite M-13, 
Riverside, CA 92507, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 2nd quarter of 2019 was due.  
As of June 10, 2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the 
Institution. 
 
On September 18, 2019, the Institution was notified via mail at, 1660 Chicago Avenue, Suite M-13, 
Riverside, CA 92507, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 3rd quarter of 2019 was 
due.  As of June 10, 2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from 
the Institution. 
 
On December 17, 2019, the Institution was notified via mail at, 1660 Chicago Avenue, Suite M-13, 
Riverside, CA 92507, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 4th quarter of 2019 was due.  
As of June 10, 2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the 
Institution. 
 
On March 24, 2020, the Institution was notified via mail at, 1660 Chicago Avenue, Suite M-13, 
Riverside, CA 92507, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 2nd quarter of 2019 was due.  
As of June 10, 2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the 
Institution. 
 
Order of Abatement: 
The Bureau orders that the Institution submit the delinquent STRF Assessment Reporting Forms 
with the STRF Assessments collected from students for the quarters listed above. The information 
provided shall comply with “Record Keeping Requirements” Pursuant to 5, CCR section 76140.  
 
Assessment of Fine 
The fine for this violation is $50.00 

2. Violation: 
5, CCR Section 71920 (a)(b)(1)(A)(5)(A-E)  - Student Records 
(a) The institution shall maintain a file for each student who enrolls in the institution whether or not 
the student completes the educational service. 
(b) In addition to the requirements of section 94900, the file shall contain all of the following pertinent 
student records: 
(1) Written records and transcripts of any formal education or training, testing, or experience that are 
relevant to the student's qualifications for admission to the institution or the institution's award of 
credit or acceptance of transfer credits including the following: 
(A) Verification of high school completion or equivalency or other documentation establishing the 
student's ability to do college level work, such as successful completion of an ability-to-benefit test; 

           Page 3 of 6 
 Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Restitution 

Masters Vocational College, Inc., Owner of  
               Masters Vocational College, Inc. 

Institution Code: 2703596 



 

           Page 4 of 6 
 Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Restitution 

Masters Vocational College, Inc., Owner of  
               Masters Vocational College, Inc. 

Institution Code: 2703596 
 

(5) In addition to the requirements of section 94900(b) of the Code, a transcript showing all of the 
following: 
(A) The courses or other educational programs that were completed, or were attempted but not 
completed, and the dates of completion or withdrawal; 
(B) Credit awarded for prior experiential learning, including the course title for which credit was 
awarded and the amount of credit; 
(C) Credit for courses earned at other institutions;  
(D) Credit based on any examination of academic ability or educational achievement used for 
admission or college placement purposes; 
(E) The name, address, website address, and telephone number of the institution. 
 
CEC Section 94900 (b)(1) – Required Student Records 
(b) An institution shall maintain, for each student granted a degree or certificate by that institution, 
permanent records of all of the following:  
(1) The degree or certificate granted and the date on which that degree or certificate was granted 
 
Violation: 5, CCR Section 71920 (a)(b)(1)(A): Student files failed to include verification of high 
school completion or equivalency or other documentation establishing the student’s ability to do 
college level work, such as successful completion of an ATB test.  
 
Violation: 5, CCR Section 71920 (a)(b)(5)(A-E): Student files failed to include a transcript. 
 
Violation: CEC Section 94900 (b)(1): Student files failed to include a record of the certificate 
granted by the Institution 
 
Order of Abatement: 
The Bureau orders the Institution to submit an established policy, or procedure, of how the 
Institution will maintain future compliance with 5, CCR Section 71920 and CEC Section 94900.  
 
Assessment of Fine 
The fine for this violation is $2,501.00 

 TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE:   $2,551.00 
 

ASSESSMENT OF A FINE 
 
In accordance with CEC section 94936; and 5, CCR sections 75020 and 75030, the Bureau hereby 
orders this assessment of fine in the amount of $2,551.00 for the violations described above. 
Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the 
Citation. 
 

COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT 
 

In accordance with the provisions of CEC section 94936 and 5, CCR section 75020 the Bureau 
hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. Evidence of compliance with the 
order(s) of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of 
service of the Citation. 
 

 
 



 

 

 
APPEAL OF CITATION 

 
You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or 
through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) 
of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.   
 
If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the ‘Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for 
Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing’ form (enclosed) within 30 days from the date 
of service of the Citation. If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing 
within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later time.  

 
Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by 
you and delivered to the Bureau by July 10, 2020, you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited 
your right to appeal this matter.   
 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION 
 

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall 
become effective on June 10, 2020.  Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of compliance 
with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by July 10, 2020 . Your payment of the administrative 
fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged. 
 
If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a 
final order is entered against you.   
 
Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to: 

 
        Cheryl Lardizabal, Discipline Citation Program 
          Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 

        1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225 
                 Sacramento, CA 95834 

 
Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the 

administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or 
renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all 

appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or 
found to be due after a hearing. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

CONTACT INFORMATION 
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If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Cheryl 
Lardizabal, Citation Analyst, at (916) 574-8968 or Cheryl.Lardizabal@dca.ca.gov.  
 
“Original signature on file”     “6/10/2020”  
_____________________________________________   ________    
Christina Villanueva                                       Date 
Discipline Manager 
 
 
Enclosures 
 
 Applicable Laws Violated 
 Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet 
 Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing 
 Payment of Fine – Waiver of Appeal 
 Declaration of Service by Certified and First- Class Mail 

 

mailto:Cheryl.Lardizabal@dca.ca.gov
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