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c::IC a 

Business, Consumer Services and Housing Agency– Governor Gavin Newsom 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 
1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225 Sacramento, CA 95834 
P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 
P (916) 574-8900 F (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov 

CITATION: ASSESMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT 

To:  Cali Cosmo DJH, Inc., Owner 
Cali Cosmo DJH, Inc. 
1760 Fremont Boulevard, Suite F2 
Seaside, CA 93955 

INSTITUTION CODE: 64494433 
CITATION NUMBER: 2021214 
CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: March 24, 2021 
DUE DATE: April 23, 2021 
FINE AMOUNT: $ 1,501.00 
ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: YES 

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in 
her official capacity as Discipline Manager of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 
(Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs. 

CITATION 

A Citation is hereby issued to Cali Cosmo DJH, Inc., Owner of Cali Cosmo DJH, Inc. (Institution) located 
at, 1760 Fremont Boulevard, Suite F2, Seaside, CA 93955, pursuant to Business and Professions Code 
section 125.9; California Education Code (CEC) section 94936; and Title 5 of the California Code of 
Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violations described below. 

BACKGROUND 

On September 16, 2020, the Bureau received a complaint alleging that the Institution was forcing 
students to take a Leave of Absence (LOA) from the Institution if they did not feel safe attending 
class in person due to the COVID-19 Pandemic. 

Through the course of the investigation and evidence obtained, Bureau staff found that the 
Institution began offering distance learning hours to students during the COVID-19 Pandemic 
without Bureau approval. In addition, Bureau staff found that the Institution provided 
miscalculated refunds to students due to using an incorrect pro rata refund formula. 

In addition, all institutions are required to pay annual fee within 30 days of the date on which the 
Institution originally receives its approval to operate and each year thereafter on the anniversary of 
the date of the original approval. An institution shall pay its annual fee in addition to any other 
applicable fees. 

Pursuant to CEC section 94930.5 (g). effective July 1, 2018, the annual fee for each campus 
described in subparagraphs (A) and (B) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) shall be in an amount 
equal to 0.55 percent of that campus’ total gross revenue derived from students in California, but 
not to be less than two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) and not to exceed sixty thousand 
dollars ($60,000) for each campus. 

https://1,501.00
www.bppe.ca.gov


 

             
   

   
 

 

               
    

 
 

 
                

          
  

       
              

              
           

       
 

   
        
  

     
 

         
 

           
            

            
          

           
           
             

           
                  

  
 

           
         

     
 

   
          

             
        

       
 

  
      

  
      

             
            

         
           

As of March 24, 2021, the Bureau has not received the late payment penalty fees for calendar years 
2018 and 2020 from the Institution. 

VIOLATION(S) 

# Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of 
Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating. 

1. Violation: 
CEC Section 94893 – Authorization Required for Substantive Change 
“If an institution intends to make a substantive change to its approval to operate, the institution shall 
receive prior authorization from the bureau. Except as provided in subdivision (a) of Section 94896, if 
the institution makes the substantive change without prior bureau authorization, the institution’s 
approval to operate may be suspended or revoked.“ 

CEC Section 94894 – Substantive Change Defined 
“The following changes to an approval to operate are considered substantive changes and require 
prior authorization: 
(g) A significant change in the method of instructional delivery” 

5, CCR, Section 71600 – Application for Significant Change in Method of Instructional 
Delivery 
“(a) An institution seeking to make a significant change in its method of instructional delivery shall 
complete the “Significant Change in Method of Instructional Delivery” form (INS rev. 2/10) to obtain 
prior authorization. For the purposes of this section a “significant change in instructional delivery” is 
any change that alters the way students interact with faculty or access significant equipment. The 
form shall be submitted to the Bureau along with the appropriate fee as provided in Section 94930.5(c) 
of the Code. For an institution approved under section 94885 of the Code, it shall be signed and dated 
by the signatory(ies) required by section 71380, and for an institution approved under section 94890 
of the Code, it shall be signed and dated by the signatory(ies) required by section 71390, and each fact 
stated therein and each attachment thereto shall be declared to be true under penalty of perjury, in the 
following form:” 

The Institution failed to notify the Bureau of its intention to make a substantive change. The 
Institution began offering distance education hours on July 27, 2020, without receiving prior 
authorization from the Bureau. 

Order of Abatement: 
The Bureau orders the Institution to submit an Application for a Change in Method of Instructional 
Delivery if they wish to offer distance learning education. The Institution shall not offer distance 
learning education and/or distance learning hours until approval from the Bureau is obtained. The 
Institution shall submit evidence of compliance to the Bureau. 

Assessment of Fine 
The fine for this violation is $501.00 

2. Violation: 
5, CCR Section 71750 (c)(1) – Withdrawals and Refunds 
“(c) A pro rata refund pursuant to section 94919(c) or 94920(d) or 94927 of the Code shall be no less 
than the total amount owed by the student for the portion of the educational program provided 
subtracted from the amount paid by the student, calculated as follows: 
(1) The amount owed equals the daily charge for the program (total institutional charge, divided by 
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the number of days or hours in the program), multiplied by the number of days student attended, or 
was scheduled to attend, prior to withdrawal.” 

The Institution failed to include the proper pro rata refund calculation sheet. The document failed to 
include the total institutional charges in its pro rata refund calculation formula, therefore the pro 
rata refund was miscalculated by the Institution. 

Order of Abatement: 
The Bureau orders the Institution to submit a copy of correct pro rata refund calculation formula to 
the Bureau for approval. In addition, the Bureau orders the Institution to submit a written policy, or 
procedure, of how the Institution will maintain future compliance with 5, CCR section 71750(c)(1). 

Assessment of Fine 
The fine for this violation is $1,000.00 
Violation: 
5, CCR Section 74006 (a) and (b) - Annual Fee 
“(a) An institution's annual fee is due within 30 days of the date on which the institution originally 
receives its approval to operate and each year thereafter on the anniversary of the date of the original 
approval. (b) An institution shall pay its annual fee in addition to any other applicable fees.” 

CEC Section 94930.5 (g) - Fee Schedule 
“(g) Notwithstanding subdivision (d), effective July 1, 2018, the annual fee for each campus described 
in subparagraphs (A) and (B) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) shall be in an amount equal to 0.55 
percent of that campus’ total gross revenue derived from students in California, but not to be less than 
two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) and not to exceed sixty thousand dollars ($60,000) for 
each campus.” 

CEC Section 94931(a) and (b) - Late Payment 
“(a) A fee that is not paid on or before the 30th calendar day after the due date for payment of the fee 
shall be subject to a 25 percent late payment penalty fee.” 
“(b) A fee that is not paid on or before the 90th calendar day after the due date for payment of the fee 
shall be subject to a 35 percent late payment penalty fee.” 

The Institution has failed to pay its 90-day late payment penalty fee for the 2018 annual fee and the 
30-day late payment penalty fee for the 2020 annual fee. 

2018 Late Payment Penalty Fee 

On November 5, 2018, the Institution was notified, Invoice # 900337725, via mail at 1760 Fremont 
Boulevard, Suite F2, Seaside, CA 93955, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2018 was due 
on December 1, 2018. 

On January 16, 2019, the Institution was notified, Invoice # 900339474, via mail at 1760 Fremont 
Boulevard, Suite F2, Seaside, CA 93955, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2018 was due 
on December 1, 2018. 

On March 19, 2019, the Institution was notified, Invoice # 900339474, via mail at 1760 Fremont 
Boulevard, Suite F2, Seaside, CA 93955, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2018 was due 
on December 1, 2018. 
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On October 23, 2019, the Bureau received a $2,500 payment for the 2018 annual fee. 

2020 Late Payment Penalty Fee 

On September 1, 2020, the Institution was notified, Invoice # 900352175, via mail at 1760 Fremont 
Boulevard, Suite F2, Seaside, CA 93955, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2020 was due 
on October 1, 2020. 

On November 16, 2020, the Institution was notified, Invoice # 900353960, via mail at 1760 Fremont 
Boulevard, Suite F2, Seaside, CA 93955, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2020 was due 
on October 1, 2020. 

On November 12, 2020, the Bureau received a $2,500 payment for the 2020 annual fee. 

As of March 24, 2021, the Bureau has not received the late payment penalty fees for 2018 and 2020 
from the Institution. 

Order of Abatement: 
The Bureau orders the Institution to pay all late payment penalty fees in accordance with 5, CCR 
section 74006 (a)(b), CEC section 94930.5(g) and 94931 (a)(b). 

Assessment of Fine 
The fine for this violation is $00.00 
TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: $1,501.00 

ASSESSMENT OF A FINE 

In accordance with CEC section 94936; and 5, CCR sections 75020 and 75030, the Bureau hereby 
orders this assessment of fine in the amount of $1,501.00 for the violations described above. 
Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the 
Citation. 

COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT 

In accordance with the provisions of CEC section 94936 and 5, CCR section 75020 the Bureau 
hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. Evidence of compliance with the order 
of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of 
the Citation. 

APPEAL OF CITATION 

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or 
through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) 
of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code. 

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the ‘Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for 
Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing’ form (enclosed) within 30 days from the date 
of service of the Citation. If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative 
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_____________________________________________ ________ 

hearing within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later 
time. 

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by 
you and delivered to the Bureau by April 23, 2021, you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited 
your right to appeal this matter. 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION 

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall 
become effective on March 24, 2021. Evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement shall 
be due by April 23, 2021. 

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a 
final order is entered against you. 

Payment of the administrative fine and/written request for appeal must be mailed to: 

Gabriella Perez, Discipline Citation Program 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 

1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225 
Sacramento, CA 95834 

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the 
administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or 
renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all 

appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or 
found to be due after a hearing. 

CONTACT INFORMATION 

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact 
Gabriella Perez, Citation Analyst, at (916) 574-8969 or Gabriella.Perez@dca.ca.gov. 

“Original signature on file” “3/24/2021” 

Christina Villanueva Date 
Discipline Manager 

Enclosures 

 Applicable Laws Violated 
 Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet 
 Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing 
 Payment of Fine – Waiver of Appeal 
 Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail 
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